We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
US$117
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveller rating
257
164
93
37
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
164
93
37
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszaks restaurantacross the riverwaterford citylovely hotellarge roomevening mealminute drivefull irishsaturday nightvisiting waterfordcar parkstanirelandsuirtelevision
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 577 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I'm not to sure where to start other than we were blown away by the excellence of the food we received.
We arrived late in Waterford and asked a local where would be good to eat at 10pm.
Arriving at Athenaeum, we were greeted with the grandeur of the hotel.
We sat down and looked at the menu and immediately did the maths.... The 3 course meal would definitely be the most economical decision for us.
Boy were we not sorry!
From the foie gras starters to duck mains and some of the most incredible desserts ive ever tasted (the brownie was my best) we were just in awe of the amazing food we had.

Thank you for the great service and the even better food.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the 3 course meal
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Spent one night here when visiting Waterford and really liked it. It's a decent hotel. Our room was very nice, really quiet, comfortable and clean. Seemed to be newly done up. It was a large room. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good-full Irish, the continental selection was small enough but it's just an extra to whatever you order off the menu (porridge, pancakes, full irish). Overall we were very happy with our stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The restaurant of this hotel is of a good standard, the staff friendly, welcoming and attentive but our room was disappointing.
It was poorly lit, had dark wall coverings which did not help and had a TV which could not easily be viewed from the bed.
The bed was comfortable enough and the ensuite bathroom was fairly modern.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I differ on our view of this hotel. "3" may be a little harsh but "4" would be too high

Firstly, this is not in my opinion, a "boutique" hotel, although I accept perhaps 10 years ago it could have been described as so

Bedding was quite worn / dated, the CD player in the room had its aerial wrapped round it, a rusting towel rail / radiator, no room safe, yellows and browns are now dated colours, and I believe the reading light was not working - ok,arguably these are all trivial but a boutique hotel has to keep up to date (the House Hotel in Galway where we stayed later was great / is a good example).

Potential guests may want to bear in mind that the location of the hotel is the "wrong" side of the river and so it is a half hour walk to the main part of the city.

On the positive, dinner in the hotel was very good / recommended and our room (315) was large

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Met up with 4 friends for lunch. The sun was shining so we sat outside, with coffee, on the decking looking down to the river. Went inside for lunch which was lovely, lovely salads, open sandwiches and fresh desserts. Finished our afternoon with more coffees out side. The staff were lovely and attentive and there was no pressure on us to leave. A beautiful and unique setting. Great to have a hotel with an outdoor seating that isn't at the side of a road.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Sinead W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews