We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
49
32
18
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
32
18
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub thomas moore rivers meet beautiful spot breakfast room four poster bed fish and chips looked lovely huge bed a lovely place to stay staff were so friendly small shop cooked breakfast family room b and b view of the river stayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We visited this bed and breakfast for one night. The food was great plus breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Staff were very friendly and more than helpful. Location is a major plus because of its tranquility.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Padraig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

This place does not live up to pictures or expectations.. first thing we were greeted with was smirk as to who would show us the room.. We were SQUEEZED into tiny room with beds pushed together and we had to get on to bed to let other use bathroom which by saying standing room was understatement.. pure greed and left to sad and disappointed children.. shame on them

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek F, Owner at The Meetings, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

You arrived in very bad humour which you later attributed to a scarey drive from wexford.

You threatened to not pay for your room quoting that you had provided invalid credit card details when you booked hence you knew we couldnt process the payment upon hearing which we asked you to leave. A first for us in respect of any guest.

You changed your mind regarding staying and paying, apologised for your earlier behaviour but shortened your stay to one night from three.

The room is as described and the photos on our site and others clearly show how the beds are configured.

The only positive from our interaction with you was the nice family who took up the room for the two nights you freed up. They like you had two children. They left a five star review enjoying the big room with river views, the large screen tv and the playstation which the children used to play dvds from our library.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

We arrived at The Meetings on a Friday...had requested an early check in in writing and via phonecall as travelling from the West....same not available on arrival....after a short wait and great work by the lovely cleaner.... rooms were ready.....

Rooms were very basic with outdated decor......this seemed to be the theme of the whole place.....alot of clutter and multiple fridges and freezers all over the place that had no place ben there.....this would be a Francis Brennan nightmare!

Staff very apathetic except for the cleaner.....her name escapes me but if she was running the joint it would be ship shape, very organised and thorough in her Work compared to the rest.

Arrived down to breakfast the next morning.....no tables set, said tables sticky if you lent on them. Told to help ourselves to the cereal/ toast/ coffee......No bread or butter to make toast and the coffee I wouldnt give to somone on Death Row( I did cop later that they had a proper Barista Coffee machine but same was never Advertised/Offered by Staff) Irish breakfast was only ok mainly as ya were put off by the apathetic staff & general cleanliness....Raw meats (Prosciutto Hams and Various blocks of Cheeses were lying on a bench with no cover and a Blue Bottle sitting on it!).... Might be trying the Mediterranean twist but I can only imagine the outcome if you did eat this

On clearing a table same was wiped down by either her hands or a Tea Towel....hence the Stickiness.

We headed off site seeing and on return ordered drinks from a young lad in the bar area....My mother noticed a large price tag and asked for receipt....a drink(spirits) had been charged for twice in price and on questioning it he argued that he was right.... On asking to explain how he could be he had no answer and he secumed to altering it correctly. Here too everything from fixtures and fittings was very dated.... Some very clever photo work was done for the Website so be wary...
The only redeeming feature this ''hotel'' has is the view out the back.....We had gorgeous weather which made the place Shine.....Again the place is steeped in History of the Poet Thomas Moore....However this was bypassed in trying to sell the place as a place to stay...we only by accident came upon the plaque dedicated to him in the Gardens.....
Overall, apart from the view and the lovely banter from the Cleaner....Disappointing and unless Francis Brennan gets a hold of the place its unlikely to change with Apathetic Owners.
If you want the Complete opposite experience go to Jacob Well Rathdrum! Hiighly recommend 10/10!

Room tip: All rooms fairly nosy as right beside a busy road
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

First time in Avoca and loved the beautiful surroundings, came across The meetings and stunning place, staff friendly but service could be quicker on arrival, food took really long time to arrive even though beautiful when it came, attention to detail from staff is missing in such a beautiful place. I gave it very good for the surrounding and quality of the food.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

A day trip to the Meetings of the Water took us here for dinner.
Standard pub grub, myself and my wife each had chicken wings (lovely) and our son had the kids burger which came with chips.
Food was great, staff were welcoming and friendly.
Place could do with an update but it's a old country pub, and there's plenty of character.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RoryBlanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews