We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
358
59
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
358
59
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar homemade jams on arrival bircher muesli tea and cake town centre breakfast was excellent mince pies full english wonderful hospitality off street parking friendly hosts lovely owners lovely couple lovely warm welcome a lovely stay eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Arrived at Arden House at 2 pm and was welcomed by the owner, quickly checked in and given our room key (Room 2) not the biggest room but adequate for our needs, and had all facilities such as hair dryer, courtesy tray and kettle, built in wardrobes and a comfortable bed. The en suite was a tad small and for me the only fault was the shower, smallest cubicle ever as I am a big bloke and not a power shower, I like a powerful jet of water. Location of Arden house is superb, just a 5 minute walk to town centre. Breakfast gave us a superb choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruits, juices etc and the hot menu was extensive, but we plumped for the full English which was lovely. Our hosts were helpful, polite and informative, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Fromm the arrival to the goodbye moment there was nothing to fault and Marc & Jan made our experience outstanding. The quality of the breakfast is great, the hygiene and cleanliness 5* too.

Thank you and see you again next year

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Never been to Harrogate before, we didn't know any hotels. I picked Arden House off the internet, and made a phone call. The call was friendly, and re-assuring, so I made a booking. If breakfast is needed, there is a charge for it, and it's best to book when booking. Mark, Jans other half helped with breakfast. The breakfast was first class, and set you up ready to discover Harrogate. On arrival we were met by Jan, the owner. She was so friendly, we could have known her for years. we were greeted with a cup of tea and a mince pie. I was able to be guided to a rear car park, so my car was safely off the road. The room was comfortable and clean. Even being on a road near to the centre, it was quiet. If you wanted to visit the business centre, then it takes less than 5 minutes to walk. A small honesty bar is in the lounge, which is very comfortable. You are in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. They also do apartments, but these I have not seen. The couple are well worth visting. They also have free Wi Fi.Thank you Jan and Mark.

Room Tip: Only staying for the first time, we had a front room, that was very good.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. When Guests call us on the phone to make a reservation, we always quote a better price than that published on the internet sites and a price that includes breakfast. We can only assume that you booked online first without breakfast and then called us, by which time our hands are tied. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We just needed a comfy, clean place to lay our heads for one night while in Harrogate and we got this and more at Arden House! Firstly it’s a beautiful building. Despite our room being pretty small (we took the ‘last to sell room’ downstairs by the kitchen so I think this is why) it was very clean, with quality bedding and amenities. The lounge area and breakfast room are just gorgeous, so typical of the Victorian houses on the street. The breakfast itself was plentiful and very tasty. The staff are friendly and accommodating and the cafetière coffee on arrival was a lovely welcome. We would definitely stay here again...and the free road parking is a bonus!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Izzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

Just returned from an excellent weekend in Harrogate. From the initial welcome of roadside parking permit, pot of hot tea and mince pies to our leaving 2 day’s later, we couldn’t have been better looked after.
Mark provided lots of useful information regarding local restaurants, bars and attractions and the breakfast choice was second to none - all freshly cooked and lots of homemade goodies.
The room was quite small but comfortable, spotless and contained everything needed.
Within a 5 minute walk of the centre, the guest house has a great location.
The owners get the balance just right - helpful and informative but not ‘in your face’.
An excellent well run establishment - we’ll definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MMartens1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews