We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
Open today: 11:00 - 17:00
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum
from US$17.25
More Info
from US$8.05
More Info
Reviews (961)
Filter reviews
961 results
Traveller rating
698
206
45
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
206
45
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medieval museum guided tour wine cellar great charter gold vestments well worth a visit medieval times modern building henry viii on display bishop's palace great insight entrance fee oldest city in ireland viking triangle interesting history artifacts
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 961 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2015

An interesting and well laid-out museum that is clearly striving to be top-notch. The vestal garments were very pretty, but that was all there was to them. I enjoyed the displays on Waterford's history but it felt a little too narrowly focused. I understand there is great value in local heritage, but I would have liked a little more comprehensive view. It was an interesting, and potentially highly interactive history museum (provided you're willing to shell out the cash for extras!) that would be suitable for middle-grade and older kids and interested adults. All the extras do get a little pricy, however, and I just didn't feel it was worth it.

We just did the regular tour because we didn't have time (or feel like spending the money) for the guided tour, but I imagine that would have been a better experience.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Sojourner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Good afternoon Sojourner6

Many thanks for your review of your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum, medieval history of Waterford, Irelands oldest city founded in 914.

I'm very surprised at your comments about, 'provided you're willing to shell out the cash for extras!', and 'We just did the regular tour because we didn't have time (or feel like spending the money) for the guided tour, but I imagine that would have been a better experience.' There is no extra cost for the guided tour of the award winning Medieval Museum, the minimal cost of entry at only €7 gives you the option of the guided tour, an audio guide or wander at your own leisure, there are no extra costs involved.

Any 'extras' that are involved are a Medieval Archer who gives an introduction to medieval archery and the opportunity to loose off three arrows under his expert tuition at a cost of €5 and this is available on the same floor as our gift shop.

Waterford city was a Royal Mint during medieval times and we have been asked by our visitors to include some form of minting to make the experience more authentic and we have only just added this, where visitors can mint one, two or three coins from the period of John, Lord of Ireland in 1177, King Edward I 1282 and King Edward IV 1463 using replica 'dies' to mint their very own coins which includes a coin holder explaining about the coins from that period for only €5.

The Medieval Museum has lots to offer, its the only museum in Europe built over two National Monuments, the 13th Century Choristers Hall and the 15th Century Mayor's Wine vault, there are two floors of fantastic artefacts which include the Great Parchment Book of Waterford from 1350, the Great Charter Roll which was commissioned in 1373, the stunning collection of High Mass Vestments, the 'Cloth of Gold Vestments from 1468, the only piece of clothing from King Henry VIII to survive, the 'Cap of Maintenance' from 1536, and a relic of the true Cross in a case from circa 110AD, a gift from Pope Paschal as well as the many other artefacts and there are the audio visual presentations on each of the different floors.

I don't think your headline comment, “Well-Designed But Lots of Hidden Extra Costs for Full Experience” is a true reflection of what we have to offer here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

I got a tour of the museum from Derek. He was a blast! He is really funny and made the tour a pleasure. I learned a lot and laughed a lot. Signed the California Girl!!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank caligal365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Good morning caligal365

Another great review from you after your Bishop's Palace review. Derek certainly enjoys his work and ensures that he gets across his passion and delight in telling the story of Waterford, Ireland's oldest city.

We do hope you get an opportunity to come back to us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Much information, very good, recommend a visit any day. Like the educating details, and how it's made easy for young'uns and older folk alike.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

James, thank you very much for your recent visit to the award winning Medieval Museum and we do appreciate your review here on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciated how we ensure that we make sure the content is relevant to both young and old, we do hope you get an opportunity to visit us again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015

A lot of history. A must-see in Ireland. Very well organised. Makes you feel that Waterford has been the most important place of the whole world (lol)

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank MarcelloNitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Good afternoon MarcelloNitz

Many thanks for taking the time to visit Ireland's oldest city, Waterford and the marvellous award winning Medieval Museum! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent visit.

Naturally, we do believe that Waterford is the most importantly place in the whole world as well as being the oldest city in Ireland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

This museum is located in the heart of Waterford City, it was terrible rainy day in Wexford so we decided to make the hour journey out, it was very interesting and really well load out ! With lots of interactive attractions and audio visual displays it is clear to see the effort that has gone into the museum well worth a visit and a great way to pass our rainy day !

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford T, Public Relations Manager at Waterford Treasures Medieval Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Jamie, many thanks for taking the hour long journey from Wexford to visit us here in the award winning Medieval Museum. We do appreciate all your kind comments about your visit and hope you get another chance to visit us when the sun is shining!

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews