We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Over-rated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenacres

Greenacres
Ranked #9 of 137 Restaurants in Wexford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Greenacres is located in Selskar in the heart of Wexford town. Selskar is one of the oldest trading areas in Leinster with a history which can be traced through Cromwellian and Norman times. Greenacres now incorporates retail, a selection of exceptional wines, and homemade food and artisanal cheese. A spacious Art Galleries with Contemporary Irish art and sculpture, A Relaxed dining in a unique atmosphere, that is Greenacres Restaurant.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Had heard a lot about this place and went there for lunch.

The food was decent but with very small portions and really not worth the high prices.

Good atmosphere and service though.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thefinestthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesgoconnor, Public Relations Manager at Greenacres, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you took the time to visit us. We use all comments to help us improve our service and we will certainly do this in this case.
Thank you again,
julie@greenacres.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    133
    79
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Coffee to go.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Best coffee in wexford, warm but not hot, great taste.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulvida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Was recommended to go and have a meal at the Greenacres Bistro and I can tell you it was outstanding cuisine. French style cooking and a vast storage and choice of wine from around the world.
Service was excellent all night.

I highly recommend this bistro.

Wonderful food and atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank royst1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“World class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Loved the atmosphere, sophisticated and stylish. Disliked nothing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel organiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thanks a million, glad you enjoyed the experience.


Sincerely Yours
James@greenacres.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We made a special trip to Wexford to visit Greenacres so were really looking forward to our night. The restaurant is so impressive when you walk in, the decor and lay out is fabulous. Unfortunately the experience went down hill from here. The service was particularly poor. There was very few in the restaurant on the night we were there so that is was not a factor. Our greeting upon entering the restaurant was a sign, it was well...there was none, the Waiter approached us, walked around us and mumbled something and attended another table. We had to ask for a wine list, our starters were served before an order for wine was even taken. This was surprising given the walls of the restaurant are flanked with 100's of bottles of wine! Towards the end of our meal that we were all made feel slightly uncomfortable, as if we were keeping the staff from going somewhere- they were shuffling around the top of the restaurant just waiting for us to leave (it was approx 10.30pm/10.45pm on a Friday night) During the meal, I could also see one of the waiters eating a bowl of something at the top of the resturant which looked and is extremely unprofessional. The general athmosphere was also poor, no background music, there was a coldness to the place which was not improved by the unfriendly staff.

The food was ok - it was not bad just ok and was not very hot. We had the pork and Fillet steak which was good. The T Bone steak was cooked well but smothered in sauce which took away from both the flavour and taste of the meat. The monkish was adequate.
The bill was our biggest surprise of the night - completely over priced for the quality of the experience. The venue is lovely but everything else is lacking considerably. Overall we were left with a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chiefernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesgoconnor, Owner at Greenacres, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for your recent comments in relation to Greenacres.
The way in which you were catered for during your recent visit is disappointing to say the least.
It was certainly not up to the standard that we expect from our staff. For this I offer profuse apologies. When people travel any distance whether short or long, they should be looked after with better attention than that which was offered to you and your group.
We take all comments that are sent to us, whether positve or critical, very seriously. You can be most assured that the points of view that you have taken the time to make to us, will be fully discussed with all members of staff.
If you are kind enough to visit us again, we will endeavor to make sure that you are looked after properly the next time you come to Greenacres.

Sincerely.

James@greenacres.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenacres also viewed

Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 
Wexford, County Wexford
Wexford, County Wexford
 

Been to Greenacres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing