We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Recession hit hotel and town close to the sea.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Wicklow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Wicklow
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wicklow
Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Recession hit hotel and town close to the sea.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016

We stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast.

First impressions was of an old looking hotel right on a busy road. Check-in was seamless and quick. The girl was very friendly. The first room has a terrible smell of smoke. I went back to reception and got a change. The second room was facing a flat roof. Both windows had broken latches and could not be closed. Looked like someone had broken in. This time back to reception again with the bags in tow. The receptionist was very apologetic and gave us a top floor room overlooking the main road. The room was large with a double and single. The room and en-suite was tired and needed updating. Later looking around the hotel it all need updating.

The bathroom had an in bath shower. There was no air conditioning. There was tea and coffee making facility. Wifi was ok in the room.

The breakfast was a small buffet for tea, coffee, cereals, fruit, bread etc.. The main cooked breakfast was from a menu. We ate twice in the bar beside the hotel and had typical bar food. Here it was tasty and reasonably priced.

The town itself is typical of a satellite town, hit by the recession that you see in a 30/40 mile radius of Dublin or any major city. The hotel is walking distance to the sea and there is a dirt path north that skirts the shore line, which we did not get to the end, even walking for 1.5hrs or 3hrs round trip.

Overall it’s a tired and outdated décor hotel. This is a type of a hotel where you will go to the shop and buy snacks to eat in the room while reading or watching the tv rather than sit in the foyer.
Will we visit again? I don’t think so, as we feel we have seen all of Wicklow town has to offer this time around. Other towns and hotels to visit.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    66
    66
    35
    26
See reviews for
40
111
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

ok I looked up this hotel on tripadvisor and seen different reviews but decided to give it a try. The rooms were in need of some attention but it was made up by the friendliness of the staff. from the time we entered to an old time recepition area the girls behind the desk were very helpful and pleasant. We had barfood the first night and the food came fast and was very tasty. Have to say the chef has cracked the risotto and the brown bread icecream was fantastic. The hotel itself is in a good location everything was a stones throw away. After a goods night sleep did notice a bit of love and care and this place would be a little gem. hopefully they will see this and do the building up a bit. The next night we tried the friary restaurant my god the food was just to die for I had the duck which was crispy on the outside and really soft meat inside my partner had the Asian seabass with the noise salad "think that's how its spelt anyway what a portion and she devoured the lot of it. the two lads Jack and shane were great very friendly and helpful. Over all I am glad we stayed and will deffo come back for the food alone and the fact it comes with a friendly smile is great Fair play Grand hotel and staff happy Christmas to you all

Room Tip: rooms a little dated sure look before you sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyfordwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

I went down to Wicklow to meet longtime friends in the restaurant here and was very happy with the meal and the great waiter serving us. He was most patient while we chatted as we only meet up intermittently and were not immediately ready to order. The menu was small but interesting. The starter we all favoured was fish cakes and we were very impressed. For mains some of us went for the sea bass, some for the pork belly and some for the chicken dish which was sizzling. All of us were pleased and vegetables come with the dishes. For dessert, some went for the blueberry cheesecake but I was stuffed at that stage so I just had a tea. For 2 courses it was €21 and 3 courses €25. The waiter was absolutely lovely, great asset to the restaurant. Well done.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andi4265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

we serve up some fantastic foods from lamb shank to steak to asian seabass of try our bar try the chefs burger but bring your empty belly as this is a real filler. we have great priced sunday lunch 16.95 for 2 courses or 19.95 for a three course

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night,the room was freezing when we arrived I phoned reception and the heating was switched on.The room itself was clean but badly in need of a makeover especially the ensuite, little details like a valance on the bed would not go amiss,the shower above the bath had a curtain not a screen and the bath was chipped.This hotel is in an excellent location and could be fabulous if only it had a modern makeover of the rooms.The reception and bar area are warm and welcoming and the the staff were friendiy,.We ordered lunch which was served quickly and the quality of the food was excellent.This hotel needs to just update its rooms for that reason and that reason alone I would not stay here again.But I would lunch here again.PLEASE PLEASE UPDATE YOUR ROOMS.I do not like to give a poor review when the rest of your hotel is fine.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wicklow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
12.6 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
2.2 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
13.2 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
20.8 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
20.8 km away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wicklow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wicklow

Property: Grand Hotel Wicklow
Address: Abbey Street, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Wicklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Wicklow 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel has been welcoming guests to the picturesque sea-side town of Wicklow since 1896. Centrally located in the heart of "The Garden of Ireland", it's the perfect relaxing base for exploring Wicklow. Facilities include: 33 luxurious rooms, lively main bar and cozy lounge, food served all day, excellent conferencing & banqueting facilities and secure parking. Stunning scenery (Glendalough), golf (Druid's Glen), walking, historic houses & gardens (Powerscourt) all nearby. Dublin: 40 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Wicklow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicklow Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing