We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really lovely guesthouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavendish

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cavendish
Ranked #48 of 102 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really lovely guesthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed as a family of 6 in May 2011 for two nights to attend a family wedding.

We booked the family suite to share with our 12 year old which was fine but would be a squeeze with two older children. Might be OK if you had little ones. Our two older sons shared a twin and my sister in law had a single which turned out to be a lovely double room.

The rooms weren't huge but they were well decorated and very comfortable. The beds were great with very good linen. The shower rooms weren't huge but were perfectly serviceable. Everything was clean.

The breakfasts were fantastic. Great full English or Continental - both were really nice, along with cereals, fruit, juice etc and plenty of tea or coffee. The ladies serving were really nice.

The guest house is opposite beautiful gardens and is close to everything you'd want to see in Harrogate.

I was surprised at some of the reviews. There are stairs, obviously, because it's not a bungalow. If anything let it down it would be the lounge area which could be spruced up a little. There was also a slightly doggy smell as we entered.

We did have a slight haggle over the bill as they seemed to have forgotten that we'd paid a sizeable deposit. This was no problem and was sorted out amicably.

If we were to return to Harrogate I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    45
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
56
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

I am shocked to read some people's comments about this hotel.

We stayed here for 2 nights for a conference and I have to say what a wonderful stay we had. Originally we asked for a family room due to 3 of us. The owner phoned us to say that it was not available for our time period and as an alternative, she would put us into 2 rooms which was fantastic. And there was no additional fees!

The rooms were big and clean. Cooked breakfast, catered for meat and vegetarian. Wifi is free and parking just outside the hotel. The one thing I may fault is the shower, as it was not a power shower. But that did not spoil our stay.

The owner were very kind and friendly. Would recommend this hotel to all. Also there is a nice family run italian restaurant nearby which was great. Would stay again

Room Tip: Room 4 has the big poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, Cambs.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We too were seduced by Tripadvisor reviews, but unless you're nostalgic for a 1960's English boarding house, stay away. Harrogate is now crowded and very expensive, and this place seems to be getting by on its location. Other reviewers have mentioned the pitifully small rooms, the many stairs, the difficulty finding anyone at the front desk, and the general lack of care in the public rooms. I don't think it can, or should, survive for long with its 80 pound doubles. Ominously, its neighboring buildings are mostly vacant. Find someplace else.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms first. We naively asked the patron which room was "best" and were advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyssor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Having travelled to Harrogate a few times now for business, I am delighted to find this hotel, via the recommendation of some very good friends.

We stayed 3 days over the weekend while at an exhibition and were very happy with the whole experience.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. True there were a few more stairs than I would have liked and the bathroom was a little on the small side in my room, but honestly, that's pretty much what you'd expect in a converted older building. And it didn't matter anyway.

Because the warmth of Brenda (owner) was the most important element for us as she couldn't do enough for us, even allowing us to use the breakfast room as a meeting room for several hours, during which time some freshly baked scones with clotted cream and jam appeared to keep us going!!

Wonderful place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Le_Clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Booked for a birthday weekend in Harrogate, combining a trip to the theatre with a visit to the Turkish Baths the next day.

The Cavendish is ideally located not far from the main shops and restaurants, but quietly situated - just around the corner from Bettys.

From our arrival, we were made to feel welcome and at home. Our room (18) was spacious, clean, warm and cosy, with a view of overlooking one of Harrogate's small parks. One of the most comfortable beds I've slept in while staying in a hotel!

The owners were attentive without being obtrusive, friendly without being in your face - lovely!

The cooked breakfast was delicious, although I eyed up my partner's choice of fruit and yoghurt when it was delivered to the table - the plumpest blackberries and raspberries I've seen in a long while, with home-made yoghurt!

We'll certainly want to go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobinWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
0.2 km away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Royal Parade
Royal Parade
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 km away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#4 of 102 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 km away
The Dales Guest House
The Dales Guest House
#38 of 102 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cavendish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish

Property: The Cavendish
Address: 3 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
The Cavendish Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing