We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Waterford Marina Hotel(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzwilton Hotel(Waterford)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dooley's Hotel Waterford(Waterford)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhu Glenn Hotel(Slieverue)
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Granville Hotel(Waterford)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Waterford)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveller rating
889
289
106
54
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
889
289
106
54
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunster roompresidential suiteprivate islandcar ferrygolf clubdriving rangeself catering lodgesclaw foot tubfairy taleround of golfsitting roomfamily weddingold worldfrom start to finishsconesfollowing morningtop class
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Waterford Castle is an amazing place to visit. We booked the Suir suite and it was incredible. The rooms were spacious and the bed is extremely comfortable. There is an enormous claw foot tub - big enough for two. The 5 course gourmet dinner was excellent and the service was impeccable. Rodel, our waiter, and Antonio, the maitre'd, went out of their way to provide extraordinary service. I am a picky eater and Rodel went out of his way to arrange a special breakfast for me the next day. We cannot say enough about the service we received and the beautiful suite we have. We have stayed in many luxury Irish hotels and Waterford Castle is at the top of the list.

Room Tip: The Suir suite is magnificent.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Terri,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to read that you had a wonderful time with us here at Waterford Castle.

Antonio and Rodel will be delighted to be mentioned in your post. They, like all of the team here want nothing more that to see our guests happy.

To say we are top of your list of luxury Irish Hotels is high praise for which we are greatful.
We hope you have taken away many fond memories of our stay with us. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We had a family meal in Waterford Castle and were treated wonderfully. As a group we have various food allergies and intolerances and the staff could not have done more to make us comfortable and adapt the menu to our needs.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear SC

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit to Waterford Castle.

It was our very great pleasure to look after you all here. We are always thrilled to hear back form our guests especially when they have had a wonderful time.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward top seeing you all again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed twice here, first in the castle and second time in the lodges. The castle is stunning, the rooms are spacious and lovely. The lodges are a bit old and not well maintained but they do the job they are 3 beds and family friendly.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Laurberto17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Laurberto,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to see that you were able to experience both The Castle and our Self Catering Lodges. The Castle is truly unique built in the 16th Century, while the Lodges are very much a modern addition very spacious, ideal for families and groups who want to explore the Island Resort, play golf or just to relax and chill.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you back on the Resort in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night at this hotel in one of the suites, The Burg room. The bed was extremely comfortable and king size. The room is beautifully decorated and very clean with comfortable chairs, a flat screen TV and period furniture. The bathtub is huge with claw feet and perfect for a relaxing soak. The hotel common areas are also beautiful and the grounds are great for waking and viewing wildlife and nature. The breakfast buffet in the morning is the best I've ever had!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mistty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Mistty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Castle is a truly unique property that we are delighted to be able to share with our many guests from near and far.
We love to see our guests go out and explore the Island. The Walkways lead to the island edge where on route you will very likely always spot our resident wildlife and many different types of birds.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again at Waterford Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This would probably be a better review if we hadn't been stuck in the lodges that were quite a ways from the castle. They are modern and have no character and are in need of paint and some TLC. The staff here does bend over backwards for you though. Food selection is small but good. You're also in the middle of nowhere and it takes a while to get back to the city.

Room Tip: Stay in the castle. Not the lodges.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AimeeLally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, General Manager at Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear AimeeLally,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

The Island Resort althought 10 minutes from Waterford City Centre may not always be what our guests envisage particularly if you prefer to be in the middle of town and we understand that.

You stayed in our Garden Lodges. The Lodges are very popular all year round, modern and comfortable. The Lodges offer good value and the Resort experience for those who chose not to book the Castle or find its fully booked and not available when enquiring.
We routinely address painting and general maintenance issues and apologise if you felt your Lodge was not as you would have liked.

I am happy to see that you found all our staff very accommodating and the food offering good.
We hope that you have taken away many fond memories of your visit to Waterford Castle. We look forward too seeing you sometime again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Helen Courtney


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews