We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
21
4
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
5
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2009

not suitable for children - too many valuable ornaments
bit musty because no bathroom ventilation
large room and ensuite
tv , hair dryer, and tea/coffe making in room
rooms all upstairs - 2 flights

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

this is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and we are met by george and antoinette who are the most delightfull people you will ever meet the room we stay in has the best views over waterford the beds are cosy so after a night out in the granville hotel on the quay side its easy to fall asleep as it is so peacefull and quiet the breakfast is amazing it will set you up for the day after 4 wonderfull days antoinette and george made us tea in the sitting room by a big log fire the end of a fantastic break george and antoinette are the perfect hosts we cant wait to go back next year !

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin_anne_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We have stayed with Antoinette and George before and we love the place. The views over Waterford are spectacular and the whole town is but a few minutes walk from Sion House. Within the house their is a stunning collection of many interesting and some rare artefacts, a sort of free museum! The house itself is steeped in history going back to the days when shipping thrived at Waterford. Breakfast at the very impressive dining table took me back to the good old days when civility reigned. Recommend Sion to anyone, just make sure that you spare time to talk with George and Antoinette.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ManFromFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

Very central for Waterford with a good view over the water. This house is a bit cluttered. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was fine. Unfortunately the rooms weren't ready when we arrived at 6.30pm despite having phoned twice to confirm our arrival time - Perhaps the owner had been out all day. We were plonked down in the sitting room on arrival but weren't told that the rooms weren't ready - All a bit strange!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KilbroganHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

If you like 'things' then Sion Hill is for you. It is steeped in history and much of it is on display as collectors pieces literally all over the house on virtually every space - and you are free to look at it all. We were fascinated.
George and Annette are really friendly from the moment they greet you to all the tourist advice they can tell you.
The gardens are a delight and we spent time on both of our days there exploring them and relaxing amongst the scent of flowers and the sound of fountains.
Although the house is well up the hill from the main road into Waterford, we did notice the traffic, mainly because we never hear any at home. And there is an early waking cockerel - but we were well rested in the comfortable bed and it never bothered us.
Breakfast has a good choice and there id plenty of it. We enjoyed sitting at the large communal dining table but could have had an individual one if we had wanted.
Most people choose to drive the 1 mile into town in the evening, but we walked in in about 20m so that we could both have a drink. The drive is a bit steep on the way back but is well lit.
Overall a very pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews