We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Lunch”
Review of Bangkok Canteen

Bangkok Canteen
Ranked #4 of 353 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$39
Description: BANGKOK CANTEEN is found on the belief that we could create best Thai dishes GLUTEN-FREE with locally sourced ingredients in sustainable way. Vegan & Dairy-free available
Restaurant details
Description: BANGKOK CANTEEN is found on the belief that we could create best Thai dishes GLUTEN-FREE with locally sourced ingredients in sustainable way. Vegan & Dairy-free available
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

My sister and I found the Bangkok Canteen by chance but what a find. After a lovely warm welcome we were spoilt for choice by the menu. I had the chicken pad thai & my sister had prawn green curry, then we shared a banana fritters & ice cream. The food was delicious & the service faultless. Definitely worth a return visit ... if only to sample more of the menu.

3  Thank Madeline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittima M, Owner at Bangkok Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2017

Our party of 6 includes veggies, a vegan, a meat eater and a gluten-free person - and we all left very satisfied after a lovely evening munching our way through 3 courses at the Bangkok Canteen.

The menu is quite different from your normal bog-standard Thai, and we didn't mind paying a bit extra for the creative touches and the attention to detail in the sourcing. The gluten-free ethos is very much appreciated too by the writer of this review, who was overjoyed at being able to eat her first banana fritter in many years. It was super-delicious, and again different from the norm, in a very very yummy way.

The staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant was very full and we had to wait a bit for our mains, but you expect this when food is being cooked from scratch.

The only down side was that we were seated very close to the door which opens directly onto the street. It was very chilly and people kept hovering in the doorway, so we had to pester them to shut it. In the end, hanging coats on our chairs kept us a bit warmer.

Thank jakkicarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittima M, Owner at Bangkok Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Popped in for lunch - had the sweet n sour chicken (sorry can't remember what is was called). Was delicious!!! Really nice decor, friendly service. Gluten free. Definitely visit again

1  Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittima M, Owner at Bangkok Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Refreshing to visit a local restaurant offering GF and locally sourced or authentic throughout the menu. Even offering a great choice of Vegan food, beers and wines for our vegan friends. Personally we eat meat and thoroughly enjoyed the squid and pork ribs to start followed by the lamb and jumbo prawns for main. Perfectly cooked, perfectly seasoned, tasted delicious - all without the usual bloated feeling. We even had room for the Banana fritter desert. Simple but did the job! Thank you Bangkok kitchen. See you again soon!

Thank RogandBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittima M, Owner at Bangkok Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Superb food and good sized portions. Especially the starters. Ideal for those that want gluten free, organic, fair trade and locally sourced. For my money not worth the extra, but nonetheless very good quality and excellent presentation.

Thank Phil223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittima M, Owner at Bangkok Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you very much for your review. Our prices may seem higher but the quality of ingredients we use and freshly cooked with no masc nor artificial stuffs. As we are small therefore no bargaining power to get gluten free or organic ingredients cheap. Glad to hear you enjoy our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Canteen also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
 

Been to Bangkok Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing