We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
from US$17.29
More Info
from US$8.07
More Info
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
698
206
45
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
206
45
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval museum guided tour wine cellar great charter gold vestments well worth a visit medieval times modern building henry viii on display bishop's palace great insight entrance fee oldest city in ireland viking triangle interesting history artifacts
Filter
Updating list...
560 - 565 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I decided to come to the Medieval Musuem as the weather was awful and I needed to be inside. The contents of the museum were far more interesting and important than I had anticipated, and I thought the free guided tour was pretty good. I was a little surprised to see the guide sitting on the WW chest in the cellar, and then encouraging the little boys on the tour to touch Irelands' oldest cannon!

Date of experience: August 2015
2  Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Good afternoon A380fan,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the Medieval Museum, we hope to see you again soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Very interesting museum. We weren't able to spend as much time as we would have liked because there was quite a bit to see. History presented in a very enjoyable manner.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Billie77077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Good Afternoon Billie,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the medieval museum.

We look forward to seeing you again some day, you're right in saying that one visit isn't enough! so much more to see the second time round.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

A good museum, modern and airy. The cloth-of-gold vestments and the ancient treaty are very impressive but are also its best items. The rest is a good large-town history museum; recommedn the narator / guide to get best effects of the place including the cellar architecture.
Some independent stalls in reception including a glass-cutter and and archer.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Igneous_Yacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Hello Igneous_Yacht,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the award-winning medieval museum. The tours certainly help to bring the history to life, but we also have audio-guides available so that you can visit at your own pace.

We hope to see you again soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

This is a great little museum, plenty of interesting artefacts and good historical summaries with the exhibits. It is not too daunting unlike museums which are never ending and at 7 euros is a very fair price. Would certainly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank RestaurantHobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Hello RetaurantHobbyist!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the medieval museum and to Ireland's oldest city, Waterford.

We hope to see you again soon!

Go aibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

This wonderful newly redesigned museum is a great space to visit and learn about medieval history. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the tour. We joined a tour as there was one starting as we arrived. I found the tone to be overly joke-y and disrespectful to the history and the immense historical artefacts on display. As well as that as an Irish person on the tour I was mortified when the guide made an inappropriate joke regarding the numbers the elevator could hold and how "they must have measured it with Chinese people" considering this is a world class museum and our tour included people from all over the world I was appalled that he was able to utter this in such a manner. Tour was very long winded with little information, as I mentioned mainly jokes and less factual information about the objects on display. We ended up leaving the tour when it reached the hour mark as we had had enough.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank HollyFur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Good morning HollyFur

Many thanks for your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum and for taking the time to review your experience. It is very disappointing to hear that a visitor to the Medieval Museum did not get the enjoy our guided tour of the museum. I can only apologise for the comments of the guide and you should have brought it to the attention of the reception team on the day.

If you can let us know by email, bookings@waterfordcouncil.ie, the day and time you were here, I will address your comments with the guide and ensure that it doesn't happen again.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the actual building and contents and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews