We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure House”
Review of Sion Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waterford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sion Hill House
Ranked #13 of 24 Waterford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2007

If you like 'things' then Sion Hill is for you. It is steeped in history and much of it is on display as collectors pieces literally all over the house on virtually every space - and you are free to look at it all. We were fascinated.
George and Annette are really friendly from the moment they greet you to all the tourist advice they can tell you.
The gardens are a delight and we spent time on both of our days there exploring them and relaxing amongst the scent of flowers and the sound of fountains.
Although the house is well up the hill from the main road into Waterford, we did notice the traffic, mainly because we never hear any at home. And there is an early waking cockerel - but we were well rested in the comfortable bed and it never bothered us.
Breakfast has a good choice and there id plenty of it. We enjoyed sitting at the large communal dining table but could have had an individual one if we had wanted.
Most people choose to drive the 1 mile into town in the evening, but we walked in in about 20m so that we could both have a drink. The drive is a bit steep on the way back but is well lit.
Overall a very pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2005

Sion Hill house is in a great location for Waterford. It over looks the city which is great. Antoinette(owner) was extremely helpful with recommendations for dinner and a great old traditional pub. We enjoyed our time at Sion Hill house. The only thing I didn't like about the house was the cluttered appearance in all the public rooms. Our bedroom and bath were wonderful, however the public rooms were very cluttered. We stayed at 4 different Bed and Breakfast places during our weeks stay in Ireland and the Sion Hill House came in 3rd to all the others. It was nice, but just needs to be picked up a bit. Anntoinette is very nice and helpful. If you decide to stay at Sion Hill House be sure to stop in at T & H Doolans for a late night pint. It's a real neat old pub with live traditional Irish Music.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2005

I can see some people liking this place, but we didn't unfortunately. Certainly it has several things going for it: nice view over wateford, gardens, historic 17th century house, nice couple running it, good breakfast, price was right. But the inside smelled dusty and was strangely decorated. We wouldn't stay there again, but I looked in their guestbook and clearly a lot of people would.

Stayed: July 2005
3  Thank SPGLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2003

Lovely place; fascinating history; one question to the proprietor gave us an hour's answer; a bit tricky to enter the driveway; the view from the hill is stunning, especially with a tall ship in the harbor.

3  Thank fjsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Northern Ireland
17
Reviewed 15 March 2003

Absolute brilliant, this is the home from home, that make you the guest, feel so very special, I have stayed in may places, my job means I'm on the move all the time Scotland and Ireland but Sion Hill house has to beat all the rest ! Antoinette & George Kavanagh, please don't lose that extra special touch you have there, KJL.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
1 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,240 reviews
3.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
5.6 km away
Ashleigh House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Rhu Glenn Country Club Hotel
0.4 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,405 reviews
0.4 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sion Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sion Hill House

Address: Dock Road | Ferrybank, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range: €38 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sion Hill House & Gardens overlooks Irelands oldest city, the city of Waterford, and the river Suir. Set in almost five acres of gardens, this period and listed house dates back to the early 1700's, when the artist Van Der Hagen in 1736 used the gardens to paint his view of Waterford city and its waterfront, described as " the noblest quay in Europe".Today, Sion Hill House still looks out on this noble view stretching out over the city with its many church spires and even to the church spire of Tramore , a seaside resort seven miles away which can be seen clearly in the distant horizon.​ The house was built by the Pope family who were wealthy Waterford merchants and ship owners, and remained in the family until 1917. The Pope family, descendants of William the Conqueror, arrived in Ireland with Oliver Cromwell in 1649. They were very wealthy, operating ships between Newfoundland, Canada, England and France and amassed most of their wealth during the Napoleonic wars by importing wine from France to their wine cellars here in Waterford and then exporting it again to England for profit. ​Sion Hill has not changed over the years. French and English Cavalry swords still adorn the walls together with many other artifacts and paintings, some of our guests have described the house as "a living museum". However, nowadays we have all the modern conveniences with en-suite bedrooms, tea/coffee making facilities, TV's, trouser presses and hair dryers etc. and have been awarded a five star rating with the Automobile Association.​The gardens at Sion Hill are extensive, divided between parkland, formal and woodland with many trees approx 200years old and close to 100 ft high. The gardens contain many rare plants, sourced from all over the world and are at their best in the Spring when thousands of bulbs are in bloom. The many certificates awarded by the Mayor of Waterford and displayed in the entrance hall give testament to the importance of the gardens to the city.​The house furnishings include many rare and unusual items of interest including many old clocks , two of which are in the hallway, both made in Waterford. The Grandfather clock by William Parker, 78 The Quay, was made in 1870 and the wall clock made by Mosleys of Waterford in the late 1700's , both remain in good working order. The hall chandelier and wall brackets were made by Waterford Crystal while the Murano13 light glass chandelier in the dining room was made in Venice, Italy. Stuffed Antelope heads adorn the walls of the hallway along with fishing rods and Waterford Crystal walking sticks. At the back of the hall stands a beautiful Ancient Hopsicord piano.​ ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing