We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenmalure Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort(Newtown Mount Kennedy)
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkview Hotel(Newtown Mount Kennedy)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenview Hotel(Glen Of The Downs)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Glendalough Hotel(Glendalough Village)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge(Arklow)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
12
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno electricitybunk bedsgasfireplacehikersmountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

The best thing about this hostel is the location, really out of the way, beside the river with a lovely garden. It's very basic and the toilet stinks but to wake up in the middle of the mountains its worth it. And the beds are comfortable. The warden was really friendly too. Would love to come back in the winter.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Conor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The warden, Joan (and her dog Coco!) was welcoming and it was great to spend a candlelit evening playing games, drinking wine and listening to her stories in the living room. She also woke us up just in time so we could drive back across the river as the water was rising after a night of heavy rain! The place has a limited number of beds so has a friendly communal feeling. With no electricity, no phone signal and the nearest pub a bit of a walk/drive away, it really is a great place to escape from everything and take life at a slower pace. It's in an ideal location for hiking in the hills and near the waterfalls nearby, and the warden pointed us in the direction of a good short route for an evening stroll. I hope to return one day and stay longer than one night next time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMcTav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The hostel is located in the heart of Glendalough, which is very handy for hiking.
It is comfortable.
There is a living room with a cheminey and lots of books.
Not too many things to do otherwise, but happy for one night.

Breakfast is not included but good quality.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glenmalure Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Hi Jean-Marie,

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you got to experience this wonderful hiking area.
I will pass on your comments to our volunteers who look after the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

This place is an absolute gem! Not for everybody though... No running water except for the bubbling creek, no power, no phone reception. If you want to visit, be ready to disconnect.
We booked our stay for 2 nights and I have to admit I was looking forward to it but at the night of our arrival ended up not being mentally ready for the cold, rain and socializing which was inevitable, and thought of leaving right after the 1st night. But the place and Josephine, the lady on duty, made me find my inner peace again.
The area is as quiet and green as one can expect it to be in Ireland and since you're spending your time during the day elsewhere, you don't mind the lack of modern technologies at night. The nights were cold but the comforters so warm we were enjoying them as a luxury. Candles lit everywhere just add to the romantic atmosphere.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a bit privacy if you want it, we ended up having our own room.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glenmalure Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Hi Anna, thank you for taking the time to review Glenmalure Hostel. We are delighted that you found your "inner peace" in the end and enjoyed your stay. We hope that the rest of your adventure was what you were hoping for too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

This hostel is a perfect break from modern life ... no modern conveniences, no electricity, no running water and poor if any mobile reception ... this is the last house in Ireland's longest glacial valley with just hills to climb, the sound of the river and the stories told around the fireplace. I've stayed here many times. Some fall in love Glenmalure and return time whiles others will never return.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HughODonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy M, Head of Marketing at Glenmalure Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Thank you for the review Hugh. We are delighted to hear that you are a returning hosteller. We will be sure to have the kettle on should you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews