We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Bother” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Friendly staff, but this place is an absolute dump. 'Nuff said

The owners really don't deserve any turnover due to their complete lack of either re-investment or interest.

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary-back-in-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    32
    14
    16
    96
See reviews for
19
42
28
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!
Myself and 2 friends wanted somewhere cheap for a night out in Doncaster! Booking this place was a big mistake!
Creepy men hanging around playing cards in reception...did not feel safe at all!
The place looked like a prison! Guests hanging out of the windows!
Room 213!! 13 said it all!
Shower and toilet outside the room!
The window view was a graveyard!! No joke!

I would suggest booking the Premier Inn :) We left...with a refund( the guy at reception didn't even question why we left which was v strange!) At least the guy at reception seemed polite and friendly..the only positive thing about the place!

The premier inn was more money.....but felt much safer and just a few minutes walk to the bars!

Lucky escape! :)

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel as I had a job interview in Doncaster and needed to stay overnight. Thought I would just stay somewhere cheap as I am not the sort of person who minds staying in a budget hotel, but this has changed my mind. Here are just a few problems:

Shower/toilet facilities were dirty, did not lock and the light didnt work in most
Stained dirty sheets
Small, dark room
Tv didnt work
Totally unsafe, window was broken and door didnt lock properly
Smells of cigarette smoke everywhere
Other people staying there - definatly a mix of druggies, alcoholics and criminals
Staff were friendly, but useless.
Yuck!

I read reviews before going and still decided to book! Dont make the same mistake I did, pay and extra 15 pounds to stay in a travellodge or premier inn!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonnyDonny1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

well i have never seen such a poo hole, We had planned to stay only 1 night but we booked in and there were no light working in the room, we oppened the window to let the smell out and told thwm the light did not work and went for a drive, when we got back the light were working , well i wish they wernt, it was terrible. dirty floor, bedding,silly striplights, and it still stank. we complained and asked for a refund only to be show a small papper sighn saying you had 20 mins to get a refund. we went else where. Do NoT Stay Here, you would be better off staying in a public toilet

Room Tip: dont get a room here, use premmeir inns
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

HMP Doncaster has better rooms and the tv works . Most don't at this hotel . It's for workmen and to crash after a night on the town , otherwise avoid it.there are a few resident dss druggies ,assume they won't take em elsewhere.communal shower is hot .staff helpful and friendly

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoverbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zulfar a, Public Relations Manager at The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster, responded to this review, 2 April 2015
Hi there, We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. At the moment we are renovating the hotel as we have been taken over by new owners. This will include on suite rooms and better facilities. Regards, Restover Lodge Doncaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster Central (High Fishergate) Hotel
1.0 km away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
1.5 km away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Doncaster (Lakeside) Hotel
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
1.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster

Property: The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster
Address: Ten Pound Walk, Doncaster DN4 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restover Lodge Hotel, Doncaster England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing