We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Clifford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clifford House
Ranked #1 of 16 Rosslare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed at Clifford House for one night after sailing from Fishguard. As we arrived at the bungalow we all commented on how clean and tidy it looked. The rooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. My sister said she had never tasted mushroom like it before and the homemade soda bread was delicious. After we told Margaret how good it was she brought out another plateful. would definately go back again.

Room Tip: very quiet and peaceful
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkyp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Clifford House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2011

We arrived late and were welcomed coolly, but with the offer of tea/coffee once we had apologised. The heat had been turned off in our room as they were no longer expecting us to turn up, but it warmed up quickly, was comfortable and very clean. It was a nice size too – if we had been staying longer, it would have made a pleasant place to relax. It was a cold, horrible night and there was an open fire in the TV room. As we were the only guests, we turned off the TV to enjoy the peace and quiet, but there is an alternative, very nice sitting room when the place is busier if you want to escape the modern world. After the awkwardness of the initial welcome we were made to feel very much at home. The house itself is beautiful – old but impeccably decorated and maintained, and the fantastic paintings throughout add interest. They have made the most of their location on the hilltop, with landscaped gardens that show off the sea view. In warmer weather, it would be a fine place to enjoy the great outdoors. There was a shower rather than a bath in our room, but again, it was very clean and the bathroom was nicely decorated. During the night and in the morning our room and bathroom were freezing – we had an early start and getting out of the very comfortable bed was a struggle. There might be an argument for having the heat on all night in December/January… Breakfast was quick as we were heading for the boat but lovely, and a highchair was supplied for our little boy without being requested – very thoughtful. We would definitely stay again, and it is nice enough to be a base for a longer stay than a single night. However, if we were running late, we would ring, as it is a family-run B&B and they are entitled to expect consideration from those who stay with them.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Speenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed one night at Clifford House on our return journey to the UK. This was a very comfortable B&B, tastefully decorated but not at all fussy, and Margaret was an excellent host. Our room was lovely, had everything we needed, and the breakfast was delicious. We had to catch an early morning ferry to Fishguard - when I asked Margaret about getting a taxi, she very kindly offered to drive us to the ferry terminal herself.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kneably
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

After a week on a boat a perfect place for great hospitality and comfort. Margaret truly knows how to make one feel welcome. Irish hospitality at it's best

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Have just spent 5 nights at Clifford House as part of a longer trip around Ireland and the UK. Booked this B&B on the basis of other reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We had a lovely room with a sea view and were very comfortable during our stay. Margaret and Micheal are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. A lovely touch was the offer of tea/coffee on arrival and fresh milk delivered every afternoon to our room. Breakfast was plentiful and well-cooked, and there was also yoghurt, delicious local strawberries, as well as Margaret's scrumptious home-baked brown bread - yum! We were able to walk along the cliff path to a couple of hotels for drinks and dinner, though avoided the Harbour View after our first dinner there as we were not impressed either by the food or the service (plessant enough but very disorganised). If we find ourselves around Rosslare again we would happily return to Clifford House.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJSCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rosslare hotels
4.6 km away
Hotel Rosslare
Hotel Rosslare
#4 of 5 in Rosslare
281 reviews
10.9 km away
Best Western Rosslare Danby Lodge Hotel
0.0 km away
Churchtown House
Churchtown House
#1 of 1 in Tagoat
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Kelly's Resort Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Ferryport House
Ferryport House
#6 of 16 in Rosslare
101 reviews
5.8 km away
Archways
Archways
#1 of 3 in Tagoat
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifford House

Address: ROSSLARE HARBOUR | CO. WEXFORD, Rosslare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Rosslare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Rosslare
Price Range: €69 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clifford House was built in 1898 as a Victorian summer house set in beautiful landscaped gardens overlooking the Irish sea.. The house is family run and has a lovely relaxed ambiance as you arrive. It has undergone extensive refurbishment to an exceptionally high standard. . The owners Michéal and Margaret have sympathetically combined the traditional old-world style of the house with the very latest in quality and design, providing guests with a unique blend of comfort and style in one of the most beautiful corners of South East Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clifford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifford House Rosslare, County Wexford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing