We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foxmount Country House
Ranked #3 of 23 Waterford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B around!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This wonderful B&B is set in beautiful surroundings where there are horses and a little donkey in the fields! Its charming, and I especially enjoyed the round table breakfast as there was great chat with everyone exchanging travel stories, and anecdotes. It was wonderful to have this kind of banter over breakfast before setting off on the day. This was traditional irish hospitality at its best, and I loved the personal service. Mrs Kent is a wonder and I thought Heather was absolutely delightful. They couldn't be more helpful, and the Irish breakfast was the best I have ever tasted. This is not for people who prefer impersonal service, or privacy, it is for people who want to meet the locals and share experiences of Irish warmth and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterloo33203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
103
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We loved it and are busy trying to come up with reasons/excuses to be in Waterford in the near future, so we can stay there again.

Very impressive grounds and exterior are matched by a lovely interior and the warm greeting you receive from Margaret Kent, whose picture must surely appear in some dictionaries when defining the word "elegant". Margaret's daughter-in-law, Heather, is similarly lovely, helpful and enthusiastic, and the breakfast they lay on is delicious (highlight: the scones).

A working farm as well as a hotel, Foxmount has three dogs, all of whom gave us a friendly welcome! The little Jack Russell, Daisy, had a look of sheer bliss on her face when we tickled her tummy. The little softy.

It's great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel-Danikun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights. Excellent accomodation and breakfast.

Only quibble is that it would be nice to have a kettle and drinks in the bedroom.

I've just seen the review about the spider - what do people expect in the country!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essexspursfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We really wanted to love this place, but it was just not quite all there for us. The owners and their daugher in law were very friendly. The rooms are sort of an "old" elegance, lace and such decorate the beds and counters. There is no tea/coffee in the room, and the water they provided looked like it was probably well water based on the off-color.

Breakfast is at one large table for everyone, which my husband and I weren't really thrilled about. It wasn't very good for private conversations. Also, the owner's daughter in law was in the room the entire time, which was good if you wanted to talk to her the entire time, but made it hard to have a conversation between the two of us.

Be sure to get more detailed driving directions than the ones they originally give you. This place is about 15 minutes outside of waterford, and google maps does not place it correctly.

Lastly, we had a huge spider in our tub in the morning! When I told the owners, they laughed and said they just come up the drain. No one even went up to take care of it. I will not stay there again simply because I cannot stomach the thought of this spider just coming up through the drain like that while i'm sleeping. No thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajm410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The property was gorgeous, but even better was the outstanding service. Our car was giving us trouble, and it was raining when we arrived, so fortunately we were able to park the car right at the front door. David and Margaret were quick to sit us in front of a cozy fire and a pot of tea. The house was impeccable and our room was charming. We had the best bath tub too! We adored the property, everyone was friendly, and the breakfast was perfectly delicious. Definitely worth the money!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSutrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waterford hotels
2.8 km away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
1.6 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,279 reviews
0.9 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,155 reviews
1.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,108 reviews
1.2 km away
Athenaeum House Hotel
Athenaeum House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Waterford
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxmount Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxmount Country House

Property: Foxmount Country House
Address: Passage Road, Waterford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foxmount Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing