We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
from US$8.10
More Info
from US$11.50
More Info
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
690
203
44
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
690
203
44
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval museum guided tour wine cellar gold vestments great charter well worth a visit medieval times modern building henry viii on display bishop's palace entrance fee great insight oldest city own pace viking triangle interesting history
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

You can easily spend a couple of hours here. A very modern museum in respect of the presentations and it is easy to walk through the time, following the exibitions cronology. Audiovisuals are also good.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon Masol1,

Thank you for coming to visit the award winning Medieval Museum and for your very kind review, the team and I really appreciate such positive feedback which helps other visitors to come and visit us too!

I am not sure if you availed of the guided tour, which is included in the entrance fee, and is the best way to experience the museum. All of our guides, love to interact with our visitors, they have many stories and tales to tell that will bring the medieval history alive as you make your way through the Medieval Museum.

I do hope you get another opportunity to come and visit us in the near future.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderful historic detail, superb guide and you can easily lose a few hours sinking back to the past. Highly recommended

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank branmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon vranmac,

Many thanks for your feedback concerning your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, we really appreciate it and are delighted that you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on your lovely sentiments to our staff.

The best way to see and hear all about Waterford's medieval history is to avail of the guided tour, which is included in the entry fee and our professional guides have many wonderful, fun and interesting stories to tell about that period which appeals to both young and old visitors. Our guides tell the story of our medieval history and inform our visitors of what life was like in the medieval period in Waterford, Ireland's oldest city.

The award winning Medieval Museum is a very spacious museum, spread over three floors, with auditoriums to give people a better insight to the history laid out on each of the floors. The guided tour starts in the 'Undercrofts', the award winning Medieval Museum is the only medieval museum in Ireland and it is the only museum in Europe built over two national monuments, the 13th century Choristers' Hall and the 15th century Mayor's Wine Vault, built by Mayor James Rice. The tour will bring you to the top floor of the museum and then work there way down through the two floors where the medieval history of Waterford is laid out. The top floor explains all about 'Trade & Commerce' of the city during Medieval times and then the floor below explains and goes through all the 'Religious, Church and Political history' from that period. On each floor there is an audio presentation prior to entering each floor which gives you an overview of what your about to see and what part it plays in Waterford's history.

The two floors of fantastic artefacts, which are above the Choristers' Hall and the Mayors Wine vault include the Great Parchment Book of Waterford from 1350, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments' from 1468, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We visited yesterday with our 9 year old son. We were a bit late for the closest tour so tagged on 10 mins in. Our guide was Richie and he made the exhibits come to life. I hadn't realised the historical importance of Waterford but was left in no doubt. And possibly more challenging was keeping the interest of our son. He was enchanted with all the stories connected to the exhibits.
Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LilacGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon LilacGerber,

Many thanks for your feedback concerning your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, we really appreciate it and are so delighted that you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on your lovely sentiments to our staff.

The best way to see and hear all about Waterford's medieval history is to avail of the guided tour, as you did, which is included in the entry fee and our professional guides have many wonderful, fun and interesting stories to tell about that period which appeals to both young and old visitors. Our guides tell the story of our medieval history and inform our visitors of what life was like in the medieval period in Waterford, Ireland's oldest city. I am delighted you had a great tour with Richie - he is a wonderful guide and a wealth of knowledge!

The award winning Medieval Museum is a very spacious museum, spread over three floors, with auditoriums to give people a better insight to the history laid out on each of the floors. The guided tour starts in the 'Undercrofts', the award winning Medieval Museum is the only medieval museum in Ireland and it is the only museum in Europe built over two national monuments, the 13th century Choristers' Hall and the 15th century Mayor's Wine Vault, built by Mayor James Rice. The tour will bring you to the top floor of the museum and then work there way down through the two floors where the medieval history of Waterford is laid out. The top floor explains all about 'Trade & Commerce' of the city during Medieval times and then the floor below explains and goes through all the 'Religious, Church and Political history' from that period. On each floor there is an audio presentation prior to entering each floor which gives you an overview of what your about to see and what part it plays in Waterford's history.

The two floors of fantastic artefacts, which are above the Choristers' Hall and the Mayors Wine vault include the Great Parchment Book of Waterford from 1350, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments' from 1468, as you have noted in your review, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts.

It's great that you saw how wonderful the museum truly is, we are rated highly on TripAdvisor and have been awarded the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award three years in a row.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We called here on a very wet Easter Monday. The man on the desk was very friendly and he offered us discount on buying tickets for here and nearby Bishop's Palace. We availed of this. He said a guided tour had just started and we could join on. This was the disappointing part as we rushed down the stairs to find a guide but couldn't see one. We went back to the desk and told him. He went off to find a guide and located one on the top floor. We went up to her and joined on. She was so knowledgeable about everything and had a great sense of humour. However, I feel we missed out on alot of the guided tour and wished we'd been told to come back at a specific time. There was a range of viking tools, jewellery and weapons on display. My daughter's loved this bit especially the weaponry display. The man here was fantastic. He kitted the girls out in chain mail, Viking helmets and weapons. My husband and I felt he was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour too!! Overall this place was great to visit but a few smaller kids (under 10's) on our tour were restless. I think the tour is more suited to adults and older children.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank julesthereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon julesthereader,

Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to the award-winning Medieval Museum.

I am sorry that you missed some of the tour and hope that the reception tour gave you the option of joining the next available tour or participating in one that had begun, the choice was yours and I am sorry it may not have worked out perfectly. In any case, as with all Waterford Treasures tickets, your entrance ticket permits you to return and tour again, if you choose to do so.

I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed the tour and the guide and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

My boyfriend and I spent the Easter weekend in Waterford and we both agreed this was one of the highlights of our trip. We got a great introduction to the museum and its treasures from our tour-guide, Richard, and then spent another hour or so exploring the different floors and the wonderful gift shop. We would definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone visiting Waterford.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank multicoloured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good afternoon multicoloured,

Thank you for your very kind words about your visit to the award winning Medieval Museum and about our wonderful guide, Richard. He loves to bring the history alive with additional stories and tales that add to each of the historical artefacts.

We are so glad you would recommend Waterford too - the city really does have so much to offer!

We do hope we get to see you again in the near future.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews