We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveller rating
801
192
35
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
801
192
35
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turret room small hotel town centre a family run hotel lovely hotel stained glass yorkshire breakfast evening meal kippers ten minute walk car park on site parking comfortable bed would highly recommend this hotel within easy walking distance high standard both nights
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We had a fantastic time, the rooms are spotlessly clean and couldn't be faulted, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were really friendly. The location is convenient and I'll be recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MikG68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We visited Ascot House as a party of 9 for an 80th birthday party and meal. They reserved one of the main reception rooms for our meal and we pretty much had the bar to ourselves. The meal was £18.00 pp which included starter, main course, dessert and coffee and everybody thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Most importantly Grandma had a wonderful 80th birthday due to the lovely food, attentive staff and stunning rooms within the hotel.

We would highly recommend this hotel, it's situated in a lovely part of Harrogate.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SeaEagle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We booked this hotel after reading other reviews. We were not dissappointed. The location, just a short walk from the centre of Harrogate is perfect, with the benefit of on site parking too. The hotel is elegantly decorated and the turret room was very spacious and luxurious.
The food was delicious! Best of all, the staff made us feel special and yet comfortable at the same time as if we were staying in their home. Add to that beautiful weather, RHS Harlow Carr and a Betty's cake picnic in Valley Park Gardens, it truly was an anniversary to remember!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Really puzzled by all of the 5 star reviews.
We found our stay to be average from start to finish.
Check in was ok, with the guy telling us we were in a nice room. However, I had paid the extra to get the premium room. The £135 we paid, is way more than it's worth, now that we've experienced it. £85 seems about ok.
The room was spacious but with dated decor. The vast bay window gave a lovely view onto the garden, but gave no privacy. No blinds or voile curtains. You were overlooked by all passing along the busy road. We had to close the curtains during the day.
The room was warm, so we had to have the window open, which is fine, but then awoken by traffic early morning.
The bedding was polyester quilt & cover (therefore hot & sticky) not at all luxurious & not what I would expect from an expensive room rate.
The bar was locked up when we returned from our evening meal out - at 10pm! The room itself looked more like a lounge in an old people's home. We did manage to get a glass of average wine poured by a very personable & friendly chef. Thank you!
On check-in, no info given about wifi. When we rang reception we were told the password was in the guest info book. However it didn't tell us which wifi to use & after trying every potential network, we failed to get access. We're very savvy people with technology, but this & the tv had us puzzled! TV only worked intermittently.
A nice breakfast served by competent & friendly staff saved this from being a poor, 2 star rating.
I would have given some feedback to the guy on check out, but wasn't asked how our stay had been. Poor customer service.
In sum, overpriced & overrated.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank SuzeNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Lovely Edwardian house hotel, 5 min walk down tree lined avenues into the town centre, the room and facilities were very good, the breakfast and evening meals were superb, we would definitely recommend this hotel and would stop again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melwain2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews