We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“**Travel Agent Review**” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arklow Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arklow Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Cork
2 reviews
“**Travel Agent Review**”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This was a very last minute booking to head to Arklow for the weekend. For a coastal hotel situated in a quaint little town, i was more than happy to take the offer of €50pp B&B for the night with full access to a lovely leisure centre. Its a no brainer! Upon arrival, grant it there are kids everywhere, but a great atmosphere in this hotel. A bright and airy lobby/reception area, with i must say exceptional staff. With the help of Janna who very kindly upgraded us to a front of house room that became available, we were very happy! Had lunch in the Bistro and could not fault it. The chips in the basket a great touch! Their were many functions on in the hotel that Saturday night, and the music was pretty loud in fairness til about 12.30/1am. I can understand that this would be quite distressing for some guests staying there, but you can request a room away from these function rooms if you book in time. It didnt bother me in the slightest, we had a few jars in anyway at that stage!

I give sleep quality very good, as the beds very comfy in the room. Maybe a little suggestion to clean the over throws a little more and possibly upgrade your bathroom products to something a little higher quality.

To be fair, its probably not your ideal "quiet" weekend escape. It is a vibrant, friendly, extremely well located, clean and professional hotel that i most definitely would go back to and recommend to my friends. Thanks again to all the staff both at the hotel and Shane in the Leisure centre for making our stay a very very enjoyable one. Sean - Club Travel Dublin

Room Tip: Room to the front of the hotel if at all possible and away from the function rooms. Try if you can t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlineseanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    183
    138
    83
    71
See reviews for
233
199
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

For Christmas 2011 my partner Ann and I had the pleasure of staying in the Arklow Bay Hotel. From our arrival on Christmas Eve to departure on the 27/12/11 the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to be any trouble to them. The room was very cosy and the bed very comfortable, lovely nights sleep. The Christmas dinner was enjoyable, I really hate "al dente" vegetables, and the buffet on Christmas Night had everything you could possibly want. Nightly entertainment not really my type but its hard to please everyone especially at that time of year, small selection available!. Looking forward to returning for Christmas 2012

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Take the time to read through the reviews and also some of the photo's posted they are not a patch at all on what you are going to experience.
One review said take the extra 15/20 mins to Gorey take the advise that's what it's there for. Kids run riot all over the lobby and corridors till all hours even worse when they are on school breaks no wonder the staff are fed up. I have seen staff asking (after kids club which finished at 10pm) for children not to run around and misbehave but God help them they then get a mouthful from the parents as they are happy to drink away and expect staff to control there children. You go to your office or place off employment and try to work with kids running riot (I think you might not like it) and for the majority (as that's why you go) yep there your kids you can't control. You then have the cheek to go home and and put on a bad review. Don't get me wrong I am all for kids having a good time but not at the expense of other guests IT IS NOT THE HOTEL OR IT'S STAFF TO ENTERTAIN YOUR CHILDREN DO IT YOU SELF

Room Tip: Ask for clean front facing 300's
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mro4su
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arklow hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Had a night away with the missus here a few weeks ago. Overall quite nice - friendly helpful staff, good location within the town and good parking. We didnt use the swimming pool / leisure centre but it looks very nice. Found the room to be quite small though comfortable and nothing wrong with it. Bed was comfy and we got a peaceful nights sleep - always important in my opinion.

The real down-side was the food. After looking at the menu we opted for bar food which was OK but very overpriced. Gourmet prices for good, not great, food. Breakfast next morning was was pretty standard fare - good selection of options though. Shame about the negatives I mentioned but overall we enjoyed it and would return again. Next time though I think we'll go find a Restaurant in Arklow town for Dinner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked a family weekend and were not disappointed. The facilities were very good. Staff were so helpful - there was a bit of a mix up with our room to begin with, but they worked hard to sort this out and then looked after us with free wine at dinner! Great spot if you have children - they will have plenty of company. The room was perfectly adequate - I can see there are some areas of the hotel more recently refurbished than others, but the bar and reception area are lovely. Entertainment was pretty good too. Very relaxing all round.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room in the main part of the hotel - they seem to be more recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kram3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
7.0 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
32.4 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
37.8 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
32.2 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.9 km away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arklow Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arklow Bay Hotel

Property: Arklow Bay Hotel
Address: Sea Road | Arklow Town Centre, Arklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Arklow Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Arklow Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arklow Bay Hotel County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing