We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,303)
Filter reviews
1,303 results
Traveller rating
539
461
197
60
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
461
197
60
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour group the pub bar staff the river top class central location lovely hotel one night stay car park friday night bar food ireland quay coach pubs ferry
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,303 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This hotel has an excellent location, close to the start of the Green Way with bike rental shops nearby, close to the bus station, parking directly opposite the hotel and pubs/restaurants close-by.
The hotel itself is OK. The room was as described, ordinary bed. While the shower was itself good the clingy shower curtain could do with replacement/modernisation.
Although our first floor room looked out over the road to the river we didn't have any problem with noise.
However the knock on the bedroom door and call of "house-keeping!" at 9.20am on Sunday morning was beyond belief. Front desk staff were very apologetic but this was unacceptable in a hotel charging that amount for a one night B&B stay.
Breakfast finishing at 10.30am on a Sunday morning seems very early. The breakfast itself was mediocre. The basics were available buffet-style but in hind-sight the €10p.p. charge for breakfast would have been better spent on fresh breakfast in a café elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

I attended a lunch event here last week, and the food was out of this world!! The choice on the menu was really varied, and not even the small details were left to chance. The menu really showcased Waterford's foodie reputation. I will definitely be back for dinner!!

There was also a great buzz around the hotel. People milling around, staff very attentive. I will be recommending Dooleys Hotel to all visitors to Waterford!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel was booked through our travel company so we had no choice in the selection. Having said that we were very pleased with the room, however the street noise was very loud throughout the night. Obviously the hotel had no control over that. The location on the river has a good proximity to restaurants, bars & especially the Waterford Crystal factory. If we were to return on our own, we wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank RuthT241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Very central, well known hotel. Rod were grand. Extremely dissapointed with the service. When checking in one of our rooms wasn't ready until nearly 4 o'clock. Lady in reception had no name badge did not tell me about anything, no breakfast times or were our room was also had to request a receipt. When asking about the room that wasn't ready for the third time. Found out breakfast times by overhearing the other receptionist telling a group whilst they were checking in. Went for food in the bar and the server left a bunch of knives and forks down and said "just to save the hassle" instead of setting the table. Residents bar was non existent and staff were rude and unhelpful. One of our rooms the cleaners knocked twice at quarter to 9 and just walked in any way. At Breakfast we were told to wait to be seated and we were never shown to a table, restaurant was pretty empty anyways, breakfast was worse than mediocre and at a €10 extra cost was definitely not worth it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank crumbsthepup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

We stayed here with a tour group. Our room was comfortable and the service in the dining room was very attentive. The food was good. The location was convenient for exploring the main areas of Waterford, including up to the Waterford crystal showroom.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are probably quieter. Ours was in the back and was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ohiosoccermom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews