We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break ”
Review of Arden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arden House
Ranked #3 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely guest house in excellent location within walking distance to town centre, owners friendly & knowledgeable of the area. Great choice for breakfast in pleasant dining room. There is a car park on site but not guaranteed a space, but plenty of off road parking available just need a parking permit from guest house, Harrogate is a lovely town to visit would recommend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sjs_foss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House of Harrogate. Car parking is always an issue in any town and Arden House is one of the few that has its own car park and can offer free permits to guests to park on the street if this is full (a lot of the Hotels in town charge £11 per night per vehicle for this service). If you book direct by phone, then we always include breakfast, whereas a lot of the local hotels charge £15+ per person for this facility. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017

Arrived at Arden House at 2 pm and was welcomed by the owner, quickly checked in and given our room key (Room 2) not the biggest room but adequate for our needs, and had all facilities such as hair dryer, courtesy tray and kettle, built in wardrobes and a comfortable bed. The en suite was a tad small and for me the only fault was the shower, smallest cubicle ever as I am a big bloke and not a power shower, I like a powerful jet of water. Location of Arden house is superb, just a 5 minute walk to town centre. Breakfast gave us a superb choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruits, juices etc and the hot menu was extensive, but we plumped for the full English which was lovely. Our hosts were helpful, polite and informative, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Fromm the arrival to the goodbye moment there was nothing to fault and Marc & Jan made our experience outstanding. The quality of the breakfast is great, the hygiene and cleanliness 5* too.

Thank you and see you again next year

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Giovanni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Never been to Harrogate before, we didn't know any hotels. I picked Arden House off the internet, and made a phone call. The call was friendly, and re-assuring, so I made a booking. If breakfast is needed, there is a charge for it, and it's best to book when booking. Mark, Jans other half helped with breakfast. The breakfast was first class, and set you up ready to discover Harrogate. On arrival we were met by Jan, the owner. She was so friendly, we could have known her for years. we were greeted with a cup of tea and a mince pie. I was able to be guided to a rear car park, so my car was safely off the road. The room was comfortable and clean. Even being on a road near to the centre, it was quiet. If you wanted to visit the business centre, then it takes less than 5 minutes to walk. A small honesty bar is in the lounge, which is very comfortable. You are in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. They also do apartments, but these I have not seen. The couple are well worth visting. They also have free Wi Fi.Thank you Jan and Mark.

Room Tip: Only staying for the first time, we had a front room, that was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. When Guests call us on the phone to make a reservation, we always quote a better price than that published on the internet sites and a price that includes breakfast. We can only assume that you booked online first without breakfast and then called us, by which time our hands are tied. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We just needed a comfy, clean place to lay our heads for one night while in Harrogate and we got this and more at Arden House! Firstly it’s a beautiful building. Despite our room being pretty small (we took the ‘last to sell room’ downstairs by the kitchen so I think this is why) it was very clean, with quality bedding and amenities. The lounge area and breakfast room are just gorgeous, so typical of the Victorian houses on the street. The breakfast itself was plentiful and very tasty. The staff are friendly and accommodating and the cafetière coffee on arrival was a lovely welcome. We would definitely stay here again...and the free road parking is a bonus!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Izzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 km away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,797 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,795 reviews
0.6 km away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#4 of 83 in Harrogate
564 reviews
0 km away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#1 of 83 in Harrogate
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden House

Address: 69-71 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: €65 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arden House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden House, a Victorian Harrogate Guest House,offers comfortable accommodation, free WIFI, free parking, friendly staff, lounge bar and the ideal location; with the advantage of being situated in a quiet tree-lined road just a few minutes stroll from the Harrogate Conference and Spa Town Centre. Everything you need for a relaxed comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing