We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foxmount Country House
Ranked #3 of 22 Waterford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A real treasure”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

OK, so we are Irish and would rave about Foxmount wouldn't we! All the glowing reports are accurate (never mind the unfortunate spider!) so there is no need to repeat them.
What we loved observing was the interaction at breakfast between the other guests -in our case from the USA and England. This works brilliantly -aided by a very attentive but unobtrusive Heather. The amount of travel experiences shared -and other lines of discussion- have one problem (if it can be called that). Breakfast can last half the morning. Frankly that is a thing to enjoy. If you want a proper Irish holiday experience in a 5 star quality place do go to Margaret Kent's lovely home. It is a great centre in which to spend more than one night. We have been to many B&Bs in Europe, Oz and the USA. This is the match of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKItourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

we took the train from Dublin to Waterford and spent our first night here. What a wonderful welcome to Ireland! The house and grounds are lovely, our room was beautiful and clean, breakfast was delicious! The Lents are fantastic, warm and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodyzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This wonderful B&B is set in beautiful surroundings where there are horses and a little donkey in the fields! Its charming, and I especially enjoyed the round table breakfast as there was great chat with everyone exchanging travel stories, and anecdotes. It was wonderful to have this kind of banter over breakfast before setting off on the day. This was traditional irish hospitality at its best, and I loved the personal service. Mrs Kent is a wonder and I thought Heather was absolutely delightful. They couldn't be more helpful, and the Irish breakfast was the best I have ever tasted. This is not for people who prefer impersonal service, or privacy, it is for people who want to meet the locals and share experiences of Irish warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterloo33203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We loved it and are busy trying to come up with reasons/excuses to be in Waterford in the near future, so we can stay there again.

Very impressive grounds and exterior are matched by a lovely interior and the warm greeting you receive from Margaret Kent, whose picture must surely appear in some dictionaries when defining the word "elegant". Margaret's daughter-in-law, Heather, is similarly lovely, helpful and enthusiastic, and the breakfast they lay on is delicious (highlight: the scones).

A working farm as well as a hotel, Foxmount has three dogs, all of whom gave us a friendly welcome! The little Jack Russell, Daisy, had a look of sheer bliss on her face when we tickled her tummy. The little softy.

It's great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel-Danikun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights. Excellent accomodation and breakfast.

Only quibble is that it would be nice to have a kettle and drinks in the bedroom.

I've just seen the review about the spider - what do people expect in the country!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexspursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
0.9 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
2.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
1.6 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
1.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.2 km away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxmount Country House

Property: Foxmount Country House
Address: Passage Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foxmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing