We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
131
244
144
86
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
244
144
86
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lady jane grey oak suite wonky floors steeped in history amazing building four poster bed coaching inn wine bar century inn saturday night town centre ncp car park buffet style real ale single room self service an evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived for check in to our Four poster suite to be allocated the 'Lady Jane Grey Suite' - What an absolute joke!

Four poster bed with a mattress that must be over 10 yrs old, could feel every spring! Because of the age of the building and the steep slope of the floor we had to sleep at the foot of the bed. Random furniture all over covering stains on the carpet (3 bedside tables) and some wafer thin curtains that meant the street lights shone in all night. It's also quite noisy at the front of the building which is on a main shopping street.

Bathroom looked ok at first glance but actually look closer and it was grotty and needed a deep clean. A tiny shower gel and a small soap were provided, hardly boutique experience.

Fitful sleep with uncomfortable bed and went down for breakfast. No one there to tell us what the score is. Eventually when we got a plate of food it was inedible. Cold and poorly presented. Bread available to make toast but nothing to pick the bread up with so everyone's mucky fingers all over. We left the breakfast and walked to Wetherspoons for a decent bit of grub.

The real ale bar is closed due to a fire which we weren't aware of, nor were we told when we checked in. The bar that is open 'Treetops' is random at best and doesn't fit with the history of the building. It also didn't accept card payments.

All in all, very disappointed and would not ever recommend. We paid £143 for one night b & b in a suite and at best it was a £50 experience.

This place has the potential to be a gold mine and a real gem utilising the history and location but it's currently dirty and sub-standard.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Byker G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

My booking in Gloucester was changed to here after The New Inn has a fire. This hotel is a minute from the station and less than 10 minutes walk from the centre. The staff are helpful, the room adequate although in need of some tlc, the bed clean and comfortable. Breakfast is basic, cheaper if you order in advance. This was ideal for a two night break n Gloucester.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank JanS1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

‘Appalling’ - How they dared to charge the rates they do is shocking. If the rooms are anything to go by I dread to think what the kitchen is like!

Overall:

Unwelcoming staff - no welcome, a please on payment or thank you for any customs.
Room dirty - carpet filthy (see attached pictures)
Bed condition - poor

Would not ever recommend this... YHA Hostels are immaculate compared to a place that should be cared for given its history.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
5  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

8 of us stayed, 3 couples and 2 singles. Bedrooms clean and tidy, food very good. breakfast served on Saturday, but plenty of choice and good helping. Sunday breakfast buffet style. excellent evening meal options.
Sadly no entertainment as new manager had stopped it. Thats a shame because it was one of the reasons we booked it.
Location excellent for the city attractions, jus a short walk to anywhere.

Room Tip: Be careful as no lifts to any of the floors, so not really suitable for those with mobility problems.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gmin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

The back room stank of cigarette smoke. Take note you should move smokers away from the fire door to the back right hand side. The ashtray was a tin can which looked like it could catch light.
The toilets were disgusting. Pay a cleaner to clear up after Friday night.
My daughter (age 9) kept saying “does only one person work here?”. She was right. The lady who served us did a good job but where was anyone in charge?
Whoever it is who looks after this (what could be a) charming and historic market inn phone Gordon Ramsey. You need his help.
This review is about the bar area, and not the hotel rooms.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews