We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIL RATING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
International Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Booked family room through booking.com. I thought it was going to be a modern family room as advertised. It turned out to be a shabby, tatty old family room. I refused to stay and I'm still trying to get my money back. I would not recommend. Scam!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntHot, General Manager at International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you were not happy with your room. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to offer you an alternative room. We apologies if you found the advertising misleading, all our rooms are different and contain some beautiful features that we have maintained very well over the years.

The Hotel has been in Business for many years and we have kept the original features as this really appeals to our leisure tourism market.

We are a family run business that prides ourselves on our excellent service and homely atmosphere.

We have however processed a refund and hope for you to return to enjoy our great service here.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

There are some nice hotels in the centre of Derby, but I wanted somewhere near to the Derby Royal Hospital. This hotel is about halfway between the two.

This was a fairly decent hotel - The rooms were quite nice - not amazing but pleasant and clean. The reception staff were particularly friendly and welcoming.

The things I think that might but people off are:

Some of the fixtures and fittings are becoming dated and there's certainly some wear and tear over time. I don't mind this at all - for me it makes it homely, but I know from reading other reviews people don't particularly like this.

They have functions of an evening. For instance, they had a singles night when I stayed. This might be an issue for light sleepers, but the hotel do warn guests about this both on their website and in several places around the hotel.

And finally, the mushrooms with the breakfast tasted like tinned mushrooms. I know - really minor and picky, especially for £40 per night including parking and breakfast for 2 of us - but I love my mushrooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntHot, General Manager at International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We are currently going through a refurbishment, and the carpet is and has been replaced in some parts of the hotel.

We are under new management and have plans to invest in a lot of exciting new changes.

We apologies that the Mushrooms were not to your liking, we do however only cook fresh food in our restaurant.

We hope we can welcome you back for you to see this. We will pay particular attention to the Mushrooms ensuring there are perfect for your next stay.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

It looks nothing like the photos on the net. Carpets thread bare absolutely minting wouldnt recommend it nd would not stay again. Uuurrrggghhhh skin crawling just thinking about it.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

i stayed at the international for 2 nights on 2/7/2011. on arrival i was greeted by very friendly hotel staff who were very helpful ,check in went smoothly and i was even asked if i would like my bags taken to my room. my room was on the third floor and the lift only goes to the 2nd floor and theres 4 floors altogether so bare this in mind when travelling with people with wheelchairs or pushchairs. on arrival at my room it was clean adequate i did have a single room and yes it was quite small but everything you needed was in there a small double bed over the bed light a cooling fan a iron a hairdryer tea coffee tray and a tv on a moveable stand the reception on the tv was not brilliant on all channels though you had 10 in total and i had a ensuite shower room again small but adequate and had what you needed shower toilet and wash basin, the shower i did strugle to get the temperature right it was always to hot there was complimentery toileries in the shower room to. there was no radio in the room which i think would of been beneficial to have. i ate in the restaurant on the sat nite and the food was freshly cooked to order it did take about 25minutes though but when arrived it was very fresh tasty and nice and hot i had dessert as well which was very light tasty and finished the meal of nicely. this meal was on a special at 2 courses for a tenna and it was well worth it. the staff in the restaurant were very helpful polite and provided a good service. i had breakfast there on the sunday and monday which again was very nice the only thing that i had a issue with was on the sunday it was buffeet breakfast and when i sat down to have mine at 9.30 it was semi warm if it was hot it would of been beautiful but then on the monday the breakfast was freshly cooked to order and that was lovely very fresh and tasty and again the service from the staff was very good they were very polite and helpful. the location is good the town centre is 5 to 10 minute walk away and the train station is 15 to 20 minute walk away dependant on your pace. the hotel is on a busy road so can be noisey so if you want it quieter request a room on the back away from the road. a good hotel for £39 b and b for 1 person for 1 night great value will definately be coming back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edencaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Booked this hotel with booing.com after seeing pictures on the Internet . I thought I was getting a modern, stylish hotel at a really cheap deal !
I stayed in room 204 , the stairs to the room have thread bare carpets and the paint work is old and chipped . The room had a Orange dated bath suite with faulty taps and shower . The door had no lock to it just a chain for security . You could hear everyones conversations from the other rooms as well as the TV's ( I didn't need volume on mine) . You could hear music going on till all hours . I had a small baby with me and you could get nothing in the lift . No room for a pram , case ! It's made for one person only. It was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in .
Breakfast. The stay were nice but the service if hot food poor , I went up 4 times to try and get a hot breakfast ! They only cooked a few things at a time ! Only brought 3 hash browns out and they were still frozen in the middle .

Overall very poor hotel will not be staying here again

Mrs buttery

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacuieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.5 km away
The Georgian House Hotel
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,851 reviews
1.6 km away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1.3 km away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: €59 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing