We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Swindon Designer Outlet
Ranked #9 of 61 things to do in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This complex seems to have had a welcome make-over since we were last here a few years back. But there's still just the usual mix of fashion, kitchen and suchlike outlets, along with places to eat - all national chains with nothing original.

Little thought seems to have been given to anyone walking from the railway station. Direction signs are very thin on the ground, and the entrance through a shop that people coming from this side previously used now seems to be closed.

The occasional 'nods' to the place's railway heritage are good to see though.

Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"great shopping"
in 64 reviews
"food court"
in 67 reviews
"high street"
in 57 reviews
"great place to shop"
in 41 reviews
"ralph lauren"
in 33 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 49 reviews
"christmas shopping"
in 27 reviews
"bicester village"
in 26 reviews
"designer outlet"
in 93 reviews
"under cover"
in 83 reviews
"eating places"
in 25 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 76 reviews
"real bargains"
in 21 reviews
"food outlets"
in 50 reviews
"farmers market"
in 37 reviews
"pizza express"
in 42 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 29 reviews
Filter

68 - 72 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

When daughter said we were going to a designer outlet my heart sank. However this place should be the template for all others all under cover, stores for all budgets, plenty of places to eat. Only fault being nobody to carry our bags

Thank suef402017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonDO, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Designer Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Sue,
Thank you so much for a 5* review! We're so pleased you tried our centre out with you daughter and was pleasantly surprised by us! Unfortunately, we don't have the staff power to carry everyone's bags - but it is something we're looking into in the future, so keep your eyes peeled on our Facebook page for our latest news, events and store openings!
We hope to see you again soon, SDO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nothing special, we bought an Easter egg for £1. We escaped just before the rest of Swindon descended upon the place. Apart from the egg, I thought it was overpriced.

Thank Harry_Roseblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonDO, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Designer Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Harry,
Thanks for taking the time to leave our centre a review. We're disappointed to hear you didn't find our centre to be anything special, we work hard to try and bring the best brands at the best prices to our centre but on occasion, as with any shopping trip, it can be hard to find anything to buy at the right price! So we're sorry you didn't find anything, but I'm sure if you try us again in the future, you may have a more successful trip, SDO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nice selections shops, plenty of parking, good opening hours and food is available everyday.

Giraffe do a great burger offer on a Tuesday lunch time. Worth it if you find yourself there on a Tuesday.

Thank Sam11390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonDO, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Designer Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Sam,
Thank you for taking the time to leave our centre a review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our centre and hope to see you again soon, SDO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visiting friends wanted to visit the Designer Village and so we drove to the venue. Not all the shops were open some observing the shopping regulations regarding Easter Sunday trading e.g. Marks & Spencer, Next, and Waitrose but all the others were open and trading. We enjoyed a coffee at Costa and walked all round the Outlet, stopping to let friends browse the stores. It was a good day to visit as the car park was not full and there was lots of room to shop and walk, not too busy and crowded. After a few purchases and a lot of walking we returned to the food outlet, we purchased items to take home for later then returned home. A most enjoyable shopping day.

Thank AuntieVal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonDO, Guest Relations Manager at Swindon Designer Outlet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi AuntieVal_12,
Thank you so much for leaving us a 5* review! As you say, on Sundays, we do have Sunday Trading Legislation restrictions and unfortunately Easter Sunday is the only day of the year where our centre is open and legislation dictates that stores over 280 square foot are forced to close, but that is only 10 of our stores out of 110 that have to remain closed. Unfortunately we don't have a Waitrose in our centre.
I'm so pleased to hear that you and you're friends had what sounds to be a wonderful day out in our centre and we certainly hope that you and your friends return again soon, SDO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swindon Designer Outlet also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Swindon Designer Outlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing