We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff in a characterless location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Whites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I am frequently here for business reasons. One thing I felt compelled to note on this occasion was just how spectacularly rude, unfriendly and slow the staff are at the coffee dock. It is an accomplishment to find staff this rude. Either the hotel just makes their staff miserable or they are lousy at hiring. I have stayed in other Claytons & Maldrons where this isn't the case.

My recommendation is AVOID, AVOID, AVOID.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robespierre1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayton_whites_hotel, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it’s apparent in this case we fell short, I will speak with our HR manager and issue re-training as this is not the standard we strive to achieve. Thank you for your feedback and bringing this to my attention.

Hopefully we will see you back soon and in the meantime, thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Joe O'Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 1,598 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
66
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have stayed in the hotel for 2 nights mid-August. The hotel room was pretty standard, furniture may need a little upgrade. We've had a lovely view on the sea, our room was pretty much quiet. We have had a dinner in the restaurant during the 1st night of our stay. The food and service was very good. We had to book a table as it was very busy. Even though the restaurant was packed, the service was good and fast. Cocktails in the bar weren't bad, but weren't the best. Bar food was okay. One thing I was a little disappointed with was the accommodation service. Our towels haven't been changed but folded and thrown back in the corner of the bathroom. We have also left a sign on the door saying "please do not disturb" supplied in the room, yet one of the ladies walked in anyways and walked out when she heard us. The bathroom may also need a little upgrade (the shower). Wasn't impressed but wasn't completely disappointed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayton_whites_hotel, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was happy to read you enjoyed you stay with us. I will look into the issue you mention regarding housekeeping, thank you for bringing this to my attention. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Kind regards Joe O'Brien General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Stayed two nights in this hotel as a group - upgraded our room at a cost of 30 Euro a night; for which we received..........an extra single bed??!! We were travelling as a couple??!! No water in the room! We paid 3.10 extra for thar privelage! After two nights we felt like we visited every night club and heard every busker in the area - the noise was that bad (room 511). The breakfast - I looked but didn't touch - looked dried up and unappetising. The chairs in the bar were stained some even had ripped upholstery, there was one which had a vile smell, the Capet was stained and disgusting. I would have complained when checking out but not once was I asked "how was your stay" - staff were not too friendly!!

Room Tip: Room 511 was noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayton_whites_hotel, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Paula,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Clayton Whites Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests. I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points mention in your review, especially the problem you experienced in your room and the poor service you received as a result. This is level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.

Hopefully we will see you back and in the meantime, thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Have just enjoyed a 3 day break in this hotel. The Hotel is ideally situated in the town of Wexford close to shops etc.
The Hotel itself is excellent with amazing friendly staff. Our breakfasts and evening dinners in the Dining room were so tasty and the Staff here were really excellent.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable and a good size. Carpet on some of the corridors could do with replacing or cleaning but this did not take anything away from our enjoyable stay here.
The staff in this hotel are really excellent especially the Dining room staff. Can't wait to make a return visit

.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank carburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayton_whites_hotel, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. Do checkout our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Joe O'Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

75e for the night . Was on a Sunday. Roast carvery was ok cost nearly 19e for full.and half carvery . Partner got bottle of kopperberg 6.50!!!!!! You're having a laugh you wouldn't pay that in Dublin ! . Plus youve to pay a discounted charge for using there car park ???? Room had an ashtray in it and carpet had burn holes and was filthy . Also one pillows had something on it . Very disappointed I expected a lot more from a clayton hotel .I don't usually put up.nrgatibe reviews but had to . Will not be returning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clayton_whites_hotel, General Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Mark,

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our housekeeping staff to ensure this won't happen again.
With relation to car parking, while we would love to offer this complimentary to residents, the cost of providing such a large and convenient facility are high, and we pay the highest commercial rates in Co.Wexford. While some hotels incorporate the car parking cost into their room prices, as we have a large proportion of guests who travel to the hotel by public transport, we made the decision to have a small separate car parking charge for those who use it. We kept this to a minimum with a charge of €4 per day for hotel residents.

Kind regards, Joe O'Brien General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.7 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,713 reviews
3.1 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
0.7 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,991 reviews
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
871 reviews
18.8 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: €75 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing