We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medevial times bought to life”

Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12.63*
and up
Medieval Museum and Bishop's Palace: Combined Admission Ticket
Ranked #2 of 60 things to do in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The magnificent curved facade of the warm butter-coloured stone building draws in the visitor. The eye-catching giant sculpture on the gable was inspired by a tiny 13th century belt mount found in Waterford. It is Ireland’s only purpose-built medieval museum and the only building on the island to incorporate two medieval chambers, the 13th century Choristers’ Hall and the 15th century Mayor’s Wine Vault. Don't miss the stunning Heavens' Embroidered Cloths, Waterford's cloth-of-gold 15th century vestments, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII's reign to survive in the world - the 'Cap of Maintenance' and the Great Charter Roll from 1373, containing the earliest contemporary portrait of a medieval English king (Edward III) shown to Queen Elizabeth on her 2011 state visit to Ireland. These and many more unique artefacts await you on your guided tour of the award wining Medieval Museum.
Reviewed 23 July 2015

this is a great museum and shows what life in Waterford was like in the dark ages with great displays and live action such as the archery display with the long bow. well worth a visit. unfortunately we didnt give ourselves a lot of time as we were only intending to visit the Crystal factory and stumbled across this museum and teh viking quarter. I would recommend that you ive yourself a full day to visit these three attractions as well as Waterford city itself which is stunning.

1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Good morning David, thank you for your generous review of the award winning Medieval Museum. I'm delighted that you managed to get some time to fit us in during your busy schedule, and we're delighted that it was very worthwhile for you.

Hopefully, on your next visit you will be able to enjoy the tours in a more relaxed state!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"medieval museum"
in 87 reviews
"guided tour"
in 94 reviews
"wine cellar"
in 14 reviews
"gold vestments"
in 22 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 68 reviews
"northern europe"
in 9 reviews
"great charter"
in 13 reviews
"medieval times"
in 10 reviews
"modern building"
in 10 reviews
"henry viii"
in 9 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 9 reviews
"on display"
in 38 reviews
"bishop's palace"
in 31 reviews
"oldest city"
in 17 reviews
"own pace"
in 12 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 9 reviews
"great insight"
in 8 reviews
Filter

464 - 468 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2015

It was a very interesting exhibition, seeing the original Charter and so many historic artifacts was amazing. The tour guide was excellent and very friendly and helpful staff.

2  Thank ciarah202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2015

Good morning Ciara

Thank you for visiting the award winning Medieval Museum with your group, and thank you for taking the time to review your experience, it certainly helps other visitors get a feel for what we have to offer not only in the museum but also in the Viking Triangle.

I will pass on your kind comments to the team, they really do appreciate it when they are recognised as they go the extra mile for everyone that visits us.

I hope you get an opportunity to come again in the future and be able to spend more time to delve further into the history of Ireland's oldest city, Waterford.

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

I never knew Waterford was such an important city! The religious and English context really added to the amazing artifacts in the museum.

Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Good morning Chris

Yes, Waterford was a very important city during the medieval period and was very much a 'Royal' city.

On display in the Medieval Museum are the magnificent Cloth of Gold vestments the only complete pre-reformation set to survive in Europe, the only piece of clothing to survive from King Henry VIII’s reign, the ‘Cap of Maintenance’, as well as the Great Charter Roll which was viewed by Queen Elizabeth II on her State visit to Ireland in 2011.

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor and for your visit, we do appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This beautiful modern building houses artifacts and original walls of Waterford from a millennium ago. Excellent audio visual aids make the story clear. A not to be missed stop.

Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2015

Good morning Marc

Many thanks for your very kinds words on your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, it is clear that we met and exceeded your expectations and that is what we try to do for all of our visitors. The audio guide is an excellent way to navigate around the Medieval Museum, but the guided tour will bring the artefacts to live even more, with more detail and you can ask questions of the guide as they take you through the building!

Go raibh míle maith agat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

I love history, this is the perfect place for me. I could stay the whole day and read and understand what happened in the past.

My 7yo and 4yo were bored. Fortunately I brought gadgets for them to play so I can enjoy a good few hours in the museum.

1  Thank Summ3rg4l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Good afternoon Summ3rg4l

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, we'd love if you stayed here all day long. We recommend to our visitors that after their guided tour, they are more than welcome to wander around after their tour and go back and look at the various artefacts.

Sorry to hear that your children were bored, we do have some etchings that the children can do by themselves as well as some 'My Favourite Object' colouring booklets that are there for the children.

We do hope you get an opportunity to come visit us again soon!

Go raibh maith agat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum also viewed

Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 
Waterford, County Waterford
Waterford, County Waterford
 

Been to Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing