We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$130
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$150
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
US$78
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree House(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,378)
Filter reviews
1,378 results
Traveller rating
898
293
107
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
293
107
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,378 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Simply the best. Superb. They catered for all our needs we will be back again. We stayed in the lodges plenty of room. Great value for money. 5 course meal is exceptional. Great cooking facilities also in the lodge.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Anita,

Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to look after you during your time on The Island.

I look forward to sharing your comments with the team here and we all look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We had a very unpleasant experience at this property just last week. The bar area is extremely small and very pretentious - the sommelier and female bar attendant hardly acknowledged us and the bar attendant did nothing but wipe off glasses. She never once checked our drinks or asked if we wanted another or if she could take our food order. We were told at the front desk that the bar stopped serving food at 6:30 p.m. yet many patrons in the bar area were ordering food while we were not offered that option. Instead we were forced into their restaurant area "for a 7:30 p.m. seating" when there were 20 tables available. The restaurant manager and waitstaff were excellent. We got the impression the property is completely understaffed. There is no elevator, so you have to tote your own luggage as many as three flights up. When we rang for help the morning we checked out, we could not reach anyone and had to schlep our luggage down ourselves. What you end up paying for are the fancy painted toilets and washstands (which you can hear in the next room each time someone flushes or turns on their water.) Plus, you must take a ferry across to reach this property, so if you are too tired to drive back into the city, you are pretty much stuck at this place. Room was incredibly dark as well, even with the window shade opened as wide as possible in the daytime. So disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank ljgoodsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

Dear Ljgoodsell,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay at Waterford Castle.
I would like to take this opportunity to apologise to you for the shortcomings you experienced and any distress caused.

Waterford Castle is a small location. The Fitzgerald Room is intimate by hotel standards but very much in keeping with the Castle .
I was disappointed to read that you felt that you were not acknowledged by the staff there. This is not the norm.
I note you had dinner booked in The Munster Room. Had we known you would have preferred to dine in the Bar we would certainly have facilitated this as happened with the other guests you noted as having Bar food.

There is a lift here at The Castle. . We have two staircases and I can only conclude you were brought to your room by the main stairs, closest to your room one flight up. The location of the lift should have been pointed out to you I can only apologise for this.
The Receptionist on duty did see the missed call from your room but you were already on route to Reception with your luggage when she called you back.

There are no excuses for the shortfalls you experienced. We appreciate receiving all comments as these help us to learn from mistakes made..
Despite the problems you encountered I am delighted to read that your experience at Dinner was excellent.
In saying that we do not like to see any of our guests leave disappointed.
We hope to see you again at Waterford Castle at some future date when we would hope to be able to make amends for our shortcomings

Kind regards

Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

The Waterford Castle was amazing. The lodges were spacious and modern. We loved the staff and they were so helpful. Saw animal up close when ever we went for a walk. Waterford has lots of history and plenty to do.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank shannonspmpkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us here at The Garden Lodges at Waterford Castle. The Island Resort is a great base for a short break whether you want to relax and just exploring the Island or explore the region.

Thank you again for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Waterford Castle is an amazing place to visit. We booked the Suir suite and it was incredible. The rooms were spacious and the bed is extremely comfortable. There is an enormous claw foot tub - big enough for two. The 5 course gourmet dinner was excellent and the service was impeccable. Rodel, our waiter, and Antonio, the maitre'd, went out of their way to provide extraordinary service. I am a picky eater and Rodel went out of his way to arrange a special breakfast for me the next day. We cannot say enough about the service we received and the beautiful suite we have. We have stayed in many luxury Irish hotels and Waterford Castle is at the top of the list.

Room Tip: The Suir suite is magnificent.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Terri,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to read that you had a wonderful time with us here at Waterford Castle.

Antonio and Rodel will be delighted to be mentioned in your post. They, like all of the team here want nothing more that to see our guests happy.

To say we are top of your list of luxury Irish Hotels is high praise for which we are greatful.
We hope you have taken away many fond memories of our stay with us. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We had a family meal in Waterford Castle and were treated wonderfully. As a group we have various food allergies and intolerances and the staff could not have done more to make us comfortable and adapt the menu to our needs.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear SC

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Waterford Castle.

It was our very great pleasure to look after you all here. We are always thrilled to hear back form our guests especially when they have had a wonderful time.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward top seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews