We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Reviewed 25 June 2017

If your object is to sleep on a comfortable bed, go somewhere else! We were given two broken down twin beds that sagged badly. The ceiling had paint peeling off and the bathroom tiles were about the same. There is no air conditioning or fans.
If you are there for a nice meal only, this will do nicely.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porchmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Have gone here twice with different groups of friends for afternoon tea and found it amazing on both occasions. The staff were very friendly and courteous. The selection of food including open sandwiches, scones and cakes were lovely and there was more than enough to go around. The dining area is lovely and over looking the gardens and we sat and chatted enjoying the surroundings for as long as we wanted. We all agreed that the quality of food on offer was second to none and really good value. Will definetly visit again and would have no hesitation in recommending afternoon tea here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sloane1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely place in quiet and peaceful location, yet very close to Waterford city centre. The food was a foodie's dream come through! The staff were helpful, friendly and welcoming. The rooms may be a little bit run down, but they're clean and the garden is beautiful. Sincerely recommend it, unless you're not in to authentic stays.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kimpuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

One night stay. Friendly, attentive staff, lovely restaurant and bar, but our room was nothing special and a bit tired. Beds were well used with a sag in the middle. Overall quite clean with the exception of the caulk in the tub/shower that was black with mold. We tried every switch in the room, but could not get the blow dryer, which had a base that was bolted inside the dressing table drawer, to turn on. Just as a note, there is no AC and unlike many places we have stayed in Ireland had no tea or coffee pot. Finally, it looks like when they remodeled this house into a hotel, they did not give a lot of attention to detail. One set switches did not cover the hole in the wall for the electric and in the bathroom it was obvious that they used large tile boards rather than regular tiles because in some places the joints had gaps. Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again, but I also wouldn't tell anyone not to stay here. I did hear something about there being upgraded rooms available.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

We arrived on a sunday for one night, i paid for a room upgrade and got upgraded again!!, the room with a lovely view overlooked the back gardens and the river., Across the river you could see the waterford city lights in the nightime. The room was very spacious and quiet. We were there for our anniversary, we had a meal in the evening and got a nice surpise for dessert, i have been to waterford a few times and knew this was outside the city, it took us 25 mins to stroll to the centre of waterford (12e back in a taxi) the hotel was in a nice quiet area lovely location , just what we wanted

Room Tip: try upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank loughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.4 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,228 reviews
1 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,391 reviews
2.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
1.5 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
0.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €62 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing