We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 18 September 2017

My family and I stayed here overnight. This is a fabulous hotel, hidden away down a lane way. Everything about the hotel is perfect. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.n
The rooms are a little old fashioned but in perfect keeping with the age of the house. The rooms are unusually big and can easily accommodate extra beds for children.
The gardens, though small are very pretty and well kept.
The food in the restaurant was amazing and well priced. There was a full menu for children, which was a nice change from chicken nuggets and chips!
Check out is at 11am, but there is plenty of time to organise that after a hearty breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Maire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

I'm not to sure where to start other than we were blown away by the excellence of the food we received.
We arrived late in Waterford and asked a local where would be good to eat at 10pm.
Arriving at Athenaeum, we were greeted with the grandeur of the hotel.
We sat down and looked at the menu and immediately did the maths.... The 3 course meal would definitely be the most economical decision for us.
Boy were we not sorry!
From the foie gras starters to duck mains and some of the most incredible desserts ive ever tasted (the brownie was my best) we were just in awe of the amazing food we had.

Thank you for the great service and the even better food.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the 3 course meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Darryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Spent one night here when visiting Waterford and really liked it. It's a decent hotel. Our room was very nice, really quiet, comfortable and clean. Seemed to be newly done up. It was a large room. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good-full Irish, the continental selection was small enough but it's just an extra to whatever you order off the menu (porridge, pancakes, full irish). Overall we were very happy with our stay here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The restaurant of this hotel is of a good standard, the staff friendly, welcoming and attentive but our room was disappointing.
It was poorly lit, had dark wall coverings which did not help and had a TV which could not easily be viewed from the bed.
The bed was comfortable enough and the ensuite bathroom was fairly modern.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Newbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I differ on our view of this hotel. "3" may be a little harsh but "4" would be too high

Firstly, this is not in my opinion, a "boutique" hotel, although I accept perhaps 10 years ago it could have been described as so

Bedding was quite worn / dated, the CD player in the room had its aerial wrapped round it, a rusting towel rail / radiator, no room safe, yellows and browns are now dated colours, and I believe the reading light was not working - ok,arguably these are all trivial but a boutique hotel has to keep up to date (the House Hotel in Galway where we stayed later was great / is a good example).

Potential guests may want to bear in mind that the location of the hotel is the "wrong" side of the river and so it is a half hour walk to the main part of the city.

On the positive, dinner in the hotel was very good / recommended and our room (315) was large

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.4 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,227 reviews
1 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
2.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
1.5 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
0.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €62 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing