We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guided tour is worth it!”

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
US$8.39*
and up
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum: Admission...
More Info
US$11.98*
and up
Medieval Museum and Bishop's Palace: Combined Admission Ticket
More Info
US$8.39*
and up
Bishop's Palace Museum: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The magnificent curved facade of the warm butter-coloured stone building draws in the visitor. The eye-catching giant sculpture on the gable was inspired by a tiny 13th century belt mount found in Waterford. It is Ireland’s only purpose-built medieval museum and the only building on the island to incorporate two medieval chambers, the 13th century Choristers’ Hall and the 15th century Mayor’s Wine Vault. Don't miss the stunning Heavens' Embroidered Cloths, Waterford's cloth-of-gold 15th century vestments, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII's reign to survive in the world - the 'Cap of Maintenance' and the Great Charter Roll from 1373, containing the earliest contemporary portrait of a medieval English king (Edward III) shown to Queen Elizabeth on her 2011 state visit to Ireland. These and many more unique artefacts await you on your guided tour of the award wining Medieval Museum.
Reviewed 19 September 2017

While not very large - it is very interesting with so many features. The very age of part of the museum makes it special. The guide we had knew her stuff and added so much to the visit.

Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Good afternoon NP

Thank you for your very kind comments, I will certainly pass them onto the team here in the award winning Medieval Museum. All of our professional guides pride themselves on bringing the medieval history alive with their stories and tales of times gone by.

We look forward to your next opportunity to visit us.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Waterford has an amazing history of being conquered and reconquered and of being established as a major trading port. This museum has two audio visual presentations which tell the story in a clear and at times light hearted way, in an easily accessible manner. It is about making history fun. And relevant. Along with this are an amazing collection of items from over the centuries. Well worth spending time here

Thank Deena63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Good afternoon Deena63

Many thanks for your feedback in relation to your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum.

You didn't mention if you took the guided tour or whether you used the audio guide or just wandered through the museum, the best way to see and hear all about Waterford's medieval history is to avail of the guided tour and our professional guides have many wonderful, fun and interesting stories to tell about that period which appeals to both young and old visitors. Our guides tell the story of our history, of what life was like in the medieval period in ‘Veðrafjǫrðr’ (Waterford), Ireland's oldest city.

The award winning Medieval Museum is a very spacious museum, spread over three floors, with auditoriums to give people a better insight to the medieval history laid out on each of the floors.

Our guided tours start in the Undercrofts, the Medieval Museum is the only medieval museum in Ireland and it is the only museum in Europe built over two National Monuments, the 13th century Choristers' Hall and the 15th century Mayor's Wine Vault. Your guide will bring you to the top floor of the museum and work your way down through the two floors where the medieval history of Waterford is laid out.

The top floor explains all about Trade & Commerce of the city during Medieval times and then the floor below explains and goes through all the Religious, Church and Political history from that period. On each floor there is an audio presentation prior to entering each floor which gives you an overview of what your about to see and what part it plays in Waterford's history.

The two floors of fantastic artefacts, which are above the Choristers Hall and the Mayors Wine vault include the Great Parchment Book of Waterford from 1350, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments from 1468, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts.

We do hope on your next visit that you avail of the re-enactor led guided tour, which has no additional cost to your entry fee and see how wonderful the museum actually is, we are rated highly on Tripadvisor and have been awarded the Tripadvisor Travellers Choice award for three years in a row now.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

The wine cellar in truly worth the visit as it clearly shows how the wine industry developed in Waterford in the past and how they constructed the cellar. The architect for the building accommodated the wine cellar to its advantage.

The museum traces Irish ways of life through many centuries including its relationship with kings and the church.

What did surprise me was a trading record book kept in what I considered open display (in a sealed cabinet) exposing it to the environment. Surprisingly it looks in very good condition.

This museum is well worth the visit

Thank gordon35au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Good afternoon gordon35au

Thank you for coming to visit the award winning Medieval Museum, we really appreciate you coming to hear about medieval Waterford, which is Ireland's oldest city.

The museum, as you mentioned, is built over two national monuments, the 13th century Choristers' Hall and the 15th century Mayors' Wine Vault.

The record book you refer to is 'The Great Parchment Book of Waterford: Liber Antiquissimus Civitatis Waterfordiae', is a manuscript containing records of the city from 1356 to 1649. The book was made using 233 sheets of vellum or calf hide and is kept in a temperature controlled glass cabinet.

We thank you for your visit, appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Ultra-modern surroundings encompass ancient and medieval tales and treasures that reveal Ireland's association with Vikings, Normans and British royalty for more than a thousand years. As an Irishman who has lived in England for the best part of my life, and lacking Irish history in my English schooling, I lapped up that which was missing in my education. A fascinating place!

Thank discovery47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Good afternoon discovery47

Thank you for coming back to your roots to see and hear all about the "Historical expose of Ireland's History". We're delighted to know that we have helped in your understanding of our history, which you may not have received during your school years!

We do hope you can come and visit us again and hear more about our medieval past!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is a very engaging museum of Waterford's medieval history. There are many significant artifacts, stories and images. Take the guided tour to get all the insights.

Thank emkute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford_Treasures, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Good afternoon emkute

Many thanks for coming to visit the award winning Medieval Museum, set in the centre of Waterford's Viking Triangle, which is Ireland's oldest city.

The guided tour is the best way to tour the museum and it's included in your entry fee, all of our professional guides love to bring alive all the artefacts and exhibits with their stories and tales of times gone by!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your guided tour and do hope you get another opportunity to come back and visit us again!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing