We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and decor”
Review of The Clock Bistro

The Clock Bistro
Ranked #8 of 680 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A small friendly resturant that specialises in Italian and British food.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

We recently went to The Clock Bistro as part of a large party. Very welcoming and friendly owner helped to make it a special occasion for us all. The food was excellent and a good choice of dishes from the menu and specials board. The eclectic décor and uplifting music added to the ambience. Only downside was that they struggled a little at times to cope with the numbers at the table (about 20) and ran out of starters even though we had pre-ordered, but apologies were offered immediately. Would definitely go again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeckyWestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We visited last night with a couple of friends and I would like to thank everyone for a great evening. We asked for an alternative starter and they were more than happy to accommodate. The food was gorgeous and the portion sizes are good. The staff were very attentive and friendly. It has a great atmosphere which you can feel when you walk in. I have been several times but for my husband it was a first and he also had a great time. He wasn't even able to manage a pud which isn't like him although they looked spectacular.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank lisabE5791TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Wonderful welcome the coffee was perfect and the breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented! Never been before for Sunday breakfast but will definitly go again!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

we just wanted to eat somewhere, and decided to visit this place. it was amazing! food was very tasty! i asked for risotto, they made it special for me! all my friends liked the food as well! the staff was friendly and atmosphere was really cute! i love this place already can recommend it for everyone, thank you so much!! xx

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 297magdalenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

We have been here previously and it was lovely. And would have recommended to anyone. However this visit was not so good. We had to send the steak back as it was warm at best and very chewy. The staff were were very helpful about that and we got a new one. One member of the party was allergic to cream and stated this. So had no cream in the sauce which was no problem. When we asked for deserts this came with cream that we said she couldn’t have. The response we got was oh well I will throw it away but it’s the only one we had. We said no it’s fine can you just scrape the cream off. But that became too much. And we were being ver rude. We were not rude at all. So asked for the manager as the staff WERE at this point being rude to us. but he was no good and just said bless her no not bless her help your customers. We were made to feel very uncomfortable so would on this trip advice not to go to this restaurant

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rachiesmith87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Clock Bistro also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Clock Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing