We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the money who can complain?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tower Hotel Waterford
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“For the money who can complain?”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

I am just back from a weekend at the Tower.
1st things 1st, there have been a few reviews complaining about the decor & that the hotel needs a bit of a face lift.
In one respect I don't disagree the hotel could do with a lick of paint & bit of a revamp but for €150 for 2 adults 2 nights Bed & Breakfast and 1 evening meal with a bottle of wine what are people complaining about??
The staff more than make up for the scruffy aspects of the hotel. The check in staff couldn't do enough for us. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 1pm & the receptionist (I cant remember her name but she had short blonde hair) offered us complimentary Tea or coffee while we waited. She didn't have to offer us anything given that the check in time is 2pm.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night, I was astounded at the quality of the food; I have the chicken liver parfait & the medallions of beef, the beef was cooked to perfection & melt in the mouth, my wife had the vegetable soup & the sirloin again the quality of the produce & cooking was 2nd to none; the hotel are extremely lucky to have such talented chefs working in their kitchen.
Not to take away from the waiting staff they were great, the Maitre Dit couldn't do enough for us.
All in all its great value for money.
I'd would definitely return to the Tower

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclaren1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    325
    183
    89
    60
See reviews for
269
349
38
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I was only here for one night, but I found this Hotel to be a nice Hotel. Nothing too fancy, but the Hotel tries to look expensive. The room is ok, but the shower facilities were a little below standard.
We had a TV and a writing desk and cupboard. The bed was comfortable.
The food was nice but nothing special. All in all, if you are staying here for a short period, this hotel would be ideal. Wouldn't recommend it for a long stay in Waterford

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeanderingMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Truly average hotel in Waterford in need of some restoration, Staff were friendly, bedrooms were average, bathroom looked in need of a makeover.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I would have said that the Tower Hotel suffers from faded grandeur, but that would be to presume it had grandeur in the first place. This is a characterless place. My double room was showing its age, with mould growing around the bath and a curtain rail about to fall from the window. A teaspooon lay mysteriously on the bathroom sink for no apparent reason. I had one of the worst pints of Guinness I can remember in the bar, with a head that looked more dark brown than creamy white. The hotel corridors stink of food - it put me right off my breakfast. The hotel is in a decent location, but views of the river from the third floor are marred by the detritus lying on the roof below. The reception staff were friendly, but all in all, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We stayed at the hotel at the beginning of August for 2 nights. We had a number of rooms booked and we were well looked after. Everything went to plan, we had a very smooth, organised checkin with all our rooms on the same floor. The bedrooms are nice and spacious. Breakfast was brilliant with a great selection of everything. The hotel is located in a great spot, very close to everything. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
0.5 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.8 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.0 km away
Treacys Hotel Waterford
Treacys Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
3.2 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel Waterford

Property: Tower Hotel Waterford
Address: The Mall, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waterford
#6 Business Hotel in Waterford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Hotel Waterford 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Hotel Waterford In the heart of Waterford city, overlooking the marina, the Tower Hotel & Leisure Centre is the perfect accommodation venue whether your visit to Waterford is for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Tower Hotel Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Waterford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing