We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“buy 2 breakfasts and get a room for free” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Gatwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Europa Gatwick Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“buy 2 breakfasts and get a room for free”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

parking was a bit of a nightmare but we managed to find a parking spot which seemed to be the last one left.
checking in didn't take too long before we were on our way to the britannia lodge which is within the ground of the europa hotel (2 min walk from the reception). no real complaints so far.
on entering the lodge first impressions weren't good, it seemed neglected.
are room was very small but this wasn't a problem as we were there purely to sleep before heading off to gatwick. the room as with the shared areas of the building needed a facelift, the curtains were coming off the poles, the carpet could have done with a clean, some of the bathroom fixtures were coming off the walls but it looked as though it had been cleaned i.e. no pubic hairs in the bath.
what made us laugh was the print on the wall of a naked lady showing her breasts, very tasteful.
the couple in the room below us certainly had a good time (wink, wink), toilets flushed well, as did people televisions, in otherwords the walls are paper thin.
on a positive nothing wrong with the buffet breakfast.
i had not read any reviews before staying for 1 night in february. it was a last minute booking and at £31 for the night what can you really expect.
are overall impressions of the lodge was it was the kind of place you would go to for a couple of hours for tipsy/secret liason.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lavenderluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Your review made very interesting reading. Perhaps next time you visit, please request a room in the main part of the hotel if you do not wish to re-visit the Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    278
    457
    403
    1,329
See reviews for
585
1,037
140
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We arrived at the Europa on a snowy February evening, the car park was chaotic, like a scene from a zombie movie with cars abandoned everywhere. After finding a space we checked in easily and found we had a huge room, very comfortable and clean. we had arrnaged one night stay and 8 days parking. Coach arrived in the morning and dropped us off at the airport. so far so good. Upon our return we waitied at the bus stop for the bus only to be told by a fellow traveller that they had been waiting since 1.10am and the bus hadnt arrived, it was due at 1.20am. After contacting the hotel we were told we had missed the bus and the next one wouldnt be until 2.50am and then the bus driver only visits in the night when he feels like it. We took a taxi back to the hotel at a cost of £18. After an 8 hour flight which shouldve been 4 and now this we decided to just collect the car and get out of the hole that is the Europa Hotel. We will never use them again and will continue to spread the word how badly they treat customers who have paid in advance for ther poor services.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tightrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read you encountered problems with the coach service on your return. The coach driver should be adhering to the advertised timetable and we would welcome further details from you so we can pass them on to the coach operator. If you wish to do so please contact customer services at our Head Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here in feb, would not return or recommend. Rooms are old fashioned, parking is awful, wish i had read the other comments on trip advisor first. We booked this hotel through Thomas Cook, who im sure are not aware of its standard. Left the car in what seemed like someones back garden for 7 days, after driving around the shambles of a parking lot. staff were inexperienced and rude, room service was stale (we only wanted an sandwich)...................... if this is what people see when they come and stay from other countries, it doesnt say much for britain, shame really!!!!
Emailed manager and did get a response quickly (best part really), we will not be taking her up on her offer but truly appreciate the reply, although i would have prefered a refund!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley1987jessener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your additional comments posted on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you do not wish to return but should you ever change your mind, please drop us a line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel few times, mainly because of price & location of which both are great. But as normal parking is a nightmare everyday people leave crs for holiday parking & beware double parking. Getting hot water is hit & miss it can run out quickly esp if you want a bath. The heating did its own thing I think it's set to a general hotel timer not the room unit so only turns on when hotel wants it to. 1st night I tried to order room service, got old we are busy go to the bar it's quicker. But I wasn't in a hurry, point of room service I wanted it brought to the room, if I wanted to go to the bar I would not of called them. But on checking, lady on reception was great. I will use again these problems aside.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomcat1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We welcome all feedback from our guests and despite the few problems you encountered, we were pleased to read you would return next time you need accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I booked this hotel on a room only basis and 15 nights parking 22/12/11 arrived around 4.30pm, no joke when I say, we didn't settle down 'till done 9pm!

After a 2 hour drive to the hotel and waiting 45 mins to be checked in, I was then told I would have to drive back to Gatwick Airport Long Term parking to park the car, get the car park shuttle bus to the terminal then await the hotel transfer bus back to the hotel!

Irregardless of paying for both hotel & parking I was told I had no choice as the car park was full due to their other hotel (Russ Hill ? ) using the cark park for their guests. I enquired as to why the had not advised me by email or phone and they just shrugged their shoulders ! Then I was handed paperwork, car parking ticket for gatwick, so again, I questions, "if you had time to put this all together, you had time to notify us"!

So much to a stress free start to my holiday. It took my husband nearly two hours doing this and by time I got back to have some dinner £10.50 carvery if you buy ticket at reception or £12.50 in the resturant there was hardly any carvery left, dried up food!

Hotel mangement wouldn't even offer a drink or meal courtesy of the interuption etc, nothing, didly squat, nilch!

They even expected 2 elderly ladies, in their late 70's to move their car etc. DISGRACE!

As requested, we put our complaint in writing but still, to date, no response!

Oh, and to add insult to injury, when we picked our car up from Gatwick, we had an additional £13.00 to pay, which we are still waiting for a refund!

TBH, by the time we got up, booked the shuttle bus to the airport, it only saved us 1/2 and hour if we had just driven from home on the morning of our holiday, personally, I would've rathered got up an extra 1/2hr earlier and saved all that stress and especially all that money.

Would I recommend it, NO WAY!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sx51alx69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EuropaGatwick, Guest Relations Manager at Europa Gatwick Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for the detailed account of your stay at the Europa on the night of 22 December. We do apologise for the stressful time you encountered on the night in question. The issues should have been dealt with more efficiently at the time and we are sorry this was obviously not the case. The car parking arrangements were an isolated incident and certainly not typical of the normal arrangements in place at the Europa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawley
2.8 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.8 km away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
7.2 km away
Airport Inn Gatwick
Airport Inn Gatwick
#6 of 11 in Horley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
5.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
4.5 km away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Gatwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Gatwick Hotel

Property: Europa Gatwick Hotel
Address: Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7ZR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Crawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Gatwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Europa Hotel Gatwick is one of three Britannia Airport Hotels in Gatwick and is an ideal place to stay for those looking for Gatwick Airport Parking. With its Spanish and Mediterranean themed architecture this hotel offers excellent value, comfort as well as first class facilities. The hotel has its own courtyard with beautifully landscaped gardens and fountain which are the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Europa Gatwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Gatwick Crawley
Europa Hotel Gatwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing