We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Whites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wexford
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here during the Wexford Opera Festival which is no doubt their busiest time of year. Room was adequate and food lovely. The service and staff were second to none, particularly the chef at the carvery and the bar tender in the residents bar. Thanks and well done to all.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank KayemdeeDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Room was very comfortable, breakfast next morning very good. One drawback was the bar, early evening, plenty of bar staff, yet I was left waiting for service, later on in residence bar (same bar), night porter is not a barman. But I would be very happy to stay here again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Stayed here on a business trip and apparently because it was a last minute booking I received one of the rooms that had not yet been renovated. This may well have been the worst hotel room I have ever stayed at in my life. The heating unit didn't work and the carpet in the room was down right filthy; just awful. The shower backed up because the drain was so slow, it eventually backed up so far that it was wetting the carpet outside the bathroom. Of the 15 people that stayed here for this trip I was the only one that apparently had this terrible experience which is why this is not a 1 star review.
On the positive side the lounge was great and the bartenders/servers were fantastic. Just enough to cheer me up each night before I went to my abysmal room. Will never return here, ever.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Calimar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whites969, Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2017

Dear Calimar,

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback. I was naturally very disappointed to hear of your poor experience during your most recent stay at Clayton White Hotel. I would very much welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in our hotel and would encourage you to get in touch with me directly so I can do something to make up for your disappointment on this occasion.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Joe O'Brien
General Manager
jobrien@claytonhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Booked a 2 night break for my wife & when we arrived to find out that a third night had been booked for us to our surprise by a close family member. The room was fab as always clean, comfortable & spacious. Love the beds & get such a great sleep when staying. We tend to avail of the bar food which is always spot on & reasonably priced, the only thing I would say is that they have Peroni on draught :(

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marcharris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

My two daughters and I went for a sweedish back massage in Clayton Whites Tranquility Spa in Wexford today a Christmas gift. It was brilliant and top marks to the staff from the receptionist to Shiela who was looking after me. She was just brilliant. The girls and I had an hour in the thermal suite and then our massage and then a beverage and fresh fruit in the relaxation room. It was so relaxing a real treat. Thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.7 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 5 in Wexford
1,665 reviews
3.1 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.2 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wexford
426 reviews
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
853 reviews
18.8 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
Price Range: €82 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing