We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
353
322
121
53
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
322
121
53
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews q hotels tennis courts spa treatments breakaway club norton park adult pool family pool central courtyard buffet lunch good size superior room steam room and sauna evening meal leisure facilities modern hotel spa area weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Came for a spa day. Facilities are average. Pool ok. No jacuzzi. Changing rooms a bit tired. But place is clean and staff friendly. Massage was lovely. Spa lunch buffet was awful although they rectified that by servicing a Freshly prepared one in the bar area. Stayed for the night and the room was very comfy and breakfast was nice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JustinA-S1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMBartlett, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear JustinA-S1979

Thank you for your review and comments, I am glad that the team made your overall experience positive.

I was sorry to read that the buffet was not good, I am pleased this was rectified, but we should have offered the bar alternative before you reached the restaurant.

Warm regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

From the robotic introduction at reception to walking in to a cold room, my stay wasn’t set to be a good one.
Appreciating that when on business, the one night stays mid week are not that enjoyable, all I wanted was a warm comfortable bed and a decent meal.
My room although cold throughout the night with an outside temp of about minus 5, was clean and tidy.
Dinner, empty restaurant and a chef who prepared food nothing like the descriptions on the menu, it just appeared he could not be bothered.
Starter, few chicken livers with some varnish, elements of the dish missing , according to the menu. Main Hand made Gourmet Burger or words to that effect, was just an overlooked dry lack lustre burger with a basket of skinny fries.
I skipped desert and thankfully Tesco was around the corner to grab some snacks.
Not that impressed am sure there are several more hotels locally to pick from choose wisely?

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Adi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMBartlett, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Adi P

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to see that your stay was unimpressive and not to our standard.

Hopefully we will have another opportunity to give you a more enjoyable stay on a future visit to the area.

Warm regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Q hotels offer two options in the vicinity of Winchester and we were led to The Hampshire due to its price point. The hotel is clean and all of the staff that we encountered were extremely friendly and provided good levels of service when we needed it. The amenities are plentiful and the hotel really does offer everything that you would need for a few nights away. It is however getting a little tired and could do with a refurb.

We booked through the Breakaway club; this should have afforded us a £5 drink voucher each, a paper amongst other benefits. We received none of these when we checked in and when we questioned it, we were told to call the central reservation centre and that the hotel weren't able to do anything. This was disappointing; we had hoped that we'd be given the benefit of the doubt given that we were members of their club. We didn't want to waste our Holiday time arguing with a call centre so we will take this up with Q later.

The breakfast is as you would expect from a 4 star hotel and caters for all of the allergies, including taking the extra care to grill the gluten free bread separately to the other breads. Evening dinner was good also and the burger was altered so that it could be gluten free. The staff seemed knowledgeable, which was reassuring.

All in all the hotel is good but could be great with a refit, so if we were in the area again we would probably stay at Norton Park.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMBartlett, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Tess M

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that there was an issue with the Breakaway Club benefits.

I do hope that you will try us again and that you will have a great future stay.

Warn regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

We booked the spa overnight package. The spa was wonderful; environment, treatment and staff. Our room was also very nice and spotlessly clean. The food was average but we were very let down by the service everywhere but the spa. The staff didnt seem to know what they were doing at all, everything took a long time and they didn't seem to have a clue what was on the menu. The worst part of our weekend was when we watched the six nations rugby in the bar. We picked the prime table and turned our seats to the screen, you couldn't miss that we were watching it. 5 mins before the end of the 1st half it was suddenly switched to football. We asked for it to be switched back and another bar man said if someone is watching it shouldn't be turned over. We were then bullied by the first bar man and an aggressive man who wanted to watch the football. It seems the tv in the corridor area between pool and bar is not connected to the others and can have a terrestrial channel while the other was on sky sports. We were told to sit on 2 tall stools with no tables and everyone walking in front of us in and out of the pool. When we said we weren't willing to sit there the manager was called. In the end we left as I was not willing to pay over £5 a pint to sit uncomfortably in a corridor, we had already missed 5 minutes of each half over this. Our treatment was shocking, we would happily move if we could see a screen from a table but as this couldn't be offered I do not believe that the channel should have been changed. The staff were rude and allowed the 2 men wanting the football on to speak to and about us, loudly, in an unacceptable way. I don't believe that we would have experienced the same treatment if we were men.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMBartlett, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear LaurenW

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, I am sorry that you were made to feel less important than the football fans by team members. This sounds out of character from our team and I will ask the Operations Manager to both investigate and put procedure together for conflicting viewing requests.

Under the circumstances, I very much appreciate your positive comments for the spa team and am glad that the room was comfortable.

Warm regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful break and enjoyed the experience. Kids loved the pool. Dinner at the restaurant was lovely. Clean and spacious rooms. Great location. Friendly and attentive staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Harrow_ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMBartlett, General Manager at Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear ASDominique

Thank you for your feedback and it's great to see that you had a wonderful short break.

Nice to see that the team looked after you well and that you enjoyed your dining experience.

Warm regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews