We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$438/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
318
54
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
318
54
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty baron arrivalhomemade jamscoffee and cakefull englishrecommend the eggs benedictquiet tree lined streetbreakfast was excellentfriendly hostsmince piestown centrewonderful hospitalitylovely couplelovely ownersoff street parkingplenty of choicegave us a map
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

I recently stayed at Arden House for a week with a group of knitters. Much of what I have to say has been said in previous reviews from same group, so please scroll down for more!. From the welcome cuppa and lemon cake to the box of Yorkshire Tea our hosts Mark and Jan gave us to send us on our way, Arden House was perfection! Our group filled the entire B&B, and we took advantage of Mark and Jan's warm hospitality by taking over the entire downstairs with our knitting paraphernalia and ourselves! We toured the area during the day, and were welcomed "home" every afternoon with pots of tea and other goodies. Our hosts' dining recommendations were spot-on. (Who anticipated such culinary delights in Yorkshire?!) Our rooms at Arden House were comfortable (a good bed, and plenty of hot water and towels), and breakfasts included a cold sideboard (fruit, yogurt, juices) as well as our choice of hot, fresh cooked options. Mark and Jan were incredibly solicitous and helpful regarding some of the special needs our group presented-- heavy suitcases were gladly hauled upstairs, dietary oddities were catered for without issue, quick lifts to local restaurants were generously provided for three of us with older, sorer knees. I just can't say enough good things!! I traveled extensively in the UK when I lived there several years ago, staying at B&Bs throughout England, Scotland, and Wales. Arden House is by far my best B&B experience ever!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mellenmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and it was an absolute pleasure having you and your new friends stay with us for a week. We always love it when a larger Group comes to Arden House as it allows us a lot of quality time with our Guests and we can cater more closely to their needs and requirements. The town is also a perfect location for such a Group as we have an abundance of small local family run businesses where the service and quality levels are exemplary. We truly look forward to your return visit next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

An excellent guest house run by its owners Jan and her husband Mark. Both the owners look after their guests at a level that you would more associate with a high-quality hotel. Breakfasts had a large choice of ingredients, both hot and cold. Rooms had very comfortable beds with a choice of Sky TV in rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PaulWeaverUK1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House in Harrogate. Whilst we only offer Freeview in our rooms, this is more than sufficient for most guests and of course it gives you a super excuse to visit one of our ale houses when you need to watch some serious sport! We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We arrived early at Arden but received such a warm welcome from Jan. We were offered a welcome hot coffee after our journey, as well as some lovely cakes. It was such a nice change from our last B&B in York where we had to check in and get settled by ourselves. Jan chatted with us for a little bit and provided us with an orientation of the town and surrounding areas.
Our room was ready right away, and it was gorgeous. We loved everything about it. It was roomy and quiet, and there is a great internet connection.
Breakfasts were delicious - we always had the full English - and they had the best coffee.
Arden House is a nice stroll from town in a great area, with friendly, helpful neighbours. We definitely recommend it and hope to have the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank smskhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House of Harrogate. We always try to make sure that Guests enjoy a good reception and are oriented as quickly as possible in order that they can enjoy the lovely town that is on our door step. Internet is extremely important to Guests, and around 6 months ago we installed a series of hard wired repeaters throughout Arden House on a mega broadband service so that reception and speed are as strong as possible. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Me and Robert were greeted by Jan and she showed us a map of where to go around Harrogate. Our room was lovely, with what Robert identified as a Maple Tree outside. We had no noise issues. The bed was so comfortable. I enjoyed chilling in the lounge type room on a night, reading my book.
The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. This is the best B and B I've stayed at.

Thank you to the owners, we will be back defitenely

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank newbierail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House of Harrogate. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is a lovely Victorian house with excellent hosts. Mark on our arrival gave us instructions on where to park as the parking spaces at the side of Arden was full, but this was literally across the road. Explained he would give us a permit for the rest of the weekend. He then brought us both a tea and lovely piece of cake, and then told us of the best places to see in Harrogate and restaurants and bars. Very informative with a great map of the area. It is in a great location for Harrogate. Our room was on the top floor room 4 at the front of the house. Decent size with a lovely comfy bed, good storage. Wash basin was in the room and shower and toilet separate, but we have found this is normal in older property's. Plenty of hot water. Exceptionally clean every where. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The only reason I have given it 4 stars is that there was a constant banging and shuddering from the water pipes which unfortunately woke us on several occasions during the night, as my husband is a plumber he told me to flush the toilet which solved it for a while. I did mention this to Mark and Jan when I left and was told that the plumber was coming the next day so he would ask him to have a look. I can quite understand it is a old property and you will get the odd bangs and creaks, this would not put us off staying here again as the house and hosts are excellent but maybe ask for a different room.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOLLYPoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHolliday186534, Owner at Arden House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with Arden House of Harrogate. We apologise for the noise from the plumbing system, and we have been desperately trying to find exactly which seal is leaking, but hopefully this is solved now. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews