We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wicklow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wicklow Head Lighthouse
Ranked #3 of 12 Wicklow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This is such an amazing place! Although you may need to stop and catch your breath a few times during your stay, the lighthouse is full of character and is in area that is fun to explore. Once we finally found it (which was not easy in the dark), Miriam and Brendan had it lit up, which was so beautiful as we drove up. They gave us a great tour and explained not only the lighthouse but also things to do/see, such as the working lighthouse down and around the hill and the cliff hike to the seal colony. We did both, though the cliff hike is not for the faint of heart. (Of course, neither are the stairs in the lighthouse!) The bed was comfortable, and Miriam had the place beautifully decorated for Christmas. The views are amazing, and each window gives you a different perspective. We had three days with gorgeous sunrises/sunsets. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luvtravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Spent a weekend here with a group of friends. Comfortable beds and bedrooms. Sitting room just spacious enough. All amenities covered but if you're looking for to or Internet give it a miss. This is a location to really get away from it all. The walls around the Lighthouse are fantastic and the views spectacular. We got extremely lucky with the weather but I imagine it would be amazing no matter what. Definitely walk to Brideshead beach as we came across a colony of about 20 seals. Very close to the city which is perfect for a handy weekend away. Loved it, despite my legs aching from the endless steps.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Brymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We didn't actually stay here. We just admired from a distance, It looked really cool. The road to it is a bit confusing. It says private road but the gate is open. We were out on a drive & wanted to take pictures of lighthouses.

Stayed: September 2016
2  Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Smashing place to stay. The house management team were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Spectacular setting and definitely the wow factor. If you've got kids staying of any age it might be worth securing the windows in their room as they're easy to open and it's quite a drop. There's a hardware store in town and a simple few cable ties does the job without damaging anything.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank MACork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

We loved Wicklow and the walk to this lighthouse was spectacular! Great views of different colored green field with sheep on one side and the beautiful ocean on the other along with other ruins along the way. We followed the path and came to the lighthouse and sign said no trespassing. The locals walking said everyone ignores the signs keep going so we all entered and found more trails behind that we continued to follow. There are several different ways to go that lead to more trails either down to the beach or up to the highest point where then you can go down to another lighthouse. We loved Wicklow we stayed at a Oceanview house and were able to walk here directly from the house. We all would return to Wicklow over other areas of Ireland completely underrated town!! If you love the country feel with access to good restaurants, a harbor, castle ruins, the abbey, church, bakeries, seals, ocean and beach views and access hiking trails this is the place to be!! Don't forget your camera and a bottle of water!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Torres3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wicklow
20.7 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,064 reviews
15.2 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
531 reviews
4.6 km away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,114 reviews
26.6 km away
The Martello Hotel
2.2 km away
The Bridge Tavern
The Bridge Tavern
#5 of 12 in Wicklow
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicklow Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicklow Head Lighthouse

Address: Wicklow Head | Co.Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Wicklow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Wicklow
Price Range: €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wicklow Lighthouse is a 6 storey high tower. A granite octagonal building, it was built as a lighthouse in the mid 1800s, but only functioned as such for a short length of time before it was decommissioned and replaced by a new lighthouse further out on the headland.This is a spectacular building. All the windows on each level have fantastic views - out to sea or inland across Co.WicklowThere is an entrance foyer with a guest wc off; two double bedrooms; a bathroom; living room; kitchen. Please note there are 109 steps from the entrance level to the kitchen which is at the top of the building ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wicklow Head Lighthouse Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing