We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
46
31
18
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
31
18
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub waters meet beautiful spot breakfast room thomas moore fish and chips looked lovely huge bed cooked breakfast small shop view of the river a great place to stay perfect location family room stayed one night full irish good size
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

This is a quirky little place. It's a B&B, bar, shop, cafe and restaurant and each one seems to have its own name! The rooms in the B&B are just lovely. We had a superior family room with a river view. The bed was the biggest bed I've ever slept it! And the kids also had a bed each. The room was large with a massive TV, tea and coffee facilities and a good sized bathroom.
There was additional supplies in a room leading out onto a balcony from where you could see the river and the hills beyond. It was such a lovely spot. We left the windows open at night so we could hear the running water.
The TV was also connected to an XBox with games for the kids to borrow, so they were happy!
Plenty of board games were available too.
The restaurant was lovely and again, you can eat with a view of the river.
Breakfast was brilliant, I was just sorry I couldn't finish it all.
The shop was the tiniest shop I've ever seen - you can just about fit 4 people in there but can't really turn around to come out again!
The little local bar was brilliant too, with a pool table.
The staff were friendly, the locals were friendly, the spot was fantastic, the room was brilliant - I cannot fault it at all. They are obviously trying very hard and deserve all the recommendations they can get. I would definitely return. It was hard to leave such a lovely place and people.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HarrassedParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

The Meetings was the venue for my 50th birthday party, and what a venue! Helped by the fantastic weather, we sat out on the patio, to the backdrop of the stunning Avonmore and Avonbeg rivers, and enjoyed fantastic music and excellent food.

Comments from my guests:

"It was just fantastic - felt like we were off somewhere foreign and beautiful"
"There's something special about eating and dancing outside."
"who would have guessed there's such a venue in Ireland, in Wicklow!"
"The food was amazing!"

The staff at The Meetings are always very lovely, helpful, friendly. I really cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ZCarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

This is such a good family room! Best we stayed at in 3 weeks in Ireland! A double and two single beds fitted snugly into a room with an en suite, tea/coffee making facilities (plus a fridge down the corridor with extra milk and some small snacks of cheese and ham!) What’s more the room not only had a TV and Wi-Fi but also a Play Station – after travelling around for so long, my son (and husband!) were in heaven!!
The room overlooks the two rivers known as the Meetings of the Water made famous by a poem by Thomas Moore and is known for its beauty. Ireland has been suffering from a heat waved and so the waters were very low but still lovely.
The staff at the hotel were attentive and friendly. We enjoyed our evening meal and in the main the breakfast. There was breads, cereals, yoghurt, ham, cheeses, freshly brewed coffee and tea. The full cooked breakfast was the only disappointing feature of our stay – the bacon was pretty much overcooked and hard, the sausages deep fried and all of it was quite greasy but apart from this I thought this was a great place to stay. The added advantage to staying here is that it’s about 20 mins from Glendalough which is definitely worth a visit. I know a previous traveler had a bad experience here but we loved it!

Room Tip: 20 minutes from Glendalough. Family room with free Playstation!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmelODolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We visited this bed and breakfast for one night. The food was great plus breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff were very friendly and more than helpful. Location is a major plus because of its tranquility.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Padraig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

This place does not live up to pictures or expectations.. first thing we were greeted with was smirk as to who would show us the room.. We were SQUEEZED into tiny room with beds pushed together and we had to get on to bed to let other use bathroom which by saying standing room was understatement.. pure greed and left to sad and disappointed children.. shame on them

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek F, Owner at The Meetings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

You arrived in very bad humour which you later attributed to a scarey drive from wexford.

You threatened to not pay for your room quoting that you had provided invalid credit card details when you booked hence you knew we couldnt process the payment upon hearing which we asked you to leave. A first for us in respect of any guest.

You changed your mind regarding staying and paying, apologised for your earlier behaviour but shortened your stay to one night from three.

The room is as described and the photos on our site and others clearly show how the beds are configured.

The only positive from our interaction with you was the nice family who took up the room for the two nights you freed up. They like you had two children. They left a five star review enjoying the big room with river views, the large screen tv and the playstation which the children used to play dvds from our library.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews