We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
154
54
19
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
54
19
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach house kent showground cooked breakfast full english a quiet country lane b and b dual carriageway breakfast room on arrival south of england cold meats double bed handy location free wifi stayed for one night excellent location short drive
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Our first trip alone since the children are grown. Absolutely loved it. Everyone is helpful and so friendly. We stayed a week and weren’t ready to go home. Tons of things to choose for breakfast. A lot cheaper to stay than Home B&Bs with still all the comfort and charm. The black book has all the tricks you’ll need to run the room. Or if your like me and accidentally close it up in the curtains than all you have to do is ask. They are very accommodating and helpful. This is a wonderful place to stay for a week or even just an overnight stopover. It’s a must stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Stayed for three nights, nothing was too much trouble. Emma cooked lovely breakfasts including a vegetarian one on request. Very comfortable and clean room. Good location for visiting most attractions in Kent, good access for major roads. Will definitely stay agin when in the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank johnW2818RX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I only stayed 1 night. I had a warm welcome from Malcom. Explaining to me how everything worked and how late I wanted breakfast. I could choose what I wanted for breakfast and had eggs, mushrooms and bacon. It was good. The room was very hot because the heating was on and I didn't know how to turn it down. But I finally found it and had a good night rest.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed here one night on our way to the South of England. It was too late after our flight arrived to do the long trip. WE ate dinner in Maidstone as we were excited to go to a particular place. We were welcomed by a gentleman who was house sitting for the owner, he was very welcoming and showed us the room and explained how things worked etc. Told us breakfast was at 8.30 which we asked if we could move to 7.30 as we had a long ride ahead. For the average tourist 8.30 might work well but when you want to get your day going and travel it is sort of late.
Breakfast was good the gentleman cooked it for us and made sure we had everything we needed. It was very nice. The room was a little small but very nice and clean and the bathroom was all modern. Overall we had a nice stay. The property is located at the top of the hill so when you leave you can see beautiful views of the valley. It was a very quiet area and no further disturbances in the night like town hotels with lots of traffic etc. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianChicken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Very quaint carriage house located within a walk of Detling and a short drive to Maidstone. Owners were very friendly.

We had to request the heat be turned on as rooms were very cold. Dining room remained chilly throughout our 2 night stay. Food was mediocre; only offered store bought baked goods. Nothing available for vegan diet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Djsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma6888, Owner at Detling Coachhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately its that time of year where the weather is changeable as one day it can be quite warm and then on another, be quite chilly, as we have storage heaters, they would need to be turned on the day before and very difficult to predict so portable heaters and blankets are offered.
We also try and cook to guests special requirements including vegan diets if you had told us.
Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews