We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above expectations - better than Wford Crystal!”

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$8.51*
and up
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum: Admission Ticket
More Info
US$12.16*
and up
Medieval Museum and Bishop's Palace: Combined Admission Ticket
More Info
US$8.51*
and up
Bishop's Palace Museum: Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The magnificent curved facade of the warm butter-coloured stone building draws in the visitor. The eye-catching giant sculpture on the gable was inspired by a tiny 13th century belt mount found in Waterford. It is Ireland’s only purpose-built medieval museum and the only building on the island to incorporate two medieval chambers, the 13th century Choristers’ Hall and the 15th century Mayor’s Wine Vault. Don't miss the stunning Heavens' Embroidered Cloths, Waterford's cloth-of-gold 15th century vestments, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII's reign to survive in the world - the 'Cap of Maintenance' and the Great Charter Roll from 1373, containing the earliest contemporary portrait of a medieval English king (Edward III) shown to Queen Elizabeth on her 2011 state visit to Ireland. These and many more unique artefacts await you on your guided tour of the award wining Medieval Museum.
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Was thinking about going to Waterford Crystal but realised how boring that would be. Ducked into the Medieval Museum and went on the guided tour. Found it highly informative and good fun. Archery lessons on hand for 5euro! Downstairs cave is great and the coin press is fun. Floors one and two have some interesting stuff but really do recommend the guided tour to get the most out of it. Our tour guide was really excellent, nice young lady, good humour. The shop is FANTASTIC with helmets and glass cutting live.

2  Thank mattyk987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Hi Matty

Many thanks for visiting us here in the award winning Medieval Museum and for taking the time to give us that excellent review. We really do appreciate all the feedback we get from our visitors, it helps us to focus on the things we do right and if there are any issues, we fix them.

I will certainly pass on your comments to Clíona who was your guide on the day, its great to get such positive feedback.

We do hope you get an opportunity to come back and visit us again, soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 398 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2015

I decided to come to the Medieval Musuem as the weather was awful and I needed to be inside. The contents of the museum were far more interesting and important than I had anticipated, and I thought the free guided tour was pretty good. I was a little surprised to see the guide sitting on the WW chest in the cellar, and then encouraging the little boys on the tour to touch Irelands' oldest cannon!

2  Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Good afternoon A380fan,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the Medieval Museum, we hope to see you again soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Very interesting museum. We weren't able to spend as much time as we would have liked because there was quite a bit to see. History presented in a very enjoyable manner.

Thank Billie77077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Good Afternoon Billie,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour of the medieval museum.

We look forward to seeing you again some day, you're right in saying that one visit isn't enough! so much more to see the second time round.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

A good museum, modern and airy. The cloth-of-gold vestments and the ancient treaty are very impressive but are also its best items. The rest is a good large-town history museum; recommedn the narator / guide to get best effects of the place including the cellar architecture.
Some independent stalls in reception including a glass-cutter and and archer.

1  Thank Igneous_Yacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Hello Igneous_Yacht,

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the award-winning medieval museum. The tours certainly help to bring the history to life, but we also have audio-guides available so that you can visit at your own pace.

We hope to see you again soon!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

This is a great little museum, plenty of interesting artefacts and good historical summaries with the exhibits. It is not too daunting unlike museums which are never ending and at 7 euros is a very fair price. Would certainly recommend.

Thank RestaurantHobbyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Hello RetaurantHobbyist!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the medieval museum and to Ireland's oldest city, Waterford.

We hope to see you again soon!

Go aibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing