We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Expedia.com
US$117
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Vio.com
US$108
View deal
Hotels.comUS$117
PricelineUS$123
HurbUS$129
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
262
123
66
35
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
262
123
66
35
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews met bar car park is very small the penthouse lovely hotel lovely night stayed for nights central location clean hotel spacious rooms buffet breakfast bar food staff were lovely visiting waterford the room was nice food was lovely duty manager a lovely stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2022

We choose this hotel as it had free parking. On arrival we drove around the tiny car park twice trying to find a space, my husband went up to reception to check and was told it clearly states on the website there is only a limited number of spaces, we had booked through hotels.com where there was no mention of this. The receptionist suggested we try another part of the car park marked private - no spaces there either so ended up parking on the street, not ideal, especially after wasting so much time! We also spoke to the manager about it but he didn't seem bothered. It may well be hotels.com responsibility and not the hotels to make the parking situation clearer online but I felt the staff could be more helpful and apologetic rather than defensive and dismissive.
The shower in the bathroom had very little power, there was only one flat pillow per person, the sheets felt very worn.
The bar staff were great.
Overall not a 4* star hotel and wouldn't return as there are ample other options available.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fionnuala Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mr Geoff Dawson Dawson, General Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2022

Hello reviewer,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry you were unable to find parking on your arrival however it does state on hotels.com and our own website that parking is limited. When the car park is full, there is little more we can do other than direct our guests to the nearby options which are a brief 2 minute stroll from the hotel and are very reasonably priced @ €4.60 for 24 hours. I am sorry your room was not up to standard also. There are extra pillows supplied in each bedrooms wardrobe area and again am sorry if you were unable to locate these. I am disappointed to see you would not return to the Fitzwilton Hotel though will pass your comments to our wonderful bar staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay and apologies once more we fell short of your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Geoff Dawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay in the Fitzwilton Hotel. This was our 4th stay in this hotel and our 2nd with the kids in tow. This is a hidden gem in the heart of Waterford city. The standard of rooms in the hotel are second to none. This time we given the fabulously spacious room 201, which is a corner room and ample space for a family of 4.
We ate in the bar both nights, even though it was very busy, the staff were attentive & could not do enough for us. The food as always was excellent. Breakfast was included and had to booked which was great as we knew we wouldn’t have to wait for a table. Staff in the breakfast room were excellent too and happy to help with extra orders etc.
What really makes this hotel special to us is the staff, who are the real asset, nothing is a problem for them especially during covid times & all covid procedures are being followed stringently by this hotel. All in all, another fantastic experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel, we will be back (again)!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wendydowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mr Geoff Dawson Dawson, General Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hello Wendy,

Happy New Year to you and yours. We were as always delighted to welcome you and your family back to the Fitzwilton Hotel for your post Christmas getaway. Thank you for your very kind feedback on your stay which I will certainly relay to all of our wonderful team members here. Thank you also for your appreciation of how our team are doing everything we can to keep our guests and each other safe during these times. We look very much forward to welcoming you all back sooner than later.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Geoff Dawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and it was perfect, room was spacious with everything we needed. The staff were all really nice and helpful. Fantastic breakfast on both mornings and we also had dinner there and it was excellent. Thanks to all the staff who made our visit so wonderful. Will look forward to staying there again.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mr Geoff Dawson Dawson, General Manager at Fitzwilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hello Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Fitzwilton Hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed it so much and will certainly be passing your kind words to all concerned at the Fitzwilton Hotel. It is great to see you are looking forward to visiting again and we equally look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Geoff Dawson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

I want to thank the Fitzwilton Hotel for such welcoming reception for hosting my birthday dinner on the 6th November '21. We arrived to a table well set. As we enjoyed our drinks and chats, it was a very pleasing atmosphere. All meals were perfectly served, from the preparation to presentation. I had medium well Sirloin Steak which was wonderful and juicy. Many thanks to Machi (waitress). She handled everything with efficiency and attention. Please give our thanks to the Manager(s) for the extra touch. We really had a great unforgettable birthday dinner. Will be coming for more night outs in the future.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bella_Sebata
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

We stayed one night on the Netflix and mix package. Parking is to the side of the hotel with only a handful of spaces. We were lucky enough to get a single space on its own as they are very narrow not made for an SUV. The girls on checkin where great and efficient. The room was comfortable and being able to stream was so handy. The hotel is on a busy enough road but with the window closed you don't take any notice after awhile. There was some small over sights from here on our bin hadn't been emptied from the previous guests, with the Netflix package it included a pizza and wings (which both were lovely and quickly delivered) delivered to the room with 4 beers, we asked for 2 glass with ice these were not brought with the food the person said they would be right back with them they didn't return and lastly about an hour after getting the food I was grabbing a bottle of beer when I noticed it had a coke cap clearly meaning this bottle had been opened before with the times we are in wasn't very hygienic or safe once we got to speak to someone in the bar they came up and replaced it but asked in a manor for the other bottle that would lead to think that it was being made up. Breakfast in the morning is self serve, lots of food sitting on the pass it might be better to top it up little and often.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mairead0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews