We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way way to to spend a morning”

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$8.36*
and up
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum: Admission...
Ranked #3 of 67 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The magnificent curved facade of the warm butter-coloured stone building draws in the visitor. The eye-catching giant sculpture on the gable was inspired by a tiny 13th century belt mount found in Waterford. It is Ireland’s only purpose-built medieval museum and the only building on the island to incorporate two medieval chambers, the 13th century Choristers’ Hall and the 15th century Mayor’s Wine Vault. Don't miss the stunning Heavens' Embroidered Cloths, Waterford's cloth-of-gold 15th century vestments, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII's reign to survive in the world - the 'Cap of Maintenance' and the Great Charter Roll from 1373, containing the earliest contemporary portrait of a medieval English king (Edward III) shown to Queen Elizabeth on her 2011 state visit to Ireland. These and many more unique artefacts await you on your guided tour of the award wining Medieval Museum.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The museum is modern yet cunningly linked to the medieval remains. The architects have managed to create a beautiful and efficient building.
The artefacts are displayed in an interesting and informing format.
Original items are displayed not reconstructions.

The amazing cloth-of-gold 15th century vestments are displayed is such a fashion that you can walk around them to examine the fine needlework at close proximity.
The displays of the development of Waterford gives the visitor an insight of this wonderful small city.
There are two cinema rooms for tired legs and plenty of interactive area with paper, pencils etc for little ones.

Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon Gillian S,

Many thanks for taking the time to come to the award winning Medieval Museum, we love to hear what our visitors have to say about their experience. I will pass on your very kind comments to all of the team here and we look forward to your next visit.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"medieval museum"
in 92 reviews
"guided tour"
in 106 reviews
"wine cellar"
in 17 reviews
"gold vestments"
in 24 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 72 reviews
"great charter"
in 15 reviews
"northern europe"
in 9 reviews
"medieval times"
in 12 reviews
"modern building"
in 11 reviews
"henry viii"
in 10 reviews
"on display"
in 44 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 9 reviews
"bishop's palace"
in 34 reviews
"oldest city"
in 17 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 9 reviews
"own pace"
in 11 reviews
"viking triangle"
in 28 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

You can easily spend a couple of hours here. A very modern museum in respect of the presentations and it is easy to walk through the time, following the exibitions cronology. Audiovisuals are also good.

Thank Masol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon Masol1,

Thank you for coming to visit the award winning Medieval Museum and for your very kind review, the team and I really appreciate such positive feedback which helps other visitors to come and visit us too!

I am not sure if you availed of the guided tour, which is included in the entrance fee, and is the best way to experience the museum. All of our guides, love to interact with our visitors, they have many stories and tales to tell that will bring the medieval history alive as you make your way through the Medieval Museum.

I do hope you get another opportunity to come and visit us in the near future.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Wonderful historic detail, superb guide and you can easily lose a few hours sinking back to the past. Highly recommended

Thank branmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon vranmac,

Many thanks for your feedback concerning your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, we really appreciate it and are delighted that you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on your lovely sentiments to our staff.

The best way to see and hear all about Waterford's medieval history is to avail of the guided tour, which is included in the entry fee and our professional guides have many wonderful, fun and interesting stories to tell about that period which appeals to both young and old visitors. Our guides tell the story of our medieval history and inform our visitors of what life was like in the medieval period in Waterford, Ireland's oldest city.

The award winning Medieval Museum is a very spacious museum, spread over three floors, with auditoriums to give people a better insight to the history laid out on each of the floors. The guided tour starts in the 'Undercrofts', the award winning Medieval Museum is the only medieval museum in Ireland and it is the only museum in Europe built over two national monuments, the 13th century Choristers' Hall and the 15th century Mayor's Wine Vault, built by Mayor James Rice. The tour will bring you to the top floor of the museum and then work there way down through the two floors where the medieval history of Waterford is laid out. The top floor explains all about 'Trade & Commerce' of the city during Medieval times and then the floor below explains and goes through all the 'Religious, Church and Political history' from that period. On each floor there is an audio presentation prior to entering each floor which gives you an overview of what your about to see and what part it plays in Waterford's history.

The two floors of fantastic artefacts, which are above the Choristers' Hall and the Mayors Wine vault include the Great Parchment Book of Waterford from 1350, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments' from 1468, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We visited yesterday with our 9 year old son. We were a bit late for the closest tour so tagged on 10 mins in. Our guide was Richie and he made the exhibits come to life. I hadn't realised the historical importance of Waterford but was left in no doubt. And possibly more challenging was keeping the interest of our son. He was enchanted with all the stories connected to the exhibits.
Well worth a visit.

Thank LilacGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon LilacGerber,

Many thanks for your feedback concerning your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, we really appreciate it and are so delighted that you enjoyed it. I will be sure to pass on your lovely sentiments to our staff.

The best way to see and hear all about Waterford's medieval history is to avail of the guided tour, as you did, which is included in the entry fee and our professional guides have many wonderful, fun and interesting stories to tell about that period which appeals to both young and old visitors. Our guides tell the story of our medieval history and inform our visitors of what life was like in the medieval period in Waterford, Ireland's oldest city. I am delighted you had a great tour with Richie - he is a wonderful guide and a wealth of knowledge!

The award winning Medieval Museum is a very spacious museum, spread over three floors, with auditoriums to give people a better insight to the history laid out on each of the floors. The guided tour starts in the 'Undercrofts', the award winning Medieval Museum is the only medieval museum in Ireland and it is the only museum in Europe built over two national monuments, the 13th century Choristers' Hall and the 15th century Mayor's Wine Vault, built by Mayor James Rice. The tour will bring you to the top floor of the museum and then work there way down through the two floors where the medieval history of Waterford is laid out. The top floor explains all about 'Trade & Commerce' of the city during Medieval times and then the floor below explains and goes through all the 'Religious, Church and Political history' from that period. On each floor there is an audio presentation prior to entering each floor which gives you an overview of what your about to see and what part it plays in Waterford's history.

The two floors of fantastic artefacts, which are above the Choristers' Hall and the Mayors Wine vault include the Great Parchment Book of Waterford from 1350, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments' from 1468, as you have noted in your review, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts.

It's great that you saw how wonderful the museum truly is, we are rated highly on TripAdvisor and have been awarded the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice award three years in a row.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We called here on a very wet Easter Monday. The man on the desk was very friendly and he offered us discount on buying tickets for here and nearby Bishop's Palace. We availed of this. He said a guided tour had just started and we could join on. This was the disappointing part as we rushed down the stairs to find a guide but couldn't see one. We went back to the desk and told him. He went off to find a guide and located one on the top floor. We went up to her and joined on. She was so knowledgeable about everything and had a great sense of humour. However, I feel we missed out on alot of the guided tour and wished we'd been told to come back at a specific time. There was a range of viking tools, jewellery and weapons on display. My daughter's loved this bit especially the weaponry display. The man here was fantastic. He kitted the girls out in chain mail, Viking helmets and weapons. My husband and I felt he was very knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour too!! Overall this place was great to visit but a few smaller kids (under 10's) on our tour were restless. I think the tour is more suited to adults and older children.

Thank julesthereader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Good afternoon julesthereader,

Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to the award-winning Medieval Museum.

I am sorry that you missed some of the tour and hope that the reception tour gave you the option of joining the next available tour or participating in one that had begun, the choice was yours and I am sorry it may not have worked out perfectly. In any case, as with all Waterford Treasures tickets, your entrance ticket permits you to return and tour again, if you choose to do so.

I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed the tour and the guide and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing