We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic, unique and relaxing stay upon the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Castlerose on her mooring at Castlefield Basin, Central Manchester
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castlerose on her mooring at Castlefield Basin, Central Manchester
View of the Lounge Dining Galley area Castlerose Dining area set for dinner for six
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Castlerose on her mooring at Castlefield Basin, Central Manchester
View of the Lounge Dining Galley area
Castlerose Dining area set for dinner for six
Another view of the Lounge Dining Galley area towards the back door
Th sofa bed set-up in the lounge
A view of the master bedroom looking out to the front deck.
The house bathroom, complete with flush loo!
Enjoy al-fresco dining on the stern deck enjoying fabulous views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Manchester, Greater Manchester, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenhamer1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic, unique and relaxing stay upon the Castlerose!”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is my second time staying on the Castlerose Boat and it wont be the last! The location is fantastic with everything on your doorstep for sightseeing, restaurants and bars!! The hosts Steph and Steve are so welcoming and gave me some great advice on places to eat and go to visit.
The boat itself is amazing, it is unique, clean and cosy as well as being designed and finished to a very high standard. Next time I am going to book a cruise for my mums birthday which is in September which i think will be fantastic so we will definately be visiting again! I can not recommend the Castlerose highly enough. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RML1
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible!”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Lovely, charming, even has a wood fired stove! Perfectly equipped for self catering. Tasteful decor and very comfortable. It's in a perfect neighbourhood for seeing the sites of Manchester. A genuinely unique experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
So glad you enjoyed your short stay on Castlerose. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue A
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Castlerose - an 'A' listers barge in the Castlefield Basin!”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Four female friends (a very well-travelled mix of journalists, food writers, artists, teachers - and mums!) decided that Manchester was the next place for a city break. So, where to stay? Shunning the soul-less, corporate hotels, we dived in to the idea of staying on board Castlerose - a beautiful wide-beam barge situated close to all the amenities of Manchester. What a hit it proved to be - even in the middle of winter!
Yes, it was wise to take hot water bottles - though as soon as the heating and wood-burning stove kicked in, it was the cosiest place you could imagine - with a perfect living area for catching up on all the news. The boat is beautifully designed, with everything you could wish for.
This is a unique, special experience that places you in a very special setting - separate from the hustle and bustle of city life - yet right in the middle of it too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
So glad you enjoyed your weekend city break in Manchester on Castlerose. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike j
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a fantastic ,relaxing and luxurious getaway from hectic life ,this was a getaway with a difference .
We started at Castlefield basin with a great venue for a meal at Albert's shed and had a great night aboard the boat with the log burner warming away as we ate
This was a 5 star boat with two beautiful bathrooms and all mod cons with a big double bed and door's opening too a seated area onto the front of the 14ft wide wide beam boat.
We then were skippered by our genial host and owner Steve on a great and interesting journey over aquaducts and countryside to Worsley.
We then returned th next morning back to Castlefield and enjoyed every moment looking at different vista's around every corner.
Would recommend this experience to anybody ,we were a family of 5 and this had the WOW factor,and would have also been very romantic for a couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you for your kind review; so glad that you enjoyed your Worsley Cruise over The Barton Aqueduct on Castlerose. Next time a Cheshire cruise to Lymm perhaps...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbojojo
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 3 nights and 4 days sailing up and down the Manchester Ship Canal on Castlerose. Our 2 young boys have absolutely loved the experience and we have created some really special memories. Skipper Steve was brilliant!

The beautiful boat is really spacious and has everything you could possibly need. The wood burning stove made the boat so cosy. We would definitely do it again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Glad that you all enjoyed the experience cruising The Bridgewater Canal :-) through the Cheshire countryside, visiting the charming village of Lymm and Dunham Massey Deer Park. Looking forward to exploring a new route with your lovely family next time. Skipper Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing