We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Spent a weekend here in Early December and the Christmas atmosphere was amazing. We had afternoon tea in the study. Could spend hours here again.lovely big open fires and a Christmas tree decorated so beautifully. Can't wait for our return visit next Christmas .

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Brid and Tom,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review.

The Resort is magical all year round but December is a wonderful time to visit.
The days may be short and cold but inside a welcoming open fire in the Great Hall and our 18 foot Christmas Tree greets all our arrivals in spectacular fashion.

The atmosphere we would have to agree at this time of year is pretty special.

Thank you again for sharing your comments. We look forward too welcoming you both back to Waterford Castle in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen C


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 132 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2017

We have been staying here for two nights (leaving tomorrow). We have enjoyed every minute of our stay. From the moment we arrived, we were left speechless simply by the castle's encapsulating beauty. It is breath taking in all regards. It has retained perfectly its traditional heritage, whilst still providing all of the modern facilities you would require.

Our room is/was just stunning. We were in the Wyse Room, which had dual aspect views of the lake and a bathroom to die for. It was warm and cosey and just dripped in comfort.

The staff here were so lovely (a particular thank you to Jerri-Ann, who was beyond friendly and professionally accomodating. She was also full of information and useful tips about the city and surrounding coastal areas). It is clear that they understand hospitality and really care about their guests. We also had a platter of cakes made by Paula (mouth 'wateringly' good!).

Lastly, we had breakfast brought to our room, which was delicious! Nothing I could complain about!
Will definitely be returning. Thank you to all of the staff and thank you to Waterford Castle for an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Book WELL in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Joseph,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments.
It is great to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us here at Waterford Castle.

Your comments capture everything we stand for and want for all our guests.
Jerri-Ann and Paula will be delighted to be mentioned, they along with all the Resort staff take great pride in their place of work and ensuring that all visitors to The Castle depart having had a memorable and relaxing stay.

Thank you again for sharing your review. We are delighted to read that you will be returning.
It will be our great pleasure to look after you again.

Kind regards
Helen C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We recently got married in Waterford Castle (Feb. 2017) and I could not recommend the hotel enough. The staff were amazing from start to finish and Gillian, our wedding coordinator, was AMAZING. She took the stress out of everything that we had to do, no request was too big or too small.
The day itself was incredible, our guests could not get over the service and the food. They all commented on how it was like going to an extremely fancy restaurant for dinner as opposed to normal wedding food. Also, everyone was blown away by the setting and the fact that we had a whole island to ourselves. The ferry over added a real unique feel to the wedding.
The following day our guests did not want to leave, they wanted to sit in front of the fire in the reception and read books for the day, that says an awful lot.
Myself and my husband were made feel like royalty for the duration of our stay and we will never forget it. We cannot wait to visit again for anniversary's and special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Jaclyn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
It was our very great pleasure to look after you both and your wedding party here at Waterford Castle.

We love to host weddings. The Castle is a very unique venue perfect for a Fairy Tale Wedding. Our culinary team pride themselves on their cuisine and will be happy to read you all enjoyed the meal.

Gillian will always go that extra mile to ensure the day goes without a hitch and she will be delighted to be mentioned by you.

Again thank you for your wonderful comments. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. We hope that you are both settling into married life.
The memories made on the day here with your family and friends will last long in the memory.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Visited with family for afternoon tea,It was a cold damp day and the castle had roaring fires and it was warm and cosy,The tea was lovely but I would prefer more savoury stuff and less cakes ,I didn't ask so maybe that's an option,The staff were friendly and polite very helpful in fact.The difficult part is having to leave the place and head back out into the cold evening.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank madison62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Madison,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments. Afternoon tea here at Waterford Castle is a great treat and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the whole experience.

It was our great pleasure to look after you and we very much hope to see you again at some future date.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Simply the best. Superb. They catered for all our needs we will be back again. We stayed in the lodges plenty of room. Great value for money. 5 course meal is exceptional. Great cooking facilities also in the lodge.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to look after you during your time on The Island.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
3.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,389 reviews
3 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,226 reviews
2.4 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,219 reviews
3.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,217 reviews
4.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €121 - €404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing