We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average 3 star hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arklow Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arklow Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average 3 star hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stay here once a year whilst attending an event in the area. Have eaten in the bar a few times and found it to be ok, if a tad expensive. Rooms have generally been ok. Did witness one resident complain about an odour in his room as I was checking in. The staff were most dismissive and unhelpful to him, but I did not experience this. I will stay here again only because of the convenience of the hotel for my requirements. I would not consider taking a break here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swordsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    187
    140
    84
    71
See reviews for
234
202
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights mid week break. There was a kids club in the hotel, so the place was full of children running about- not what we had hoped for! Staff were very friendly and helpful, and dinner at the bar was tasty.
However the mattress had a big hollow in it meaning we left with very sore backs :( Breakfast was tasty enough although the plates at the hot buffet were all cold ( a pet hate of mine).Signs in the breakfast room read: 'Please supervise your children at all times' and 'pyjamas are not to be worn in the public areas of the hotel' Very disappointing considering the price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BitsyMcMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arklow hotels

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed in the Arklow Bay hotel last friday I really liked it!

The staff on reception were very friendly and approachable, always willing to help with any questions and suggest places to go, or ring taxis whatever we needed! In particular an Irish Blonde lady who was working Friday night who suggested a few places to go for a drink and eat. We had to ring reception and the phone was answered very fast and our questions answered professionally and in a friendly manner which is always important in my opinion as a fellow hotel receptionist.

The location is lovely only a few minutes walk to the town centre which is also lovely!

The rooms were nice, lovely view of the sea and river out our window. bed was nice and comfy with four pillows and a nice heavy blanket. The window opened nice and wide for loads of fresh air but the floor was very low. The decor was nice and modern. The negatives about the room was the bathroom, They had old fashioned baths with no electric showers and the water wasn't as hot as I would have liked! The shower curtain wasn't wide enough to stop the water going into the floor. However the bathroom was spotless clean. Television was desperate! Only a couple of channels to choose from and no option to purchase digital or films and the sound was quite bad on most of them!

One negative about the whole night was the room was freezing,even with the window closed for hours. The room had no electric heating system only a radiator with a bogey handle! we rang reception twice to ask how to use it and both times a housekeeper came up to check the rad was actually turned on (which it was!) and assured us the heating would come on soon but as we were going out for the night it still wasn't on and we mentioned it to the receptionist and she again assured us it would be fixed when we came back but it wasn't and we were freezing going to sleep. I was too embarrassed to ask again! When we were leaving the room the next morning the rad finally started working! Walls were very thin also and we could hear people talking all night but this was to be expected as there was some kind of ball on that night in the hotel.

Apart from these details I really liked the hotel and will be going back :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlow, ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Found this hotel to be a very pleasent stay... The rooms are clean and functional, if a little dated in decor and the room service was excellent. The view was less than portrayed on the website but does still have a lovely stroll way along the beach front. The breakfasts were average, fine but nothing of note. The dinner in Howard's Restaraunt was impeccible, flawless and left us weanting for nothing. A definte full marks on the dinner. The staff in general were always helpful and friendly. A close walk to a good shopping centre and all of the town's amenities. Glendalough is a 40 minute drive, and well worth a visit. Would definately stay in this hotel again as overall it was relaxing a good value for money!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheerykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

A really pleasant hotel with a nice indoor swimming pool.

The hotel itself is about a 10-15minutes walk from town. The town of Arklow is quite small, but there are some great pubs and bars.

Would not hesitate to revisit if we were back in the area.

From Dublin on the train to Arklow was about an hour. The walk from Arklow station to the hotel was about 30 minutes.

Room Tip: If you request a smoking room, they put you in a room with a balcony at the front of the hotel overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_and_Jean_Crewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arklow
6.9 km away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
32.4 km away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
37.8 km away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
32.2 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.9 km away
The Royal Hotel Arklow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arklow Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arklow Bay Hotel

Property: Arklow Bay Hotel
Address: Sea Road | Arklow Town Centre, Arklow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Arklow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Arklow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Arklow Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Arklow Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arklow Bay Hotel County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing