We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
326
184
68
29
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
184
68
29
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fudge lovely hotel superb food king room duty manager the cottages evening meal two nights main restaurant main course kippers one night stay night break beautiful room picturesque village walk in shower night's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

This was an adequate 3 star hotel but nothing special. The room was small and the shower was a dribble. There are better options out there for the money . . . the Ebringtom Arms, the Seagrave Arms, the Noel Arms are all better. All ion al . . . it's 'OK' but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: probably worth paying more for a larger room, but then you'll suffer with poor value for money . . . . .
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rhys54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Rhysy54

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. I am saddened to read that you found the stay not to your liking and for this a truly aprologise. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Kings again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Craig Routledge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We booked this hotel through a Daily Telegraph offer for two nights. The hotel is easy to find in the centre of the village, a narrow gateway gets you to the car park. We were delighted to be upgraded into one of their cottage rooms, this is a small cottage "at the bottom of the garden" with a huge room, exposed beams, plenty of seating and space. The room was warm, light and airy but with a "rustic feel". WiFi was free and fast enough. It is a short walk to the main hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A walk round the real Cotswold village is outside the door, and all the Cotswold attractions are very convenient to get to. The bar was friendly and had a good selection of Gins, breakfast was huge and the cooked section excellently so.
There were no complaints with the hotel, or the stay, and I am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Cottage room ("Broadway") large and beautiful!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear doc50

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Craig Routledge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Booked this hotel on a short break through Travel Zoo. We had BB for two nights and evening meal on one night included. Stayed in room 107 at the top of the house in the attic. Room OK if a little worn and had to keep bending down to avoid banging head on rafters. Also, shower in bath and couldn't stand up so, if we were to visit again would ask for another room. Excellent breakfast and lovely restaurant and common rooms. Drinks in bar expensive. Evening meal OK but, in my opinion, more style over substance.
Would stay again and eat/drink in one of the many other good establishments around town.

Room Tip: Not room 107
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raycarew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear raycarew

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the stay, however I will share your feedback regarding our food and beverage offering with the team to help us improve moving forward. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Craig Routledge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

What a fantastic hotel. Set in a wonderful location. My Partner and I celebrated before Valentines Weekend and while we only stayed 1 night we thoroughly enjoyed top class facilities of the hotel. The rooms were first class - tastefully decorated, and the food were of excellent quality. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. Congratulations.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are of excellent quality
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cpearce1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Cpearce1972

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Craig Routledge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My husband and I spent his birthday weekend here. We have been to Chipping Campden before and really liked the town and surroundings, so I wanted to treat him - and it was a treat. This is a lovely hotel, and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The house has real character, set in a pleasant garden with terrace, which would be gorgeous in the summer; the restaurant and bar are lovely, with fires and comfortable furniture. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and every bedroom is different, apparently. It's worth while booking through the hotel web site or at least contacting them, as the room at the top of the house has low beams which wouldn't be comfortable for a tall person, but the cottage rooms are really superb. The food was outstanding, equally good at dinner and breakfast, and we also sampled their afternoon cream tea, which matched the rest in quality. Thoroughly recommended; we had a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Routledge, General Manager at The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Lesley S

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review following your recent birthday stay. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the stay, I will be sure to share your kind words with the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Kings again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Craig Routledge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews