We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,165 results
Traveller rating
197
262
320
202
184
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
262
320
202
184
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room and sauna full english comfy bed lovely staff harry potter tour
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,165 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We attended with a group of friends for a reunion and we had a fab time. The staff were accommodating, I mentioned the room was cold so we asked for extra blankets which we received in our rooms shortly after telling the receptionist. All the staff were pleasent, when problems occurred they attended to them with a smile on their faces. The was a member of staff, rion (I think) went out of his way to make our stay exceptional. Shout out to the chef who gave us some extra started which was tasty. P.s the nachos were the best I have ever tasted. Thank you so much for a pleasent stay, I would definitely recommend this to everyone!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank pringle2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Mercure belong to the Accor Group of hotels. I am an Accor Gold Member and have been for three years.

OK, I accept the hotel rooms are dated and in need of refurbishment. I know as I'd stayed here twice before . . . but I was working across the road so it was convenient.

The service is so poor. The hotel reception and restaurant areas look OK and the staff are smartly dressed but it's a facade.

The reception greeting was non-existent when I compare this to the MANY other hotels I have stayed in. I got a better welcome in a crappy 2 start hotel in Moscow earlier this year!!!! It was just the same when I checked out. Thanks so much, I really feel like a valued guest and Accor Club member . . . not.

I've given this hotel 3 tries in 2 years. Next time I'll stay at the nearby Hilton, even if it is £30 dearer for 1 single night.

Please, please, please, please Accor group, do something drastic with this hotel. Sell it, knock it down or replace the entire management team.

It pains me to say it, but I won't return to this . . even if it means I lose out on my Accor Club points.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GlennRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GlennRobinson

thank you for your comments and we are so disappointed as your stay was not as you had expected. I have already responded to you feedback and hopefully you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

kind regards

pankaj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We cannot thank Vicky and the team for all their hard work this weekend! Throughout the whole planning of the wedding right up until the morning after our wedding.
We had the most magical day and everything ran so perfectly, I'd definatly recommend to anyone planning any sort of event!

The spa was amazing, relaxing and the ladies doing the massages were just incredible!
The food was just beautiful & everything about the day went so so well thanks to the staff at the hotel.
Thankyou for everything!!

Mr & Mrs Estep xxx

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Abigail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

I have stayed here many times over the past 20 years, I will not be going back. Over the past few years it has declined steadily yet I continued to book, normally twice a year on business. It is a convenient location and very familiar, however...
The worst 2 nights I can recall. Arriving in the car park there are several abandoned vehicles, despite having to register car details on a dirty and ineffective touch screen. The restaurant was closed, I had booked dinner bed and breakfast, dinner is served in a restaurant not the bar, that is a bar snack. The outside undercover area stunk of cannabis, I know what it smells like. Breakfast is as basic as it comes, only fried eggs, no option offered, sausage, bacon, sweaty mushrooms and dried out beans. Tea and coffee from a machine, and ONLY £11 if booked in advance!! No sleep due to the noise from inside and out, people up and down corridors slamming doors all night. Cars revving up and in and out the carpark, raised voices outside, all this continued all night. I wont even guess at what was going on but refer to the outside seating area comment above. Absolutely awful experience.
NO RESPONSE FROM EMAIL TO MANAGER OR FEEDBACK SURVEY, I expect the usual repetitive apology from the manager, nothing else.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dave J

Thank you for your comments, we are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as per your expectations, our restaurant is closed on Sunday as mentioned on our website however food from restaurant menu is served in the bar on this day, but we can understand your disappointment, therefore please accept our apologies in the matter.
For breakfast we serve full English breakfast with fried eggs on the buffet however a guest can order poached, scrambled, omelette or boiled eggs, which are prepared on request. we also offer cereals, cut fruits juices and hot beverages, the breakfast product and the price is competitive and is according to the market segment we operate in.
we have little control on how another guest behaves in their room or the car park, however if it is disturbing other guest and it is reported to us then we address the issue with the particular guest.

Finally I would like to thank you once again for your feedback and please accept my apologies as your stay was not as per your expectations.

Kind regards

P walia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

To set the scene; it is the 3rd September and there is a Christmas tree in the reception area.

After seeing all the bad reviews on Tripadvisor we thought it couldn't be that bad. And it wasn't, it was worse.

We checked in and the reception / dining area looked lovely. However anything beyond this is horrendous. Dark and gloomy corridors, open fire exits that lead on to unsecure and unsafe areas at the back of the hotel.

We booked three seperate rooms; one where none of the windows closed, one where the carpet was ripped and stained so badly there was mold seemingly growing on the surface, and the third room had empty beer bottles and tops stashed under the bed. None of the rooms had doors to the toilet, and the was a certain eeriness to the place.

A colleague had advised that in the middle of the night someone had tried to enter his room via the window. Our rooms were about 5 minutes walk from reception (especially lugging our cases around) soeven if we had of needed immediate help, it wouldn't ever be that immediate.

The food was okay and the best part of the stay.

We did go to reception an hour after we had arrived to advise of the issues and if we could upgrade/move rooms. We were told they were fully booked and there was nothing they could do.

We decided to stay the night as we wanted to sleep but changed our hotel to The Hilton nearby (much better definitely book here) - every single noise scared us and there was no sense of safeness or security at all.

We went to reception the next day and again raised our issues before we checked out, however the receptionist was unhelpful and argued that we hadn't raised the issue the previous night, but they were sorry.

Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
4  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan P, Manager at Mercure London Watford Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Louise C

thank you for your comments and we are really disappointment to read about your recent stay, which we would like to discuss in detail.
therefore, Kindly contact me on pankaj.walia.056@jupiterhotels.co.uk

once again please accept our apologies and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards


P Walia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews