We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Whites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wexford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

This hotel is beautiful and its also quiet so you can unwind and relax have a few cocktails in the bar or enjoy a nice meal in the restraint...the rooms were very nice very well kept the bed was rely comfy the location is perfect for shopping and nightlife the staff were very pleasant you also have free access to the leisure center the meal was very nice i ordered the steak cooked on lava rock not relisen i had to cook it my self so i sent it back to the kitchen and the chef cooked it for me i stayed 3 nights in this hotel and relly enjoyed every min of it...i will be returning in august

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitesofWexford, Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Lynn R,

Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel here at Whites of Wexford. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts on your experience.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the cocktails in the Library Bar, the Hot Rock steak is not for everyone; at least our chefs cooked it to your liking instead of you cooking for yourself!
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    466
    237
    113
    75
See reviews for
311
602
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed in whites hotel last weekend and enjoyed it very much. We were upgraded on arrival
and had dinner on sat night which was excellent. There was a great buzz about the place. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend Whites hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THERESE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitesofWexford, Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear THERESE3,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel here at Whites of Wexford. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay particularly the staff, Terrace Restaurant & the atmosphere.
We look forward to your next stay and wish you well until then.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner and I had been staying in the Talbot hotel and decided to try the bar food in Whites as we had heard it was good. The library bar was busy on arrival and staff were friendly. My partner chose the fillet steak cooked on stone at the table while I opted for the fish and chips. How can one get fish and chips wrong I ask but the fish was soggy and not crisp nor tasty. In my opinion it was nooked in a microwave. As for my partner, she chose more wisely and enjoyed her meal. I would return and would possibly like to stay in the Hotel if we ever do go back to Wexford. It was most likely a bad choice on my part. I didn't complain either and (SHE) said partner says there is no point in complaining to her!! Guess she is correct!!!

Room Tip: Re bar food, if not satisfied let them know!!! That way they have an oppertunity to fix things!!! Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totallyrelaxaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitesofWexford, Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Totallyrelaxaed,

Thank you for taking the time to review you meal in our bar recently. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the fish, I would advise you in future that you should have mentioned it to one of our staff and we could have changed it or offered you an alternative dish. We always try our best to ensure each and every guest leaves the hotel happy and satisfied. On a positive note I am glad to read your partner enjoyed the Hot Rock Fillet Steak.
We hope you will not let this incident deter you from returning to our hotel, we do hope to welcome you back should you choose to stay in Wexford in the future.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

usually with a deal for the over 55's the hotel menu is a set one for the evening meal. White's hotel allows the visitor to select from the menu that an ordinary punter can avail of.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stayed in Whites for 3 nights. It is a great hotel, great location and lovely bar/foyer/reception area. Bedrooms are very comfortable, air conditioning works well. We didnt eat in the hotal as there is super restaurants nearby but we had breakfast each morning. Breakfast was good, lovely pastries, cereals and fresh fruit but the hot breakfasts were a little disappointing, the food didnt seem to be great quality and it was cooked along time before eating, a hard balance to get right in a big hotel I know. Staff were very helpful, I had problems with a hairdryer and they brought me a proper hairdryer for me to use. It was very busy while we were there so obviously is popular. Overall a very good hotel... Very good swimming pool too...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanbobjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitesofWexford, Manager at Clayton Whites Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear hanbobjul,

Many thanks for your recent review, we appreciate you taking the time to review us here at Whites of Wexford. Glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, I will have our Head Chef review our hot breakfast offering, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Paul Mernagh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wexford
0.7 km away
Talbot Wexford
Talbot Wexford
#4 of 6 in Wexford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
3.1 km away
Whitford House Hotel Health and Leisure Club
3.2 km away
Ferrycarrig Hotel
Ferrycarrig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferrycarrig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Riverbank House Hotel
Riverbank House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wexford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
3.4 km away
Maldron Hotel Wexford
Maldron Hotel Wexford
#1 of 1 in Barntown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
18.8 km away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Whites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Whites Hotel

Property: Clayton Whites Hotel
Address: Abbey Street, Wexford, Ireland (Formerly Whites of Wexford)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Wexford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wexford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wexford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wexford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Whites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The southeast is famous for the quality of its hotels, and no name stands out more than Clayton Whites Hotel. With a history dating back as far as the 18th century, the current hotel is a unique blend of tradition and modernity, whose modern facade and facilities serve as a gateway into luxury and style.Because of its size, its sumptuous banqueting and its unparalleled facilities, Clayton Whites Hotel has become a favourite venue for large events, from corporate functions to weddings. Facilities include 157 luxury bedrooms, suites or standard rooms which are newly refurbished and have walk-in showers, some of which have restricted views. Dining forms an important part of the offering at Clayton Whites Hotel, with wine and dine options available throughout the day from the Lobby Coffee Dock, the Library Bar or the Terrace Restaurant overlooking the hotel's courtyard. Fine food created with fresh, locally sourced ingredients and a pleasant ambience can be found throughout the dining areas of the hotel. The Tranquillity Spa, Leisure Centre and High Performance Centre exist to provide the ultimate in relaxation and wellbeing to guests. The Spa comprises of nine treatment rooms with over forty different treatments and a magnificent thermal suite. Treatments at Tranquillity also include manicures, pedicures, make up and hot towel shaves for the gentlemen. The hotel is a town centre location and is the ideal base for exploring historic Wexford town and the Sunny South East!At Clayton Whites Hotel, there is something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Whites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whites Of Wexford Hotel Wexford
Whites Hotel Wexford
Wexford Hotel Whites
Whites Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing