We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Lawless Hotel(Aughrim)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
309
251
94
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
251
94
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelgolf coursewoodenbridge golf clubwooden bridgeoldest hotelresidents loungebeautiful locationbar foodoverlooking the riverboth nightsold stylenext morningold world charmthree starsingle bedirish hospitalitystayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
605 - 610 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

just back from a "Falconry weekend" and it was a wonderful, would thoroughly recommend it even to people who don't think they would be interested.The two lads giving the experience were very informative and made it a great morning.
We were given a lunch to take with us by the Hotel which was very nice.The room was clean,bed comfortable,and the view spectacular.We went to Tinahealy and did the railway walk.Dinner was superb and breakfast the following morning was excellent. A walk to Avoca and back finished a perfect weekend.All the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerobrien, General Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your excellent review, and I'm glad your stay was an enjoyable one. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Regards,
Gerard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We got married here 6 years ago and we returned to the Woodenbridge for New Year 2012 with a group a friends who all came from Scotland because we were going back! It was great as always - the New Year Gala Dinner was traditional but lots of fun, conga @ 12.01 etc - all good! Hospitality great, perfect cleanliness and great food. Very cosy and welcoming hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Lodge which is lovely and airy and some rooms have views over the river - I really likied it but the main hotel is great and has wonderful views!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sinead_OShea, Front Office Manager at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the New Year Gala Dinner. Details of this years event shall be available shortly! We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Sinéad O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Great Hotel, Lovely staff, No Problems with this hotel, can be recommednded

Room Tip: Cannot really comment, as wouldnt be sure.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back here soon. Enjoy the rest of your retirement trip, you’ve earned it!
Regards,
Sinéad O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Woodenbridge Hotel. Everything in the hotel was immaculate, the room was perfect, good size and cleaned every day. The food in the restaurant and the bar was delicious, lots of variety. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is perfect, while it is easy to get to from the motorway, it seems a million miles away when you get there. The walks from the hotel are amazing, there is a footpath from the hotel to the Meeting of the Waters, but you can stray off the beaten track across the copper mines or other side roads which lead to amazing views. The hotel has retained its character which is lovely to see, it hasnt got carried away with bringing everything up to the modern standards. This would take away from the hotel. We will definetely be back.

Room Tip: Book the De Valera suite. Fantastic four poster bed.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for the wonderful comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and in particular the character of the hotel, as we believe this to be one of our strongest points. As a family run establishment, all of the staff have been with us for a number of years, and it really is a great lift to everybody when we receive such positive feedback. It’s a beautiful walk out to The Meeting of the Waters and out to the copper mines. Avoca had a strong mining tradition with copper mining as far back as 1720. In fact, the valley even made its own gold coins, samples of which can be seen in the National Museum in Dublin. There are plenty more interesting walks in the area so we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Regards,
Sinéad O’Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends. Had a great time there, all the staff were very friendly. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerobrien, Reservations at Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay here and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Regards,
Sinéad O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews