We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Waterford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We recently got married in Waterford Castle (Feb. 2017) and I could not recommend the hotel enough. The staff were amazing from start to finish and Gillian, our wedding coordinator, was AMAZING. She took the stress out of everything that we had to do, no request was too big or too small.
The day itself was incredible, our guests could not get over the service and the food. They all commented on how it was like going to an extremely fancy restaurant for dinner as opposed to normal wedding food. Also, everyone was blown away by the setting and the fact that we had a whole island to ourselves. The ferry over added a real unique feel to the wedding.
The following day our guests did not want to leave, they wanted to sit in front of the fire in the reception and read books for the day, that says an awful lot.
Myself and my husband were made feel like royalty for the duration of our stay and we will never forget it. We cannot wait to visit again for anniversary's and special occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Jaclyn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review.
It was our very great pleasure to look after you both and your wedding party here at Waterford Castle.

We love to host weddings. The Castle is a very unique venue perfect for a Fairy Tale Wedding. Our culinary team pride themselves on their cuisine and will be happy to read you all enjoyed the meal.

Gillian will always go that extra mile to ensure the day goes without a hitch and she will be delighted to be mentioned by you.

Again thank you for your wonderful comments. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. We hope that you are both settling into married life.
The memories made on the day here with your family and friends will last long in the memory.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
There are newer reviews for Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2017

Visited with family for afternoon tea,It was a cold damp day and the castle had roaring fires and it was warm and cosy,The tea was lovely but I would prefer more savoury stuff and less cakes ,I didn't ask so maybe that's an option,The staff were friendly and polite very helpful in fact.The difficult part is having to leave the place and head back out into the cold evening.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank madison62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Madison,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments. Afternoon tea here at Waterford Castle is a great treat and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the whole experience.

It was our great pleasure to look after you and we very much hope to see you again at some future date.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Simply the best. Superb. They catered for all our needs we will be back again. We stayed in the lodges plenty of room. Great value for money. 5 course meal is exceptional. Great cooking facilities also in the lodge.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to look after you during your time on The Island.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We had a very unpleasant experience at this property just last week. The bar area is extremely small and very pretentious - the sommelier and female bar attendant hardly acknowledged us and the bar attendant did nothing but wipe off glasses. She never once checked our drinks or asked if we wanted another or if she could take our food order. We were told at the front desk that the bar stopped serving food at 6:30 p.m. yet many patrons in the bar area were ordering food while we were not offered that option. Instead we were forced into their restaurant area "for a 7:30 p.m. seating" when there were 20 tables available. The restaurant manager and waitstaff were excellent. We got the impression the property is completely understaffed. There is no elevator, so you have to tote your own luggage as many as three flights up. When we rang for help the morning we checked out, we could not reach anyone and had to schlep our luggage down ourselves. What you end up paying for are the fancy painted toilets and washstands (which you can hear in the next room each time someone flushes or turns on their water.) Plus, you must take a ferry across to reach this property, so if you are too tired to drive back into the city, you are pretty much stuck at this place. Room was incredibly dark as well, even with the window shade opened as wide as possible in the daytime. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ljgoodsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Ljgoodsell,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Waterford Castle.
I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for the shortcomings you experienced and any distress caused.

Waterford Castle is a small location. The Fitzgerald Room is intimate by hotel standards but very much in keeping with the Castle .
I was disappointed to read that you felt that you were not acknowledged by the staff there. This is not the norm.
I note you had dinner booked in The Munster Room. Had we known you would have preferred to dine in the Bar we would certainly have facilitated this as happened with the other guests you noted as having Bar food.

There is a lift here at The Castle. . We have two staircases and I can only conclude you were brought to your room by the main stairs, closest to your room one flight up. The location of the lift should have been pointed out to you I can only apologise for this.
The Receptionist on duty did see the missed call from your room but you were already on route to Reception with your luggage when she called you back.

There are no excuses for the shortfalls you experienced. We appreciate receiving all comments as these help us to learn from mistakes made..
Despite the problems you encountered I am delighted to read that your experience at Dinner was excellent.
In saying that we do not like to see any of our guests leave disappointed.
We hope to see you again at Waterford Castle at some future date when we would hope to be able to make amends for our shortcomings

Kind regards

Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

The Waterford Castle was amazing. The lodges were spacious and modern. We loved the staff and they were so helpful. Saw animal up close when ever we went for a walk. Waterford has lots of history and plenty to do.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank shannonspmpkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us here at The Garden Lodges at Waterford Castle. The Island Resort is a great base for a short break whether you want to relax and just exploring the Island or explore the region.

Thank you again for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterford
3.0 km away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
1,184 reviews
3.7 km away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,347 reviews
2.4 km away
Faithlegg House Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
1,194 reviews
3.2 km away
Tower Hotel Waterford
Tower Hotel Waterford
#5 of 12 in Waterford
1,175 reviews
4.3 km away
Fitzwilton Hotel
Fitzwilton Hotel
#6 of 12 in Waterford
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort

Address: The Island | Ballinakill, Waterford X91 Y722, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Waterford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Waterford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Waterford
#2 Family Hotel in Waterford
#7 Business Hotel in Waterford
Price Range: €134 - €290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on its own private Island on the River Suir, Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort offers 4 Star Luxury Castle Accommodation nestled in the suburbs of Waterford City.Feel yourself travel through time as you make the magical journey by our complimentary Car Ferry to the 310 acre Island Resort.With an amazing history stretching back to the 6th century, wake up in Waterford Castle Hotel Ireland after a peaceful night’s sleep to the picturesque and enchanting scenes and sounds the island has to offer. Enjoy gourmet food served in our award winning Munster room restaurant and Fitzgerald Bar or simply relax by the large open fire in 16th Century surroundings.For family, group or self catering in Waterford our Island Garden Lodges are the perfect place to experience the South East.Island Activities include our 18 hole Championship Golf Course, our fantastic tennis courts, clay Pigeon Shooting or croquet on the Castle lawns.Waterford Castle also provides a stunning Irish castle wedding venue for an unforgettable Wedding Day. Imagine… A legendary Castle, on an Island Haven; exclusively yours. All in all Waterford Castle Hotel and golf resort provides a luxury destination to escape from life itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing