We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay ”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed last night for night out in Manchester. Rooms are immaculate and comfortable. Welcome try on arrival very nice touch, everything you could need in the room. Thank you Karl for the nice welcome. Really enjoyed our stay, highly recommend and we will be back. Thanks again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetHotel, Receptionist at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you so much. Look forward to seeing you again soon, regards Carl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Clean, differently themed rooms with the wow factor. Friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Excellent bar and restaurant. Easy access from Piccadilly Station and close to shops and entertainment. Was able to stay in the room of my choice.

Room Tip: Choose your preferred room from the website.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetHotel, General Manager at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

It's great to read your feedback, thank you. We are more than happy to pre-allocate rooms by request as they are all so different. Subject to availability we do our best to get you the one you want. Look forward to seeing you again soon.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My friend and I stayed here during Manchester Pride and wow, we were not disappointed.

We thought we would splash out on a nice hotel for once, rather than a Holiday Inn (no office caused) and although costly, we chose this hotel based on fab reviews and the fact that it was based right in the middle of the gay village! Perfect location for Pride weekend!

When we arrived we were greeted by friendly staff on reception, who handed us our pride wristbands and escorted us to our penthouse room, which was an amazing duplex room and was absolutely stunning.

When we got into our room there was a pride goody bag waiting for us, which contained lovely toiletries, sweets and other bits and bobs. Furthermore we were brought a bottle of champagne by one of the guys on reception as a welcome treat (and to calm our nerves after a 6 hour car journey from London). Both the goody bag and the champers were really nice unexpected touches.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, really modern, had big comfy beds and a pristine bathroom with a lovely big bath and powerful hot shower. There were blackout blinds on the skylight windows, which meant the sun didn't disturb us in the morning. I actually really can't fault the room or hotel whatsoever!

Basically I had a really pleasant weekend staying at The Velvet Hotel and I really hope to stay at this hotel again, next time I visit Manchester.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are obviously that much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetHotel, General Manager at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Pride 2017 was fantastic! Glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Book now for next year as we fill up fast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Had party package room with added extras such as a bath butler and upgraded welcome try and it's worth every penny. Staff are welcoming and chatty and the hotel is beautiful, the bed was massive and service is outstanding!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank callierooney_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetHotel, General Manager at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

It's the little extras that make all the difference. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Wanted quite luxury few days as just got married , wasn't that luxury or quite at all due to building work opposite very loud, pent house wasn't that great just like an average hotel room but on 2 floors with no view , hotel needs work and paint , door handles loose and bathroom fittings hanging off the wall , paint chipped off walls , very over priced for what it is should be at least half what the rate is currently.
Paid for late check out and got disturbed early saying we should leave our room and when I explained we paid extra for late check out hotel reception just hung up no apologie ,wouldn't recommend to anyone wish we read reviews before we booked , never again

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank andytara2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VelvetHotel, General Manager at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Looks like we didn’t get it right for you this time which is such a shame and apologies for this. Please contact me direct to discuss further gm@velvetmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#7 of 120 in Manchester
1,432 reviews
0.6 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
711 reviews
0.2 km away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,212 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
1.2 km away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: €109 - €326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester
Velvet Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing