We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly staff, but this place is an absolute dump. 'Nuff said

The owners really don't deserve any turnover due to their complete lack of either re-investment or interest.

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary-back-in-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!
Myself and 2 friends wanted somewhere cheap for a night out in Doncaster! Booking this place was a big mistake!
Creepy men hanging around playing cards in reception...did not feel safe at all!
The place looked like a prison! Guests hanging out of the windows!
Room 213!! 13 said it all!
Shower and toilet outside the room!
The window view was a graveyard!! No joke!

I would suggest booking the Premier Inn :) We left...with a refund( the guy at reception didn't even question why we left which was v strange!) At least the guy at reception seemed polite and friendly..the only positive thing about the place!

The premier inn was more money.....but felt much safer and just a few minutes walk to the bars!

Lucky escape! :)

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel as I had a job interview in Doncaster and needed to stay overnight. Thought I would just stay somewhere cheap as I am not the sort of person who minds staying in a budget hotel, but this has changed my mind. Here are just a few problems:

Shower/toilet facilities were dirty, did not lock and the light didnt work in most
Stained dirty sheets
Small, dark room
Tv didnt work
Totally unsafe, window was broken and door didnt lock properly
Smells of cigarette smoke everywhere
Other people staying there - definatly a mix of druggies, alcoholics and criminals
Staff were friendly, but useless.
Yuck!

I read reviews before going and still decided to book! Dont make the same mistake I did, pay and extra 15 pounds to stay in a travellodge or premier inn!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnyDonny1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

well i have never seen such a poo hole, We had planned to stay only 1 night but we booked in and there were no light working in the room, we oppened the window to let the smell out and told thwm the light did not work and went for a drive, when we got back the light were working , well i wish they wernt, it was terrible. dirty floor, bedding,silly striplights, and it still stank. we complained and asked for a refund only to be show a small papper sighn saying you had 20 mins to get a refund. we went else where. Do NoT Stay Here, you would be better off staying in a public toilet

Room Tip: dont get a room here, use premmeir inns
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

HMP Doncaster has better rooms and the tv works . Most don't at this hotel . It's for workmen and to crash after a night on the town , otherwise avoid it.there are a few resident dss druggies ,assume they won't take em elsewhere.communal shower is hot .staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hoverbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2015

Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.3 km away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
111 reviews
1.8 km away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Travelodge Doncaster M18/M180 Hotel
1.5 km away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
242 reviews
0.9 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster

Address: Ten Pound Walk, Doncaster DN4 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range: €33 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing