We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
192
200
62
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
200
62
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews counting house restaurant car park regent street town centre sunday lunch lovely hotel limited parking full english central location jephson gardens breakfast was included no air conditioning cooked breakfast on site parking lady on reception very pleasant stay room was large
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Unusually my wedding Anniversary fell at a weekend I was not working. For many years I have been wanting to visit the Angel Hotel. Whilst it is local to home, we have not had the opportunity to stay.

Placed centrally within Leamington Spa it is close to all the town amenities, with the Royal Parade and its shops a short step in one direction and Jephson Gardens, a lovely public park a minutes walk in the other direction. If you are planning on visiting the theatre then the Royal Spa Centre is even closer.

The Hotel Restaurant is well priced and recommended by other visitors, part of our stay was to sample one of the many restaurants close by.

This character hotel suffers from the common problem of a small car park, but there is plenty of public parking nearby, but do read the signs because restrictions do vary. The reception is bright and airy, with a friendly welcome. I did not see any lifts and the hotel may advise if I missed anything.

The hotel rambles with some level changes. our room was well presented, very comfortable and clean. Ensuite facilities with plenty of hot water.

We had breakfast in the dining room the following morning. This appeared to be recently refurbished with a very bright feel to it. Friendly staff, a wide range of choice, from full English to a wide range of Continental including lots of fresh fruit with a range of juices..

Good value, especially in the bar where drinks were sensibly priced, very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. I am pleased to have stayed and hope to stay again this time to sample the restaurant.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ajayloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We were due to stay at another Hotel in Leamington but when we tried to check in, we found that they had made a mistake with our booking and no room was available. However, the staff were very apologetic and said that they could get us in to a nearby Hotel called the Angel. We didn't like the idea as we hadn't researched the Angel but decided as we'd travelled 100 miles, we would give it a go.
It's funny how sometimes things happen for a reason and on this occasion, I'm sure that it was for the best.
The Hotel is smart and welcoming. There is private parking at the back of the Hotel via an archway under the building. Our room was clean, pleasant and a good size, with everything that you would expect from a 3 star Hotel.
We decided to eat in the restaurant which turned out to be a real treat. the food on offer catered for most tastes and the quality was really good; in fact the quality of the food was surpassed only by the service. The prtions were generous and the prices were more than reasonable for the quality of food. The part of Leamington in which the Angel is situated has an abundance of eateries but if we return there, we will definately eat at The Angel even if we can't stay at the Hotel.
When we next stay in the Leamington or Warwick area, I shall make sure that I first check the availability at the Angel.
I would definately recommend this Hotel and in paticular the restaurant to our friends.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

I was expecting a bit more from this hotel based on previous reviews. Let's start with the positives...the hotel is in a very central location and is perfect for exploring Leamington Spa or for attending weddings at the nearby Jephson Gardens. The receptionist was lovely and I emailed a few days before to ask for early check-in (12pm instead of 2pm) and they happily accommodated that.

Unfortunately the central location also means it is VERY noisy throughout the night and in the early hours of the morning when the road sweepers are out. This is not the hotel's fault but worth mentioning. The room was a good size with nice extras such as tea, coffee, biscuits etc but the bed was very small which made a good nights sleep impossible. The bathroom was dated and the general appearance could do with a bit of a makeover.

Breakfast was also a bit disappointing; some is self service and some is taken by order. There was a good selection of cereals, yogurts and croissants/pain au chocolat. The coffee was quite bitter. We both had the cooked breakfast; overall it was bland however the sausage was very nice and the egg well cooked. The bacon was very tough and the fried bread wasn't crispy. The breakfast room was busy and pretty much full while we were there but I was dissappointed to find an old mushroom under one of the cups on our table - the table had been made up but clearly not actually wiped down between guests.

Overall I felt the price was expensive for the quality.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinemarshall51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Good location for all the shops and myriad of restaurants. You are not far from anything in Leamington. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. Breakfast was good. And considering what they offer the room rate was reasonable.

Room tip: We had a room overlooking a main street so was a bit noisy until about midnight on a weekend night.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilaryjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

From check-in to departure, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious (albeit a little tired in places) and the only thing it lacked was a shelf or small table.

Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice.

Great central location with parking.

Would stay again and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tripitoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews