We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Athenaeum House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Bray Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed on Thursday last. We loved the "country house" feel. We checked into a lovely sized bedroom with an excellent bathroom with shower. Before dinner we had drinks in a lovely comfortable room off the bar and dining room. While we ate our beautifully cooked and presented meal, we could see the lights of Waterford below but not a sound of cars or noise of any sort. Breakfast was also another triumph. Try the banana bread ! We both had freshly cooked ommelets. There was a great variety to choose from. We will defenitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolBrayIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    138
    80
    32
    20
See reviews for
74
278
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Website photos greatly flatter this place - expect something a LOT less swish. It is a dated, faded, lacklustre and basic hotel. We stayed in room 312 and were less than amused to find multiple stains on the bed cover, a large snot on the wall of the in-bath shower and a fair quantity of grime on the back of the door. The cleaning standards left a lot to be desired. Grout in the bathroom was a big give away too - it was filthy. Someone really needs to take a detergent and a bit of elbow grease to the place. How hard is it to clean a bathroom for goodness sake?
The breakfast was really just average. Not bad but certainly won't take your breath away. The dinner was good and the staff all excellent in fairness (particularly the waitress - Scottish perhaps?)
Parting shot was when checking out they didn't seem to realise that we had already paid for dinner. How can a place in this day and age not have such info centrally linked?!
Could be good but instead it's a bit of a time warp. Visitors to Waterford should also be aware that it's not exactly on the doorstep of the town centre. A taxi ride would be necessary.
Value for money? We paid €150 for a (very ordinary) room for two including breakfast and dinner. Good value but the place was simply unclean. You'll find a clean place for the same price elsewhere so overall I have to say no, not good value.
Just to clarify, I was not naively expecting 5 star luxury. I know it's pitched at a lower star level but a guest is still entitled to expect it to be clean.

Room Tip: Look up a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MrJoshuaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mailo P, Owner at Athenaeum House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear guest,
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We also appreciate your positive feedback regarding our food and service. We shall pass your comments on to our team (Yes Ollie is Scottish!).

We are sorry that you found our housekeeping standards to below par, we pride ourselves on high standards of cleanliness and were most shocked to read your comments. This matter has been discussed at length with our accommodation manager.

As your package included dinner, you should not have had to pay for your meal in the restaurant. This was an administration error by our restaurant team and we apologise for this. They have since been re-trained in dealing with different packages. Our restaurant manager assures us that this will not happen again.

Regarding our location, our hotel overlooks the city and we are a short taxi drive (1.5 miles) from the centre of the city. Our unique location allows guests to enjoy the best of both worlds, close to the hustle and bustle of the city, but guaranteed a peaceful night's sleep and a relaxing location.

We would love to welcome you back to Athenaeum House Hotel in the future, please contact us directly and we will ensure you have a wonderful stay.

Mailo Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Brilliant hotel so well nestled away,great value. rooms are so well laid out and well furinished. enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaneo1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My boyfriend and I took a weekend break to this lovely welcoming hotel. Drama from the onset as I had been bitten by an insect while at a wedding the previous day before we arrived which turned nasty. The ower who had checked us in was at hand with directions and information regarding medical help. He was very helpful and couldnt do enough for us. Once I got my insect bite sorted we began to really enjoy the delights of this hotel especially the fabulous dinner best we have had in a very long time dining out , our breakfast was also lovely and delivered to our room by very pleasant staff. The beautiful pictures painted by the owners wife were a joy to look at. We really enjoyed our stay and were sorry to leave this quiet and peaceful hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We organised a 2 day business seminar for approx 30 people at the Athenaeum House Hotel this week and we were delighted with our choice of location. The rooms and food were lovely and Stan and the staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.4 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
1.0 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
1.2 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
0.5 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum House Hotel

Property: Athenaeum House Hotel
Address: Christendom, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Waterford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#6 Family Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing